Elizabeth Bear - Mammoth Books presents And the Deep Blue Sea - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Mammoth Books presents And the Deep Blue Sea

By Elizabeth Bear

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Reminiscent of both "Damnation Alley" by Roger Zelazny and "The Postman" by David Brin, "And the Deep Blue Sea" offers almost three stories for the price of one.

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Bear received the Campbell Award as Best New Writer in 2005 and has since won two Hugo Awards for her short fiction, a selection of which was published as The Chains That You Refuse (2006). She has been immensely prolific since her debut. Her first novel, Hammered (2005), which began the Jenny Casey trilogy set in a post-catastrophe North America, won the Locus Award for Best First Novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472104656
  • Publication date: 27 Sep 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Robinson
Hachette Audio

The Raven Tower

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie

Listen. A god is speaking.My voice echoes through the stone of your master's castle. This castle where he finds his uncle on his father's throne. You want to help him. You cannot.You are the only one who can hear me.You will change the world.A triumph of the imagination, The Raven Tower is the first fantasy novel by Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards.

Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Orbit

The Corporation Wars Omnibus

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod
Orbit

Tiamat's Wrath

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

Action-orientated space opera with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or FarscapeFor Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .

Orbit

The Eternity War: Exodus

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Running Press Adult

The Compendium of Magical Beasts

Dr. Veronica Wigberht-Blackwater, Lily Seika Jones, Melissa Brinks
Authors:
Dr. Veronica Wigberht-Blackwater, Lily Seika Jones, Melissa Brinks

The Compendium of Magical Beasts is a definitive field guide that explores the anatomy of mythology's most elusive creatures, compiling the findings of controversial early twentieth century cryptozoologist, feminist, and explorer Dr. Veronica Wigberht-Blackwater. Approaching the fantastic with a scientific eye, Dr. Veronica explains the history, habits, and biology of each creature's existence with equal attention to detail. Her research is accompanied by stunning scientific illustrations of each specimen's anatomy, providing a comprehensive view of creatures most often dismissed as pure fantasy.Combining biological fact with folklore, cultural studies, and history, this volume is crucial to science both fringe and mainstream. Locked in a dusty attic for almost a century, Dr. Wigberht-Blackwater's trailblazing work was recently discovered by writer Melissa Brinks, who spent months transcribing the journals she found. Brinks joined forces with artist Lily Seika Jones to digitize the doctor's amazingly detailed anatomical diagrams in order to share these revolutionary findings with the world for the first time.The Bestiary: Mermaid, Unicorn, Wild Man, Gnome, Werewolf, Troll, Fairy, Jackalope, Winged Horse, Centaur, Minotaur, Vampire, Dragon, Sea Monsters/Loch Ness/Kraken, Goblin, Sphinx, Phoenix, Harpy, Cyclops, Banshee, Incubus/Succubus, Nymph, Ghoul, Selkie, Kelpie

Hachette Books

Planet of the Apes

Maurice, Greg Keyes
Authors:
Maurice, Greg Keyes

Hachette Audio

The Labyrinth Index

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross

Britain is under New Management. The disbanding of the Laundry - the British espionage agency that deals with supernatural threats, has culminated in the unthinkable - an elder god in residence in 10 Downing Street.But in true 'the enemy of my enemy' fashion, Mhari Murphy finds herself working with His Excellency Nylarlathotep on foreign policy - there are worse things, it seems, than an elder god in power, and they lie in deepest, darkest America.A thousand-mile-wide storm system has blanketed the midwest, and the president is nowhere to be found - Mhari must lead a task force of disgraced Laundry personnel into the storm front to discover the truth. But working for an elder god is never easy, and as the stakes rise, Mhari will soon question exactly where her loyalties really lie.

Hachette Audio

Red Moon

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

IT IS THIRTY YEARS FROM NOW, AND WE HAVE COLONIZED THE MOON. American Fred Fredericks is making his first trip, his purpose to install a communications system for China's Lunar Science Foundation. But hours after his arrival he witnesses a murder and is forced into hiding. It is also the first visit for celebrity travel reporter Ta Shu. He has contacts and influence, but he too will find that the moon can be a perilous place for any traveler. Finally, there is Chan Qi. She is the daughter of the Minister of Finance, and without doubt a person of interest to those in power. She is on the moon for reasons of her own, but when she attempts to return to China, in secret, the events that unfold will change everything - on the moon, and on Earth. RED MOON is a magnificent novel of space exploration and political revolution from New York Times bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson. Praise for Kim Stanley Robinson:'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre' Guardian 'Polymathic, visionary brilliance' Financial Times'Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ'Robinson blends mystery and suspense with lyrical evocation of a complex future' Sunday Telegraph 'Kim Stanley Robinson is one of science fiction's greats' Sunday TimesRecent titles by Kim Stanley Robinson:2312ShamanAuroraNew York 2140

Orbit

There Before the Chaos

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers

An epic space opera trilogy featuring the gunrunner empress Hail Bristol, who must navigate alien politics and deadly plots to prevent an interspecies war.The battle for the throne is over. The war for the galaxy is just beginning. Hail Bristol, infamous galactic gunrunner and former runaway princess, never expected to inherit the throne of Indrana. But after avenging the murder of her family and cleansing the Empire of usurpers in a bloody civil war, the former outlaw must fulfill her duties to her people. Hail retires her gun and throws herself into the rebuilding of her Empire. Her hard-won peace is short-lived. When Indrana's closest ally asks Hail to intervene in an interstellar military crisis, she embarks on the highest stakes diplomatic mission the Empire has ever faced. Caught between two alien civilizations at each other's throats, she must uncover each side's true intentions before all of humanity becomes collateral damage in a full-blown galactic war.There Before the Chaos begins a fresh, pulse-pounding space opera series from an exciting new voice in science fiction. For more from K. B. Wagers, check out: The Indranan War trilogy Behind the Throne, After the Crown, Beyond the Empire

Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel Africa's first award for speculative fictionJohn W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction Novel'A magnificent tour de force' Adrian Tchaikovsky'Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!' Ann Leckie'Mesmerising' M. R. CareyRosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Piatkus

Supercute Futures

Martin Millar
Authors:
Martin Millar

Orbit US

Annex

Rich Larson
Authors:
Rich Larson
Orbit US

A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe

Alex White
Authors:
Alex White
Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Orbit

84K

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North
Orbit

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child
Orbit

Persepolis Rising

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey