Shane Kuhn - Shoot the Messenger - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751561739
    • Publication date:19 Nov 2015
Books in this series

Shoot the Messenger

By Shane Kuhn

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Professional assassin John Lago faces off against his deadliest adversary yet - his wife - in Shane Kuhn's second Tarantinoesque, rollercoaster-on-a-sugar-high thriller

Meet John Lago: hitman, film fan, dangerously in love.

The object of his affection is Alice, who also happens to be John's nemesis, a fellow killer, and now the wife he never knew he wanted. Together, this thrill-seeking, lethal couple aim to take over John's former employers Human Resources Inc - a group of assassins who get close to their high-profile targets in the guise of office interns.

But an anonymous tip about an FBI mole in the organization drives a wedge between the happy couple and all hell breaks loose in a hail of bullets.

Til death do us part.



Published in the US as Hostile Takeover.

Biographical Notes

Shane Kuhn is a writer and filmmaker with twenty years of experience working in the entertainment business and the ad world. In feature film, he has written screenplays for Universal, Paramount, Sony, and Fox, and he has written and directed a film for Lionsgate. In the world of independent film, he is one of the four original founders of the Slamdance Film Festival and currently serves as an Executive Board member of Slamdance, Inc. A shameless product pusher in the ad world, he has worked as a copywriter, creative director, and broadcast video director and producer for several notable brands. Throughout his life, writing has been his shrink, priest, whore and best mate.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751561722
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Constable

The Paper Bark Tree Mystery

Ovidia Yu
Authors:
Ovidia Yu
Piatkus

The Secretary

Zoe Lea
Authors:
Zoe Lea

A page-turning and deeply compulsive suspense novel about the lethal effects of revenge, playing out in the competitive environment of school gates and PTA meetings. For fans of Louise Jenson and Katerina Diamond. The teachers thought they knew her. They were wrong...When single mum Ruth has a brief fling with Rob, she's mortified to discover that he lied to her. He lied to her, because he's married. Worse still, he's the husband of Janine, head of the PTA at the primary school where Ruth works as secretary, and when the truth of their fling is discovered, Ruth suddenly has a lot of enemies at the school gates. Threatening texts begin to arrive, rumours abound and the staff room becomes hostile. But when it also starts to affect her son, a student at the school, Ruth realises you can do anything if you convince yourself it's for the sake of your child. Even murder.

Piatkus

Untouchable

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Hachette Audio

A Clean Canvas

Elizabeth Mundy
Authors:
Elizabeth Mundy
Sphere

Let Me Lie

Clare Mackintosh
Authors:
Clare Mackintosh
Hachette Audio

Bright Young Dead

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes
Sphere

Fall Down Dead

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth

'Crime writing at its finest' Daily MailThe dramatic, gripping new Cooper & Fry crime thriller from bestseller Stephen Booth sees the stunning Peak District prove fatal for one walking party.They knew the danger, but they went anyway... "Almost before she'd stopped breathing, a swirl of mist snaked across her legs and settled in her hair, clutching her in its chilly embrace, hiding her body from view. It would be hours before she was found." The mountain of Kinder Scout offers the most incredible views of the Peak District, but when thick fog descends there on a walking party led by enigmatic Darius Roth, this spectacular landscape is turned into a death trap that claims a life.For DI Ben Cooper however, something about the way Faith Matthew fell to her death suggests it was no accident, and he quickly discovers more than one of the hikers may have had reason to murder their companion.To make things worse, his old colleague DS Diane Fry finds herself at centre of an internal investigations storm that threatens to drag Cooper down with it. 'Makes high summer as terrifying as midwinter'Val McDermid'A modern master' Guardian'A first rate mysterySunday Telegraph'Ingenious Plotting and richly atmospheric'Reginald Hill

Sphere

Beau Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The Other Wife

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham

Childhood sweethearts William and Mary have been married for sixty years. William is a celebrated surgeon, Mary a devoted wife. Both have a strong sense of right and wrong.This is what their son, Joe O'Loughlin, has always believed. But when Joe is summoned to the hospital with news that his father has been brutally attacked, his world is turned upside down. Who is the strange woman crying at William's bedside, covered in his blood - a friend, a mistress, a fantasist or a killer?Against the advice of the police, Joe launches his own investigation. As he learns more, he discovers sides to his father he never knew - and is forcibly reminded that the truth comes at a price.A mesmerising psychological thriller from one of the greatest crime writers of today, Michael Robotham, the international bestselling author of THE SECRETS SHE KEEPS.Praise for Michael Robotham's writing:'Will have you turning the pages compulsively' The Times'Robotham doesn't just make me scared for his characters, he makes my heart ache for them' Linwood Barclay'Superbly exciting ... a terrific read' Guardian'A nerve-shredding thriller with the heart and soul so often missing from lesser crime and suspense novels. I couldn't stop reading, yet I didn't want Audie's story to end. Robotham is an absolute master' Stephen King on Life or Death

