We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Five series to read while you’re waiting for the final book in the Expanse

Five must-read sff series

Five must-read sff series

The final chapter of the Expanse series is out this year! But, we know November is a long way off, so, here are five brilliant science fiction series to sink your teeth into while you wait for the release of Leviathan Falls.

Megan E. O'Keefe

The Protectorate by Megan E. O’Keefe

Megan E. O’Keefe’s Protectorate series has dazzling space battles, tense political intrigue, expansive world-building and rogue AI. Need we say more?
‘A brilliantly plotted yarn of survival and far-future political intrigue’ Guardian
The series begins with Velocity Weapon.
Velocity Weapon by Megan E. O'Keefe
The last thing Sanda remembers is her gunship exploding.

She expected to be recovered by salvage-medics and to awaken in friendly hands, patched-up and ready to rejoin the fight. Instead she wakes up 230 years later, on a deserted enemy starship called The Light of Berossus – or, as he prefers to call himself, ‘Bero’.

Bero tells Sanda the war is lost. That the entire star system is dead.

But is that the full story? After all, in the vastness of space, anything is possible . . .

Essa Hansen

The Graven by Essa Hansen

Nophek Gloss by Essa Hansen begins the Graven series.

Nophek Gloss by Essa Hansen

In this dark, dangerous, roller coaster of a debut, a young man sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across a breathtaking multiverse filled with aliens, mind-bending tech, and ships beyond his wildest imagining. Essa Hansen’s is a bold new voice for the next generation of science fiction readers.

Book two, Azura Ghost, is out February 2022!

K. B. Wagers

The Indranan War by K. B. Wagers

Meet Hail: Captain. Gunrunner. Fugitive.

The Indranan War by K. B. Wagers begins with Behind the Throne, followed by After the Crown and concludes with Beyond the Empire.

Behind the Throne by K. B. Wagers

Quick, sarcastic, and lethal, Hailimi Bristol doesn’t suffer fools gladly. She has made a name for herself in the galaxy for everything except what she was born to do: rule the Indranan Empire. That is, until two Trackers drag her back to her home planet to take her rightful place as the only remaining heir.

But trading her ship for a palace has more dangers than Hail could have anticipated. Caught in a web of plots and assassination attempts, Hail can’t do the one thing she did twenty years ago: run away. She’ll have to figure out who murdered her sisters if she wants to survive.

A gun smuggler inherits the throne in this Star Wars-style science fiction adventure from debut author K. B. Wagers. Full of action-packed space opera exploits and courtly conspiracy – not to mention an all-out galactic war – Behind the Throne will please fans of James S. A Corey, Becky Chambers and Lois McMaster Bujold, or anyone who wonders what would happen if a rogue like Han Solo were handed the keys to an empire . . .

Valere Valdes

Captain Eva Innocente by Valerie Valdes

Valerie Valdes’s Captain Eva Innocente series begins with the hilarious and heartwarming, Chilling Effect

Chilling Effect by Valere Valdes

Captain Eva Innocente and the crew of La Sirena Negra cruise the galaxy delivering small cargo for even smaller profits. When her sister is kidnapped, Eva must undergo a series of dangerous missions to pay the ransom. But Eva may lose her mind before she can raise the money. The ship’s hold is full of psychic cats, an amorous fish-faced emperor wants her dead, and her engineer is giving her a pesky case of feelings. The worse things get, the more she lies, raising suspicions and testing her loyalty to her found family.

To free her sister, Eva will risk everything: her crew, her ship, and the life she’s built on the ashes of her past misdeeds. But when the dominoes start to fall and she finds the real threat is greater than she imagined, she must decide whether to play it cool or burn it all down.


Following Chilling Effect we have Prime Deceptions in which Valdes takes us on another outrageously fun adventure with Captain Eva Innocente and her misfit crew.


Ann Leckie

Imperial Radch by Ann Leckie

The Imperial Radch trilogy begins with Ancillary Justice, continues in Ancillary Sword and concludes with Ancillary Mercy.

Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

Ancillary Justice is the story of a warship trapped in a human body and her search for revenge.

They made me kill thousands, but I only have one target now.
The Radch are conquerors to be feared – resist and they’ll turn you into a ‘corpse soldier’ – one of an army of dead prisoners animated by a warship’s AI mind. Whole planets are conquered by their own people.
The colossal warship called The Justice of Toren has been destroyed – but one ship-possessed soldier has escaped the devastation. Used to controlling thousands of hands, thousands of mouths, The Justice now has only two hands, and one mouth with which to tell her tale.
But one fragile, human body might just be enough to take revenge against those who destroyed her.


Click here to pre-order Leviathan Falls.