Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

When Darkness Calls

When Darkness Calls

‘A thrilling new talent’ Peter James

‘Mightily impressive . . . Deviously plotted’ Daily Mail

‘Utterly compelling’ Lesley Kara

‘Wow . . . As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster!’ Amy Lloyd

*LONGLISTED FOR THE 2019 CWA DEBUT DAGGER AWARD*

The first gripping thriller in the Holly Wakefield series, perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Mark Billingham, Stuart MacBride and TV crime series Luther.

The killing starts when the lights go out . . .

Holly Wakefield works for the NHS as a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers. She has particular reason to be good at her job – but she keeps that to herself.

When DI Bishop from the Met Police approaches Holly to investigate a recent killing, Holly is horrified by the dismembered bodies and the way they have been theatrically positioned. More shocking still is when the pathologist reveals this is not the first time she has seen these mutilations. It means a serial killer is out there, and they’re going to kill again – soon.

Holly is used to chasing serial killers. But this killer has something in common with Holly that she’s kept hidden for as long as she can remember. And for the first time since she was a child, Holly is forced to face the darkness of her past . . .

***Pre-order the next Holly Wakefield thriller, When Angels Sleep, now***

What readers are saying about When Darkness Calls:

‘Gripping, shocking, nail biting!’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘A must read book!’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Outstanding!’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘A moving, intense rollercoaster!’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘You have to read this book!’ Reader review, 5 stars

Dark, twisty and disturbing‘ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Brilliant . . . you won’t want to put it down’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Compulsive’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘One of the very best books I’ve read’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘I was glued to this cover to cover’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Captivating, thrilling and brilliant‘ Reader review, 5 stars

‘I lost count of how many times I held my breath – fantastic twists and turns’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘A fast-paced, page-turning thriller’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘So gripping, so cleverly written’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘An amazing storyline that kept me hooked‘ Reader review, 5 stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 2nd May 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780349420738

Reviews

Meticulously plotted and devious in its execution, Mark Griffin's debut novel is utterly compelling. I can't wait to read the rest of the Holly Wakefield series
Lesley Kara, bestselling author of The Rumour
Mark Griffin is a thrilling new talent, destined to become a big name in British crime writing
Peter James
Mightily impressive . . . deviously plotted, with a bleak thread of intriguing twists
Daily Mail
Wow. I read this in less than a day. As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster! A fascinating lead character with a deliciously dark secret. It's the kind of writing which grabs you and won't let you go
Amy Lloyd, bestselling author of The Innocent Wife

A Holly Wakefield thriller