Constable

The Puppet Show

M. W. Craven
Authors:
M. W. Craven

'Fantastic' Martina Cole'Dark, sharp and compelling' Peter James'A thrilling curtain raiser for what looks set to be a great new series' Mick HerronWelcome to the Puppet Show . . . A serial killer is burning people alive in the Lake District's prehistoric stone circles. He leaves no clues and the police are helpless.When his name is found carved into the charred remains of the third victim, disgraced detective Washington Poe is brought back from suspension and into an investigation he wants no part of. Reluctantly partnered with the brilliant, but socially awkward, civilian analyst, Tilly Bradshaw, the mismatched pair uncover a trail that only he is meant to see. The elusive killer has a plan and for some reason Poe is part of it.As the body count rises, Poe discovers he has far more invested in the case than he could have possibly imagined. And in a shocking finale that will shatter everything he's ever believed about himself, Poe will learn that there are things far worse than being burned alive ...'A powerful thriller from an explosive new talent. Tightly plotted, and not for the faint hearted!' David Mark'A gripping start to a much anticipated new series' Vaseem Khan'Satisfyingly twisty and clever and the flashes of humour work well to offer the reader respite from the thrill of the read.' Michael J. Malone 'Nothing you've ever read will prepare you for the utterly unique Washington Poe' Keith Nixon

Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Best Laid Plans

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Agatha Raisin and the Witches' Tree

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Sphere

The Cuban Affair

Nelson DeMille
Authors:
Nelson DeMille

'Nelson DeMille is a true master'Dan BrownStrap in for the ride of a lifetime with the blistering new novel from America's greatest living thriller writer, Nelson DeMille.Daniel 'Mac' MacCormick has a good life. Aged thirty-five and a decorated US Army veteran, he whiles away his life in stunning Key West, Florida, running a forty-two-foot charter fishing boat The Maine. A ladies' man and rule-breaker, Mac has it all - apart from the money to hold on to his beloved boat.Then Mac is approached by a hotshot Miami lawyer called Carlos with an apparently irresistable offer: a fee of $2 million to run the boat into Havana and smuggle out $60 million from a stash hidden from the Castro government - cash once owned by the family of a beautiful Cuban-American woman named Sara Ortega.With the political 'Cuban Thaw' underway, it's only a matter of time before someone finds the stash. But Mac knows if he accepts this job, he'll walk away rich...or not at all.Punchy, witty and rammed with action, legendary international #1 bestseller Nelson DeMille once more shows he's a true master of the genre.

Sphere

Dead in the Dark

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth
Constable

The Venetian Game

Philip Gwynne Jones
Authors:
Philip Gwynne Jones
Sphere

The Asset

Shane Kuhn
Authors:
Shane Kuhn
Sphere

Out of Bounds

Val McDermid
Authors:
Val McDermid
Piatkus

Apprentice in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

Nature versus nurture...The shots came quickly, silently, and with deadly accuracy. Within seconds, three people were dead at Central Park's ice skating rink. The victims: a talented young skater, a doctor, and a teacher. As random as random can be.Eve Dallas has seen a lot of killers during her time with the NYPSD, but never one like this. After reviewing security videos, it becomes clear that the victims were killed by a sniper firing a tactical laser rifle, who could have been miles away when the trigger was pulled. And though the locations where the shooter could have set up seem endless, the list of people with that particular skill set is finite: police, military, professional killer.Eve's husband, Roarke, has unlimited resources - and genius - at his disposal. And when his computer program leads Eve to the location of the sniper, she learns a shocking fact: There were two-one older, one younger. Someone is being trained by an expert in the science of killing, and they have an agenda. Central Park was just a warm-up. And as another sniper attack shakes the city to its core, Eve realizes that though we're all shaped by the people around us, there are those who are just born evil...

Sphere

I See You

Clare Mackintosh
Authors:
Clare Mackintosh
Sphere

Secrets of Death

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth

'This is crime writing of the highest quality'Daily MailSteeped in the atmosphere of the stunning Peak District, Secrets of Death is master crime writer Stephen Booth's most daring and clever Cooper & Fry thriller yet.A beautiful place to die . . . Residents of the Peak District are used to tourists descending on its soaring hills and brooding valleys. However, this summer brings a different kind of visitor to the idyllic landscape, leaving behind bodies and secrets. A series of suicides throughout the Peaks throws Detective Inspector Ben Cooper and his team in Derbyshire's E Division into a race against time to find a connection to these seemingly random acts - with no way of predicting where the next body will turn up. Meanwhile, in Nottingham Detective Sergeant Diane Fry finds a key witness has vanished... But what are the mysterious Secrets of Death? And is there one victim whose fate wasn't suicide at all?'Makes high summer as terrifying as midwinter'Val McDermid'A modern master'Guardian'A first rate mysterySunday Telegraph'Ingenious Plotting and richly atmospheric'Reginald Hill