Related to: 'The House of Secrets'

Sphere

After the Last Dance

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning

'Deeply satisfying and impossible to put down' Santa Montefiore'Fascinating . . . a gripping story of love and war' Rachel Hore'An absorbing, unconventional love story' Woman & Home'Highly absorbing and atmospheric' StylistAfter the Last Dance is an extraordinary and vivid story of two women, separated by time but connected by fate, that will make you believe in the redemptive power of unexpected love. Perfect for readers of Rachel Hore, Kathryn Hughes and Tasmina Perry. Kings Cross station, 1943. Rose arrives in London hoping to swap the drudgery of wartime for romance, glamour and jiving with GIs at Rainbow Corner, the famous dance hall in Piccadilly Circus. As the bombs fall, Rose loses her heart to a pilot but will lose so much more before the war has done its worst.Las Vegas, present day. A beautiful woman in a wedding dress walks into a seedy bar and asks the first man she sees to marry her. When Leo slips the ring onto Jane's finger, he has no idea that his new wife will stop at nothing to get what she wants.So when Jane meets Rose, now a formidable older lady, there's no love lost between them. But with time running out, can Rose and Jane come together to make peace with the tragic secrets that have always haunted their lives?* SARRA'S NEXT NOVEL, THE HOUSE OF SECRETS, IS AVAILABLE IN EBOOK NOW. PRE-ORDER THE PAPERBACK - OUT AUGUST 10TH. *

ATOM

The Worst Girlfriend in the World

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
ATOM

Diary of a Crush: French Kiss

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
ATOM

Diary of a Crush: Kiss and Make Up

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning

Edie's having major boy issues. Trying to get over Dylan is hard, but snogging new boy Carter isn't hurting. . .When everyone heads off to a summer festival, Edie wants to forget her troubles and try and have fun. But she didn't count on her leftover feelings for Dylan and now she's all churned up again. Edie's got some big decisions to make, but is she ready to kiss and make up?

ATOM

Diary of a Crush: Sealed With a Kiss

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning

Edie and Dylan have been dreaming about their road trip across America for ever. But nine weeks in a car together is going to be a huge test for them. They're crazy in love, but what if that's not enough?Trailer parks, diners, motels and glitzy casinos are the backdrop for an adventure that threatens the whole future of their relationship. Will Edie and Dylan be able to go the distance?

ATOM

Diary of a Grace

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
ATOM

Atom Summer Reads Sampler

Sarra Manning, C. J. Daugherty, Johan Harstad, Sophie Flack, Veronica Rossi
Authors:
Sarra Manning, C. J. Daugherty, Johan Harstad, Sophie Flack, Veronica Rossi

Whatever you want to read this summer, Atom has is covered. Sample six of our favourite stories from 2012 with this exclusive summer sampler including extracts from books by Sarra Manning, C. J. Daugherty, Johan Harstad, Robin Wasserman, Sophie Flack and Veronica Rossi.Go over to the dork side with Adorkable, Queen of Teen Sarra Manning's awesome new novel on blogging, snogging and everything in between. Fall in love with beautiful ballet story Bunheads. Uncover centuries of secrets in the Book of Blood and Shadow or escape to the moon with John Harstad's chilling teen tale . . . if you dare.Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Veronica Rossi's Under The Never Sky is a mesmerizing masterpiece, while the darkly thrilling Night School will keep you up well past your bedtime.Which is exactly what summer holidays are made for.

ATOM

Adorkable

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
PublicAffairs

The Age of Airpower

Martin Van Creveld
Authors:
Martin Van Creveld
PublicAffairs

The Great Depression: A Diary

James Ledbetter, Benjamin Roth, Daniel B. Roth
Authors:
James Ledbetter, Benjamin Roth, Daniel B. Roth
PublicAffairs

The Media Relations Department of Hizbollah Wishes You a Happy Birthday

Neil MacFarquhar
Authors:
Neil MacFarquhar

Since his boyhood in Qadhafi 's Libya, and later as a reporter for more than thirteen years in cities stretching from Tehran to Marrakesh, Neil MacFarquhar has developed a counterintuitive sense that the Middle East, despite all the bloodshed in its contemporary history, is a place of warmth, humanity, and generous eccentricity. In The Media Relations Department of Hizbollah Wishes You a Happy Birthday MacFarquhar shares a lesser known side of the region, the story he always wanted to file. MacFarquhar shows the daily lives and attitudes of people frequently obscured behind the curtain of violence: the stories of chefs and sex therapists, bloggers and academics struggling to reform on their own terms.

