Chris Brookmyre - Want You Gone - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408707180
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349141336
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018
Books in this series

Want You Gone

By Chris Brookmyre

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Want You Gone is the superb new psychological thriller from million-plus bestseller Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of Susie Steiner.

From the award-winning, million-selling author of Black Widow comes a twist-filled story of secrets and lies.

What if your deepest secret was revealed?

Sam Morpeth is growing up way too fast, left to fend for a younger sister when their mother goes to prison and watching her dreams of university evaporate. But Sam learns what it is to be truly powerless when a stranger begins to blackmail her.

Who would you turn to?

Meanwhile, reporter Jack Parlabane has finally got his career back on track, but his success has left him indebted to a volatile, criminal source. Now that debt is being called in, and it could cost him everything.

What would you be capable of?

Thrown together by a vindictive and mysterious mutual enemy, Sam and Jack are about to discover they might be each other's only hope.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408707197
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Little, Brown
A thriller combining its author's storytelling verve with a bravura display of technical know-how. (Thriller of the Month) — Sunday Times
Chris Brookmyre has scaled new heights of invention. — TLS
One of the most ingenious thrillers I've read in a long time. — Washington Post
Want You Gone is vintage Brookmyre - equal parts adrenaline and empathy, a plot that opens out like a Japanese flower dropped in hot water, and characters so real you want to reach through the page and save them. — Diana Gabaldon
A sharp and funny writer — Carl Hiaasen
Entertaining... nothing is allowed to sap the pace of the action. — Scotsman
This book's a rush. — Peterborough Telegraph
[A] fast-paced, action-packed, twisty thriller . . . expect tension, suspense, impeccable plotting and scary possibilities. — Choice
The most compelling thriller I've read all year — John Gilstrap
Pure literary dynamite — Lorenzo Carcaterra, author of Sleepers and The Wolf
Brookmyre is a master of creating tension... I was up all night reading this book. — Mystery Scene
It storms along with revelations aplenty. Brookmyre takes all the plot strands and twists them one way then the other. — Crime Fiction Lover
Pacey, gripping, absorbing, enthralling and all the other superlatives you can throw its way, Chris Brookmyre's Want You Gone is an absolute treat from beginning to end. — Chris High
Corsair

Savages 2: The Spectre

Sabri Louatah
Authors:
Sabri Louatah

Virago

The Little Stranger

Sarah Waters
Authors:
Sarah Waters
Sphere

Fall Down Dead

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth
Piatkus

Little Liar

Lisa Ballantyne
Authors:
Lisa Ballantyne
Virago

Apple Bough

Noel Streatfeild
Authors:
Noel Streatfeild

So your brother's a world-famous violinist? That's amazing! Or is it?The Forums are a musical family, and one child, Sebastian, shines out as a prodigy. He is a brilliant violinist and when his talent is recognised, he is wanted the world over. Myra, Wolfgang (named after Mozart) and Ettie thought it was wonderful at first, but after four years of touring the world with their brilliant brother they've changed their minds. Now, what they long for, is a home of their own, not a hotel in Vienna or Venice or Moscow. But to their mother and father, a life of travel is exciting - all any child could want. How can the children make the grown-ups see sense?Myra makes a plan - 'Operation Home' - and is determined to make it succeed.

Hachette Audio

Daisy's Vintage Cornish Camper Van

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara
Hachette Audio

The Little Italian Bakery

Valentina Cebeni
Authors:
Valentina Cebeni
Piatkus

Mothers

Cath Weeks
Authors:
Cath Weeks
Sphere

Survivor

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray
Sphere

Million Love Songs

Sphere

Home

Karen Dionne
Authors:
Karen Dionne
Abacus

A Backward Place

Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
Authors:
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

Six colourful, comic characters inhabit A Backward Place. All but one are Westerners who have come to Delhi to experience an alternative way of life. But, far from being hippies, their ability to adapt to this exotic culture often leaves something to be desired. Etta, an aristocratic, faded beauty maintains her Parisian chic while Clarissa talks enthusiastically about the simple life but stops short of ever roughing it herself. On the other hand Bal, the one Indian protagonist, holds quite Western aspirations to Hollywood glamour.A Backward Place humorously explores contradictions in attitudes and lifestyles and the interplay between culture and individuality. But it is also a Dickensian drama, charting the highs and lows of everyday life against the enchanting backdrop of a bustling Indian city.

Abacus

Siege Mentality

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Dark deeds make for devilish reading in this short story from the multi-award-winning crime author of Black Widow, Want You Gone and Where the Bodies Are Buried.***Please note that this story was originally published as The Last Siege of Bothwell Castle in the Bloody Scotland anthology***A hostage crisis is developing at a castle on the outskirts of Glasgow, during what is supposed to be Superintendent Catherine McLeod's bank holiday relaxation time. Those trapped inside the castle are used to dealing with the volatile mix of light-fingered teens and obnoxious tourists; less so a truckload of explosives and a hidden agenda. For Catherine and her team, it's a recipe for a potentially deadly day off.Tense, twisted and laugh-out-loud funny, Siege Mentality is a day-trip you won't forget.For more from Catherine McLeod, read the Jasmine Sharp trilogy, beginning with Where the Bodies are Buried, a sample from which is included with this short story.

Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Sphere

The Other Girl

Erica Spindler
Authors:
Erica Spindler
Twelve

Motherest

Kristen Iskandrian
Authors:
Kristen Iskandrian

It's the early 1990s, and as a new college student, Agnes is caught between the broken home she leaves behind and the wilderness of campus life. What she needs most is her mother, who has disappeared once and for all, and her brother, who left the family tragically a few years prior. As Agnes tries to find her footing, she writes letters to her mother to conjure a closeness they never. But when she finds out she is pregnant, Agnes begins to contend with what it means to be a mother and, in some ways, what it means to be your own mother. The end of the world as she knows it is also the beginning of a brand new one.

Little, Brown

Lightning Men

Thomas Mullen
Authors:
Thomas Mullen
Piatkus

Secrets in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

No one is going to miss Larinda Mars. A ruthless gossip queen with a lucrative sideline in blackmail, there's no lack of suspects when she's murdered in a fashionable New York bar. With so many people wanting her dead, it's going to be a tough case to crack.Lieutenant Eve Dallas may not like this particular victim, but it's her duty to bring the killer to justice. As she digs deeper into Larinda's mysterious past, it becomes clear the reporter had a unique talent for uncovering secrets. Including ones very close to home for Eve and her husband Roarke... Someone was willing to commit murder to keep their secrets hidden. And with Eve now working to uncover the truth, she and her team are heading into serious danger.

Sphere

Acts of Vanishing

Fredrik T. Olsson
Authors:
Fredrik T. Olsson

Discover the gripping, ingenious new Scandinavian thriller that will keep you guessing right until the end...A father's search. A daughter in danger. A terrifying secret.It was ten past four on the afternoon of the third of December. Everything was darkness and ink, and the snow falling turned to water.Through it ran Sara Sandberg, the girl who was about to die, and somewhere in the cold, lead-grey hell that was Stockholm was a man who called himself her father.In her rucksack, she had a warning for him.Now whether he would receive it or not was all down to her.From international bestseller and renowned Swedish screenwriter Fredrik T. Olsson comes a gripping, visionary thriller that's impossible to put down.

Sphere

Before Evil

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava