Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The House of Secrets

The House of Secrets

‘Extremely atmospheric and unputdownable. I loved it’ Marian Keyes

What readers are saying about The House of Secrets:

‘Libby and Zoe are complex, courageous and believeable and I found their stories absolutely compelling to read with a very satisfying ending

‘I cried, I smiled, I swore in anger at parts . . . such a brilliant piece of writing

‘Enjoyed every page of this lovely book and its lovely heroines Zoe and Libby. Highly recommended for a great feel good read’

‘Finished the whole book in one night, literally unputdownable

An ordinary house on an ordinary street, built in 1936 and never lived in. Its rooms might be empty, but this house is full of secrets.

When Zoe and Win, raw and reeling from a recent tragedy, move into their new home it’s meant to be a fresh start and a way to mend the holes in their relationship.

But pushed to the back of a cupboard is a suitcase that’s been gathering dust for eighty years. Inside is a wedding dress, letters and a diary all belonging to a woman called Libby. And there’s something else in the suitcase, something that echoes Zoe’s own pain.

Zoe follows Libby’s trail from Paris to Spain on the brink of Civil War to secret trysts in London, and as Libby finds the courage to live and love again, Zoe begins to let go of her own grief.

But when Libby’s story takes a darker turn, Zoe becomes increasingly obsessed with discovering what really happened all those years ago. Because if Libby managed to get her happy ever after then maybe Zoe and Win can too . . .

Perfect for fans of Rachel Rhys, Jenny Ashcroft, Santa Montefiore and Kathryn Hughes.

‘An engrossing read’ Woman & Home

‘A wonderful book’ Heat

‘This beautiful dual love story is a real page-turnerHello!

Filled with warmth and great characters’ Stylist
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 10th January 2017

Price: £13.99

ISBN-13: 9780751561173

Reviews

Extremely atmospheric and unputdownable. I loved it
Marian Keyes
Deeply satisfying and impossible to put down
Santa Montefiore on After the Last Dance
You'll get lost in this wonderful timeslip tale
Prima
The House of Secrets is a thoroughly beautiful book. Captivating characters and a hugely engaging story fill both worlds of 1936 and 2016, making it impossible not to be gripped by the stories of Zoe, Win and Libby. Sarra Manning writes with passion and bravery, evoking the past and present with a masterful touch. Breathtakingly good, heart-breakingly real, this book is a must-read. I loved it!
Miranda Dickinson
Filled with warmth and great characters
Stylist
Fascinating . . . Such a gripping and unusual story of love and war
Rachel Hore on After the Last Dance
This beautiful dual love story is a real page-turner
Hello!
A gripping tale
Pop Sugar
An engrossing tale of love and second chances
Sunday Mirror
With themes of love and loss, hidden truths and a fascinating cast, it's a wonderful book
Heat
Beautifully written and completely absorbing; I found it impossible not to fall in love with Zoe and Libby's stories
Cathy Bramley
An engrossing read
Woman & Home