PublicAffairs

The Match King

Frank Partnoy
Authors:
Frank Partnoy

At the height of the roaring '20s, Swedish émigré Ivar Kreuger made a fortune raising money in America and loaning it to Europe in exchange for matchstick monopolies. His enterprise was a rare success story throughout the Great Depression. Yet after his suicide in 1932, it became clear that Kreuger was not all he seemed: evidence surfaced of fudged accounting figures, off-balance-sheet accounting, even forgery. He created a raft of innovative financial products, many of them precursors to instruments wreaking havoc in today's markets. In this gripping financial biography, Frank Partnoy recasts the life story of a remarkable yet forgotten genius in ways that force us to re-think our ideas about the wisdom of crowds, the invisible hand, and the free and unfettered market.

PublicAffairs

Africa

Richard Dowden
Authors:
Richard Dowden
Westview Press

Italy, 4th Edition

Spencer M. DiScala
Authors:
Spencer M. DiScala

This essential book fills a serious gap in the field by synthesizing modern Italian history and placing it in a fully European context. Emphasizing globalization, Italy traces the country's transformation from a land of emigration to one of immigration and its growing cultural importance. Including coverage of the April 2008 elections, this updated edition offers expanded examinations of contemporary Italy's economic, social, and cultural development, a deepened discussion on immigration, and four new biographical sketches. Author Spencer M. Di Scala discusses the role of women, gives ample attention to the Italian South, and provides a picture of how ordinary Italians live. Cast in a clear and lively style that will appeal to readers, this comprehensive account is an indispensable addition to the field.

Da Capo Press

Itsy Bitsy Yoga for Toddlers and Preschoolers

Helen Garabedian
Authors:
Helen Garabedian
Da Capo Press

The Portable Atheist

Christopher Hitchens
Authors:
Christopher Hitchens

From the #1 New York Times best-selling author of God Is Not Great , a provocative and entertaining guided tour of atheist and agnostic thought through the ages- with never-before-published pieces by Salman Rushdie, Ian McEwan, and Ayaan Hirsi Ali.Christopher Hitchens continues to make the case for a splendidly godless universe in this first-ever gathering of the influential voices- past and present- that have shaped his side of the current (and raging) God/no-god debate. With Hitchens as your erudite and witty guide, you'll be led through a wealth of philosophy, literature, and scientific inquiry, including generous portions of the words of Lucretius, Benedict de Spinoza, Charles Darwin, Karl Marx, Mark Twain, George Eliot, Bertrand Russell, Emma Goldman, H. L. Mencken, Albert Einstein, Daniel Dennett, Sam Harris, Richard Dawkins, and many others well-known and lesser known. And they're all set in context and commented upon as only Christopher Hitchens- political and literary journalist extraordinaire" ( Los Angeles Times )- can. Atheist? Believer? Uncertain? No matter: The Portable Atheist will speak to you and engage you every step of the way.

Running Press Mini Editions

The Mini Merry Berry Bonsai Kit

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press

Carrie Hope Fletcher

Carrie Hope Fletcher is an actress, singer, author, vlogger and, thanks to her popular self-named YouTube channel, 'honorary big sister' to over a million young people around the world. In 2017, she won the public vote for Radio Times Online Champion of the year. Carrie's first book, All I Know Now, was a number one Sunday Times bestseller and her debut novel, On the Other Side, also went straight to number one in its first week on sale. Carrie's second novel, All That She Can See, was a Top Three Sunday Times bestseller in hardback and a Top Ten bestseller in Ireland.Carrie played the role of Eponine in Les Misérables at the Queen's Theatre in London's West End for almost three years and received the 2014 WhatsOnStage Award for Best Takeover in a Role. In 2016 she played Truly Scrumptious in a six-month run of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, before landing the role of Wednesday Addams in the national UK theatre tour of The Addams Family musical in 2017. Carrie lives just outside of London with numerous fictional friends that she keeps on bookshelves, just in case.

Jessica Fellowes

Jessica Fellowes is an author, journalist and public speaker, best known for her work as author of five official companion books to Downton Abbey, various of which have hit the New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller lists. Former deputy editor of Country Life and columnist on the Mail on Sunday, she has written for publications including the Daily Telegraph, the Guardian, The Sunday Times and The Lady. Jessica has spoken at events across the UK and US, and has made numerous appearances on radio and television. She lives happily in London and Oxfordshire with her family, an energetic Labradoodle and two chickens.

Jilly Bond

JILLY BOND has recorded over 300 audiobooks and won four Audiofile Earphones Awards. She also regularly appears on stage, and has appeared at the National Theatre in "Island", at the Birmingham Repertory in "Jump!", Manchester Lowry in "Transmissions", the English Theatre of Hamburg in "Othello" and "Mrs Warren's Profession" and on the Edinburgh and London Fringes, including at the Finborough as human-rights lawyer Fethiye Cetin in "I Wish to Die Singing" which won the Best Play UK Studio Theatre Awards. She has recorded over 100 radio plays for the BBC, as well as playing Bridget in "The Archers", and TV work has includedDr Greene in "Doctors", Dr Jannatie in "Judge John Deed" and roles in "Comedy Nation", "People Like Us", "My Hero" & "Alastair McGowan's Big Impression".