Gardner Dozois - The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 17 - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 17

By Gardner Dozois

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Another sci-fi must-have from the 12-times winner of the Hugo Award for Best Editor
  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780332659
  • Publication date: 04 Aug 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Robinson
Quantity as well as quality . . . every piece is a treasure. — The Times
Orbit

Velocity Weapon

Megan O'Keefe
Authors:
Megan O'Keefe
Sphere

The War of the Worlds

H. G. Wells
Authors:
H. G. Wells

This is the official TV tie-in edition of the classic and terrifying HG Wells novel of alien invasion, now a landmark series for the BBC from the makers of Poldark, Victoria and And Then There Were None.One night a shooting star is seen over the skies of Surrey. The next day, it's discovered to have been a mysterious metallic cylinder from Mars. What comes next is a terrifying alien attack, as tentacled Martian invaders emerge from the cylinder and prey on humankind using shocking new weapons against which the people of Victorian England can offer no resistance. The aliens begin to devastate the area in their tripod machines, and as our narrator struggles to return to his wife, the fight for London - and the world - begins.

Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

'Proper galaxy-spanning space opera' Iain M. Banks on Seeds of EarthAction-orientated sci-fi with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or FarscapeFor Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .'Splintered Suns splices new and old space opera, cyberpunk, quest fantasy and heist caper -- the maddest thing I've read since Van Vogt!' Ken MacLeod"Splintered Suns is a masterpiece of future nostalgia. All who love mischievous interstellar derring-do in pursuit of ancient relics of departed races as well as exotic panoplies of sentient species, all who love space opera should feast upon this generous novel. Let us revel in the admirable jaunty technicolour richness which Mike Cobley serves up so entertainingly-for this is how the universe ought to be" Ian Watson, author of the Games Workshop Warhammer 40K novels Space Marine and The Inquisition War trilogy

Orbit

Red Moon

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

IT IS THIRTY YEARS FROM NOW, AND WE HAVE COLONIZED THE MOON. American Fred Fredericks is making his first trip, his purpose to install a communications system for China's Lunar Science Foundation. But hours after his arrival he witnesses a murder and is forced into hiding. It is also the first visit for celebrity travel reporter Ta Shu. He has contacts and influence, but he too will find that the moon can be a perilous place for any traveler. Finally, there is Chan Qi. She is the daughter of the Minister of Finance, and without doubt a person of interest to those in power. She is on the moon for reasons of her own, but when she attempts to return to China, in secret, the events that unfold will change everything - on the moon, and on Earth. RED MOON is a magnificent novel of space exploration and political revolution from New York Times bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson. Praise for Kim Stanley Robinson:'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre' Guardian 'Polymathic, visionary brilliance' Financial Times'Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ'Robinson blends mystery and suspense with lyrical evocation of a complex future' Sunday Telegraph 'Kim Stanley Robinson is one of science fiction's greats' Sunday TimesRecent titles by Kim Stanley Robinson:2312ShamanAuroraNew York 2140

Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard
Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller

***A PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BEST BOOK OF 2018******A KIRKUS BEST BOOK OF 2018*** 'Incisive and beautifully written . . . Blackfish City simmers with menace and heartache, suspense and wonder' - Ann Leckie, Hugo, Nebula and Clarke Award-winning author'Sam Miller is a fiercely strong writer, and this book is a blast' - Daryl Gregory, World Fantasy Award-winning author'It's too early in the year to begin assembling 2018's 'best of' list, but Blackfish City has got to be an early contender' - Starburst*****After the climate wars, a floating city was constructed in the Arctic Circle. Once a remarkable feat of mechanical and social engineering it is now rife with corruption and the population simmers with unrest. Into this turmoil comes a strange new visitor - a woman accompanied by an orca and a chained polar bear. She disappears into the crowds looking for someone she lost thirty years ago, followed by whispers of a vanished people who could bond with animals. Her arrival draws together four people and sparks a chain of events that will change Blackfish City forever.DISTURBING, POWERFUL AND FEARLESSLY IMAGINED, BLACKFISH CITY IS A MESMERISING NOVEL FROM A REMARKABLE NEW VOICE IN SCIENCE FICTION*****'A compelling dystopian thriller' Guardian'I haven't been this swept away by imagination and worldbuilding since Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials' - Carmen Maria Machado, National Book Award-nominated author of Her Body and other Parties'An urgent tale . . . wrapped in an action-packed science fiction thriller' - Washington Post'An ambitious, imaginative and big-hearted dystopian ensemble story that's by turns elegiac and angry' - Publisher's Weekly'This is the kind of swirling, original sci-fi we live for' - B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog

Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz

Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 29

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

For well over a quarter of a century, Gardner Dozois has been defining the field with his annual selection of the very best of recently published science fiction. Every year he showcases truly exceptional contemporary writing, both by undisputed masters of the genre and outstanding up-and-coming writers. Comprising thirty-three fantastic stories by authors of the calibre of Paolo Bacigalupi, James S. A. Corey, Ann Leckie, Paul McAuley and Ian McDonald, and including, as ever, Dozois' illuminating summation of the year in science fiction and his extensive recommended reading guide, this year's collection is better than ever.Voted Year's Best Anthology by the readers of Locus magazine an unparalleled eighteen times, Dozois's annual selection has become the definitive must-read anthology for both devoted sci-fi fans and newcomers to SF.

Robinson

Mammoth Book of Best New SF 28

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 27

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 26

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

For nearly three decades, Gardner Dozois has been presenting his weighty and eclectic annual selection of short science fiction that deserves to be better known to a wider audience. It has consistently been voted Year's Best Anthology by the readers of Locus magazine, overwhelmingly more often than any other collection. Unfailingly, Dozois's selection offers the very best stories of the year, showcasing outstanding new talents alongside acknowledged masters of the genre. This year's collection is no exception, including the work of over 30 writers, including: Robert Reed, Alastair Reynolds, Sarah Monette and Elizabeth Bear, Paul McAuley, Linda Nagata, Indrapreamit Das, Pat Cadigan, Andy Duncan, Brit Mandelo, Carrie Vaughn and many more.It includes, as ever, Dozois's magisterial summation of 2012 in SF. Praise for previous editions:This annual compilation of the previous year's best short stories and novellas, together with a comprehensive summation of the state of the genre and an extensive "honourable mentions" list, has become an institution over the past three decades. The Guardian.Quantity as well as quality . . . every piece is a treasure. The Times.For more than a quarter century, Gardner Dozois's Mammoth Book of Best New SF has defined the field. It is the most important anthology, not only annually, but overall. Charles N. Brown, publsiher of Locus Magazine. New authors rub shoulders with old hands, and strong work from relative novices Hannu Rajaniemi and Lavie Tidhar suggest that SF's future is as bright as ever. Financial Times.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 25

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Orbit

Blackout

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

The year is 2041, and Shaun Mason is having a bad day. Everyone he knows is dead or in hiding. The world is doing its best to end itself for the second time. The Centre for Disease Control is out to get him. With too much left to do and not much time left to do it in, he must face mad scientists, zombie bears and rogue government agencies before the conspiracy that killed Georgia manages to kill the only thing he has left of her - the truth.And if there's one thing he knows is true in this post-zombie, post-resurrection America, it's this: Things can always get worse.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 14

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF [19]

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 13

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 15

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 18

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

The one unmissable SF collection Widely regarded as the essential book for every science fiction fan, The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 18 continues to uphold its standard of excellence with more than two dozen stories from the previous year. This year's volume includes not just a host of established masters, but also many bright young talents of science fiction. It embrace every aspect of the genre - soft, hard, cyberpunk, cyber noir, anthropological, military and adventure. Plus the usual thorough summations of the year and a recommended reading list.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 24

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

In this the twenty-fourth edition of his celebrated annual Mammoth Book of Best New SF (its 28th as The Year's Best SF in the United States), award-winning editor Gardner Dozois presents 33 of 2010's most outstanding pieces of short science fiction, along with his typically informative notes on each author. Many are the work of award-winning writers, but there are also some surprising newcomers. The collection is prefaced, as ever, by Dozois's Summation of 2010 in SF, a review of the year's highlights in publishing and film - including non-fiction, media and awards - obituaries and an insightful look at emerging trends.