Related to: 'Radical Help'

Seal Press

The Feminine Revolution

Amy Stanton, Catherine Connors
Authors:
Amy Stanton, Catherine Connors

Challenging old and outdated perceptions that feminine traits are weaknesses, The Feminine Revolution revisits those characteristics to show how they are powerful assets that should be embraced rather than maligned. It argues that feminine traits have been mischaracterized as weak, fragile, diminutive, and embittered for too long, and offers a call to arms to redeem them as the personal power tools they are meant to be. The authors, Amy Stanton and Catherine Connors, begin with a brief history of when-and-why these traits were defined as weaknesses, sharing opinions from iconic feminists like Samantha Bee, Sheryl Sandberg, and Misty Copeland. Then they offer a set of feminine principles that challenge an unfair perceptions of feminine traits, and provide women new mindsets to reclaim those traits with confidence. The principles include counterintuitive messages, like:Take things hard. Women feel things deeply, especially the hard stuff.Enjoy glamour. Peacocks' garish coloring is part of their survival strategy. Chit-chat. Women have been derogated for "gossip" for centuries. What others call gossip, we call social connection.Emote. Express yourself with signs of enthusiasm, affection, and warmth.Embrace your domestic side. Don't be ashamed to be cultivate the beauty of your home.With an upbeat blend of self-help and fresh analysis, The Feminine Revolution reboots femininity for the modern woman and give her the tools to accept and embrace her own authentic nature.

Abacus

Primitive Rebels

Eric Hobsbawm
Authors:
Eric Hobsbawm
Nation Books

Empire of Illusion

Chris Hedges
Authors:
Chris Hedges

We now live in two Americas. One,now the minority,functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other,the majority,is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority,which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected,presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this other America," serious film and theatre, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death , Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture,attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies,to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

Seal Press

The Purity Myth

Jessica Valenti
Authors:
Jessica Valenti
Basic Books

Frame Reflection

Donald A. Schon
Authors:
Donald A. Schon
Da Capo Press

The Cocaine Kids

Terry Tempest Williams
Authors:
Terry Tempest Williams
Basic Books

In The Age Of The Smart Machine

Shoshana Zuboff
Authors:
Shoshana Zuboff
Basic Books

The Granite Garden

Anne W. Spirn
Authors:
Anne W. Spirn

Andi Zeisler

Andi Zeisler is a writer, editor, and cultural critic. She is the cofounder of Bitch Media, the nonprofit best known for publishing the award-winning quarterly magazine Bitch: Feminist Response to Pop Culture, which has over 50,000 subscribers. Zeisler is extremely plugged into the community of feminist bloggers, her writing on feminism, popular culture, and media has appeared in newspapers and magazines including Ms., Mother Jones, BUST, the San Francisco Chronicle, the Los Angeles Review of Books, and the Washington Post. She regularly speaks at colleges and universities and holds interviews in various national publications and radio programs around the country. She has been featured and interviewed in publications like the New York Times, among others.

Annalee Newitz

Annalee Newitz is an American journalist, editor and author of both fiction and non-fiction. She is the recipient of a Knight Science Journalism Fellowship from MIT, and has written for Popular Science, Wired and the San Francisco Bay Guardian. She co-founded the science fiction website io9 and served as editor-in-chief from 2008-2015, and subsequently edited Gizmodo. As of 2016, she is tech culture editor at the technology site Ars Technica.

Christian Picciolini

Christian Picciolini was born in the Blue Island neighborhood of Chicago, where he was radicalized at the age of fourteen and went on to become the leader of the notorious Chicago Hammerskins, one of the most violent hate groups in America, and the singer of two white power propaganda punk bands. After leaving the hate movement when he was nineteen years old, Picciolini began the painstaking process of rebuilding his life. He went on to earn a degree in International Business and International Relations from DePaul University and launch an entertainment and media firm. In 2010, he co-founded Life After Hate, a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping communities and organizations gain the knowledge necessary to implement long-term solutions that counter all types of racism and violent extremism.

David Ritz

CO-AUTHOR: David Ritz co-wrote Tavis Smiley's previous bestseller, Death of a King, and has collaborated with Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, B.B. King, and more.

Eric Hobsbawm

Eric Hobsbawm was a Fellow of the British Academy and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Before retirement he taught at Birkbeck College, University of London, and after retirement at the New School for Social Research in New York. Previous books include AGE OF EXTREMES, THE AGE OF REVOLUTION and THE AGE OF EMPIRE. He died 1st October 2012

Hilary Cottam

Hilary is an internationally acclaimed British social entrepreneur, recognised by the World Economic Forum as a Young Global Leader and named UK Designer of the Year in 2005. In 2006 Hilary founded Participle (www.participle.net) to design working exemplars of a new welfare state. Before her UK work she spent twelve years in Africa and Latin America, latterly as an urban poverty specialist at the World Bank in Washington DC. Her TED Talk: Social Services are Broken: How Can We Fix Them has had over half a million views. She lives in London.

Ijeoma Oluo

Ijeoma Oluo is a writer and speaker whose work on race has been featured in The Guardian, New York magazine, xoJane, Jezebel, and more. She is also an editor-at-large post at The Establishment, and Seattle magazine named her "one of the most influential people" in Seattle.

James Le Fanu

James Le Fanu has combined a career as a General Practitioner in South London with writing about medicine and science for the Sunday and Daily Telegraph. He has also contributed articles and reviews to The Times, Spectator, New Statesman, Literary Review, British Medical Journal and Journal of The Royal Society of Medicine. His much acclaimed 'The Rise and Fall of Modern Medicine' won the Los Angeles Times book prize in 2001. His most recent book, 'Why Us?', was published jointly by HarperCollins in the UK and Random House in the US in 2009. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians in 2014.

John Miller

is professor ofearly modern history at QueenMary's, London. He is a highlyacclaimed historian and authorof After the Civil Wars, and TheStuarts. He is on the boardof the Historical Associationand the Institute of HistoricalResearch.

Peter Moskowitz

Peter Moskowitz is a freelance journalist who has written for the Guardian, New York Times, New Republic, Wired, Slate, Buzzfeed, and many others. A former staff writer at Al Jazeera America, he is a graduate of Hampshire College and the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism. Moskowitz lives in New York City.

Robert Wells

Robert Wells is a writer, cartoonist and illustrator. He has written and drawn numerous comics including Crisp Biscuit, Crisp and Colin Comix, and is the artist of Department of the Peculiar (with writer Rol Hirst). He has produced illustrations for magazines such as Metal Hammer, Total Film and MusicTech. The first 15 pages of Back, Sack & Crack (& Brain) were short-listed for the 2014 Myriad Editions First Graphic Novel Prize.

Thomas Sowell

Thomas Sowell is a Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University. He is the author of dozens of books and the recipient of various awards, including the National Humanities Medal, Presented by the President of the United States in 2003.