Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Black Widow

Black Widow

The seventh book in the Jack Parlabane series, from author Christopher Brookmyre.

‘A celtic Gone Girl… guaranteed to keep you guessing’
Ian Rankin

*****WINNER Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year*****
*****WINNER Bloody Scotland McIlvanney Prize for Crime Novel of the Year*****


Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre – perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train, I See You and Disclaimer.


Did she do it? Did he deserve it?

Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.

Then she meets Peter. He’s kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she’s been waiting for.

Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.

But Peter’s sister Lucy doesn’t believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow…


‘Black Widow is a stand-out thriller’
Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 9th March 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780349141329

Reviews

Tense, intense and quite, quite brilliant
Jenny Colgan
Has all the verbal and narrative energy of his best work. A pleasing mix of old and new, its country-hopping plot looks back to Grahame Greene and John Buchan, but the pop and media references are bang up-to-date
John Dugdale, Sunday Times
One of Brookmyre's most accomplished books... razor sharp
The Big Issue
'Brookmyre writes beautifully and describes an unfamiliar world vividly and credibly... I was hooked'
Jessica Mann, Literary Review
Black Widow is a stand-out thriller, reminiscent of the best of Nordic Noir but with its own vivid landscape
Renee Knight (author of Disclaimer)
It's only as you're racing through the final tense pages, full of betrayal, revenge and shocking revelations, that you realise the brilliance behind the construction of this utterly compulsive, whipsmart thriller
Sunday Mirror
Chilling, gripping and exquisitely unpredictable
Daily Record
Black Widow is a stand-out thriller, reminiscent of the best of Nordic Noir but with its own vivid landscape
Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer
Exceptionally good - a knotty mystery that's not just richly, provocatively political but one of the most perceptive excavations of a dysfunctional marriage I can remember reading.... Brookmyre plays a cunning, careful game
Guardian
Brookmyre opens with a dramatic court scene, followed by a series of clever twists that challenge the reader to work out who is the victim of an extremely sophisticated crime
Sunday Times
I didn't know what was going to happen next in this epic thriller. I urge you to read it, too
Sun
The story's characters are compelling and the mystery is evoked with scalpel-like precision
Daily Mail
Chris Brookmyre has some claim to be the leading satirical novelist currently at work in Britain
Daily Telegraph
Black Widow does its best to evade you at every turn, demanding your full attention
Scotland on Sunday
A briskly paced thriller with a sense of confident contemporary relevance
The List
Chris Brookmyre does an exceptionally good job . . . making sense of a narrative in which truth and lies are inextricably entwined. The more I read, the more I was hooked
Crime Review
A biting satire, nuanced enough to avoid polemic
Sunday Telegraph
Enthralling and entertaining
Daily Express
This is mystery plotting at its highest level, all the disparate strands forming into a web and then into a knot that tightens around victim, detective and reader
Spectator
A celtic Gone Girl... guaranteed to keep you guessing
Ian Rankin
A gripping, complex and classy crime novel.
Mail on Sunday YOU Magazine
It's a tour de force. It's such an important book, with fantastic characters - a really strong novel ... It keeps us guessing not just who did it, but why they did it, and cements Chris's place in the pantheon of great crime writers.
Elly Griffiths