Related to: 'The Shadow Collector'

author of the Tom Thorne series.

Mark Billingham

Mark Billingham is the author of eleven bestselling novels and the creator of the Thorne series. He has twice won the Theakston's Old Peculier prize for best novel of the year. He lives in North London with his family.

Piatkus

The Mechanical Devil

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

When archaeologist Neil Watson unearths a long-buried mechanical figure in a Dartmoor field, he is determined to discover the truth behind the bizarre find.Soon, however, the sleepy village becomes the focus of press attention for another reason when two people with no apparent connection to each other are found shot dead in nearby Manor Field, seemingly victims of an execution-style double murder.DI Wesley Peterson is called in to investigate, but the two murders aren't his only problem. The daughter of a local MP has gone missing and the pressure is on to find her, especially when it's revealed that she has a connection to one of the murder victims. And Wesley's own life is thrown into turmoil when a woman he helped on a previous investigation finds herself subjected to a campaign of terror . . .Is there a link between the double murder and the accidental death of a young history student in Manor Field twenty years ago? And just what is the true identity of the Mechanical Devil?

Sphere

The Mole Catcher's Daughter

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Mermaid's Scream

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Why did Wynn Staniland, a legend in the literary world, suddenly become a recluse in the 1980s? Most assumed he stopped writing because of his wife's bizarre suicide; a death that mirrored a murder case from the nineteenth century. And now a promising young author called Zac Wilkinson is working on Staniland's biography and hopes to reveal the true story to a waiting world - while at the same time keeping his own troubled past hidden from public view.When Wilkinson is found brutally murdered, DI Wesley Peterson finds links to the unexplained poisoning of a middle-aged couple at a local caravan park - and Wynn Staniland appears to be the connection.As Wesley delves further into the case he suspects a sinister puppet show might provide the solution: a grim re-enactment of the murder of Mary Field, a cause celebre from the reign of Queen Victoria that inspired Staniland's best-known novel.The case becomes personal for Wesley when he discovers his son is involved, and as he begins to unravel decades of secrets and deception, the shocking truth proves almost too much to bear . . .

Piatkus

A High Mortality of Doves

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

1919. The Derbyshire village of Wenfield is still reeling from four terrible years of war, and now, just when the village is coming to terms with the loss of so many of its sons, the brutal murder of a young girl shatters its hard-won tranquillity.Myrtle Bligh is found stabbed and left in woodland, her mouth slit to accommodate a dead dove, a bird of peace. During the war Myrtle worked as a volunteer nurse with Flora Winsmore, the local doctor's daughter, caring for badly wounded soldiers at the nearby big house, Tarnhey Court.When two more women are found murdered in identical circumstances, Inspector Albert Lincoln is sent up from London, a man not only wounded in war but damaged in peace by the death of his young son and his cold, loveless marriage. Once in Wenfield, Albert begins to investigate the three recent murders and the Cartwright family of Tarnhey Court and their staff fall under suspicion as their hidden lives and secrets are uncovered. With rumours of a ghostly soldier with a painted face being spotted near the scene of the murders, the village is thrown into a state of panic - and with the killer still on the loose, who will be the next to die at the hands of this vicious angel of death?

Piatkus

The House of Eyes

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Death Season

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

A complex case . . .When DI Wesley Peterson is summoned to investigate a killing, he assumes that the case is a routine matter. But soon dark secrets and deadly deceptions start to emerge from the victim's past, and Wesley begins to realise that a simple incident of cold-blooded murder is altogether more calculated and complicated that he could ever imagine. Tracing back through time . . .Meanwhile, archaeologist Neil Watson is pulled from the historic Paradise Court to a ruined village from the First World War. Even with the help of the attractive and enigmatic Lucy, Neil cannot shake the feeling that something is missing from his explorations: a cryptic clue that might have been lost when Sandrock tumbled into the sea many years ago. A clue that could help Wesley solve his most puzzling case to date. DI Wesley Peterson is standing on the edge . . . As more victims fall prey to a faceless killer, Wesley sees the investigation affecting him more personally than ever before. And when his precious family becomes a target, Wesley has no time to lose. Just like the fallen village of Sandrock, Wesley will have to stand tall if he is to withstand the coming storm . . .

Piatkus

The Shroud Maker

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Cadaver Game

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

An Unhallowed Grave

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Jackal Man

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Merchant's House

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

Playing With Bones

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

Seeking The Dead

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

When Carmel Hennessy begins a new job in North Yorkshire, she finds the historic city of Eborby gripped by fear. A killer is on the prowl - a killer who binds and asphyxiates his victims before leaving their naked bodies in isolated country churchyards. The press are calling him the Resurrection Man. Tragic events from the past link Carmel with new-kid-on-the-block DI Joe Plantagenet, who, with his new boss, DCI Emily Thwaite, faces the unenviable task of identifying the killer before he claims another victim. The victims appear to have nothing in common but the manner of their deaths, but as Joe's investigations lead him to a pub with a sinister history, he is forced to consider that the case may have occult connections. Then Carmel becomes aware of a malevolent presence in her new flat and, when she starts to receive mysterious threats, it is Joe she turns to first. And that is when Joe is forced to get into the mind of a cunning - and scarily ruthless - killer.

Piatkus

The Funeral Boat

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Armada Boy

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Four centuries, two murders, one motive...When the body of US army veteran Norman Oppenheim is discovered in the ruins of an old chapel, Tradmouth quickly becomes the scene of a disturbing murder inquiry for DS Wesley Peterson.As the investigation deepens, DS Wesley and his team soon realise that there's no shortage of motives amongst the residents of Tradmouth and with the list of suspects growing every day, is there anyone left that they can trust?The stakes are raised when a near identical crime comes to light but there's just one problem - it happened over 400 years ago.As DS Wesley pieces together new evidence with old, he soon discovers a horrific truth that has remained buried deep in the past. Until now.But with time running out, is it already too late...?A gripping and thoroughly chilling police procedural with a nail-biting ending - perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Elly Griffiths.Read why people are loving Kate Ellis'I hardly put this novel down from the moment I picked it up. Oh yes, and as with all great crime novels, I would never have guessed 'whodunnit'!!' Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars'Kate Ellis and Wesley Peterson have done it again. Strong characters, strong plotting, no detail escapes Kate Ellis.' Amazon Vine Reviewer, 5 stars'Enjoyed the first in the series but through this was even better!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'It's fast paced with twists and turns guaranteed to keep you hooked right until the final page.' York Evening Press'A cracking multi-layered mystery with red-herrings a-plenty...an outstanding read. Highly recommended!' In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

Piatkus

The Flesh Tailor

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

A Perfect Death

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Bone Garden

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

An excavation at the lost gardens of Earlsacre Hall is called to a halt when a skeleton is discovered under a 300 year old stone plinth, a corpse that seems to have been buried alive. But DS Wesley Peterson has little time to indulge in his hobby of archaeology. He has a more recent murder case to solve. A man has been found stabbed to death in a caravan at a popular holiday park and the only clue to his identity is a newspaper cutting about the restoration of Earlsacre. Does local solicitor Brian Willerby have the answer? He seems eager to talk to Wesley but before he can reveal his secret he is found dead during a 'friendly' game of village cricket, apparently struck by a cricket ball several times with some force. If Wesley is looking for a demon bowler this appears to let out most of the village side. But what is it about Earlsacre Hall that leads people to murder?

Piatkus

The Plague Maiden

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Skeleton Room

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis