Daphne Du Maurier - My Cousin Rachel - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349009858
    • Publication date:04 May 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405518079
    • Publication date:07 Jun 2012
Books in this series

My Cousin Rachel

By Daphne Du Maurier

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

* a penetrating psychological study with all the haunting power of Rebecca

I threw the piece of paper on the fire. She saw it burn . . .
Orphaned at an early age, Philip Ashley is raised by his benevolent older cousin, Ambrose. Resolutely single, Ambrose delights in Philip as his heir, a man who will love his grand home as much as he does himself. But the cosy world the two construct is shattered when Ambrose sets off on a trip to Florence. There he falls in love and marries - and there he dies suddenly.

In almost no time at all, the new widow - Philip's cousin Rachel - turns up in England. Despite himself, Philip is drawn to this beautiful, sophisticated, mysterious woman like a moth to the flame. And yet . . . might she have had a hand in Ambrose's death?

Biographical Notes

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children.
Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781844087631
  • Publication date: 04 Aug 2011
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Virago
She wrote exciting plots, she was highly skilled at arousing suspense, and she was, too, a writer of fearless originality — Guardian
No other popular writer has so triumphantly defied classification . . . She satisfied all the questionable criteria of popular fiction, and yet satisfied the exacting requirements of "real literature", something very few novelists ever do — Margaret Forster
From the first page . . . the reader is back in the moody, brooding atmosphere of Rebecca — New York Times Book Review
Du Maurier is a storyteller whose sole aim is to bewitch and beguile. And in My Cousin Rachel she does both, with Rebecca looking fondly over her shoulder — New York Times
In the same category as REBECCA, but an even more consummate piece of storytelling — GUARDIAN 'From the first page . . . the reader is back in the moody, brooding atmosphere of Rebecca’
NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW
She wrote exciting plots, she was highly skilled at arousing suspense, and she was, too, a writer of fearless originality
No other popular writer has so triumphantly defied classification . . . She satisfied all the questionable criteria of popular fiction, and yet satisfied the exacting requirements of "real literature", something very few novelists ever do
From the first page . . . the reader is back in the moody, brooding atmosphere of Rebecca
Du Maurier is a storyteller whose sole aim is to bewitch and beguile. And in My Cousin Rachel she does both, with Rebecca looking fondly over her shoulder
Du Maurier is a storyteller whose sole aim is to bewitch and beguile. And in My Cousin Rachel she does both, with Rebecca looking fondly over her shoulder
Virago

Don't Look Now And Other Stories

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Rebecca

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 4

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 3

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 2

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

Includes The House on the Strand, Julius, The Loving Spirit and The Doll: Short Stories.Written in the tradition of Poe and Lovecraft, The House on the Strand is a gripping, time-travelling horror tale. The eponymous hero of Julius is a quick-witted urchin caught up in the Franco-Prussian war, who is soon on his way to seek a fortune in London. The Loving Spirit, Daphne du Maurier's first published novel, is the history of the lives, loves and hardships of a Cornish family at the turn of the twentieth century. This omnibus also includes The Doll, a collection of some of du Maurier's most thrilling short stories.

Virago

Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 1

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

Includes the novels Frenchman's Creek and Hungry Hill, and the story collection The Birds & Other Stories.Frenchman's Creek tells the story of Lady Dona St Columb's escape from the Restoration Court in search of love and adventure at Navron in Cornwall. Hungry Hill is a powerful tale of the feud between two great families, the Donovans and the Brodricks. Daphne du Maurier's short story 'The Birds' was the basis for the classic Hitchcock film.

Virago

Mary Anne

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

'Like its heroine the book is possessed of such unforgettably vivid charm that one is seduced' L. S. Hilton, author of MaestraIn Regency London, the only way for a woman to succeed is to beat men at their own game. So when Mary Anne Clarke seeks an escape from her squalid surroundings in Bowling Inn Alley, she ventures first into the scurrilous world of the pamphleteers. Her personal charms are such, however, that before long she comes to the notice of the Duke of York.With her taste for luxury and power, Mary Anne, now a royal mistress, must aim higher. Her lofty connections allow her to establish a thriving trade in military commissions, provoking a scandal that rocks the government - and brings personal disgrace.A vivid portrait of overweening ambition, Mary Anne is set during the Napoleonic Wars and based on the life of du Maurier's own great-great-grandmother.

Virago

The Rendezvous And Other Stories

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

Mary Farren went into the gun room one morning about half-past eleven, took her husband's revolver and loaded it, then shot herself. The butler heard the sound of the gun from the pantry...The fourteen haunting stories in this collection span the whole of Daphne du Maurier's writing career and explore every human emotion: an apparently happily married woman commits suicide; a steamer in wartime is rescued by a mysterious sailing-ship; a dull husband breaks loose in a surprising fashion; a con woman plays her game once too often; and a famous novelist looks for romance, only to meet with bitter disappointent. Each meticulously observed tale shows du Maurier's mastery of the genre.

Virago

The Flight Of The Falcon

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

The Scapegoat

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

'Someone jolted my elbow as I drank and said, "Je vous demande pardon," and as I moved to give him space he turned and stared at me and I at him, and I realised, with a strange sense of shock and fear and nausea all combined, that his face and voice were known to me too well.I was looking at myself.'By chance, two men - one English, the other French - meet in a provincial railway station. Their resemblance is uncanny, and they spend the next few hours talking and drinking - until at last John, the Englishman, falls into a drunken stupor. It's to be his last carefree moment, for when he wakes, his French companion has stolen his identity and disappeared. So John steps into the Frenchman's shoes, and faces a variety of perplexing roles - as owner of a chateau, director of a failing business, head of a fractious family, and master of nothing.

Virago

The Glass-Blowers

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Frenchman's Creek

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

The Restoration Court knows Lady Dona St Columb to be ripe for any folly, any outrage that will relieve the tedium of her days. But there is another, secret Dona who longs for a life of honest love - and sweetness, even if it is spiced with danger.Dona flees London for remote Navron, looking for peace of mind in its solitary woods and hidden creeks. She finds there the passion her spirit craves - in the love of a daring pirate hunted across Cornwall, a Frenchman who, like Dona, would gamble his life for a moment's joy.

Virago

Vanishing Cornwall

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

'There was a smell in the air of tar and rope and rusted chain, a smell of tidal water. Down harbour, around the point, was the open sea. Here was the freedom I desired, long sought-for, not yet known. Freedom to write, to walk, to wander, freedom to climb hills, to pull a boat, to be alone . . . I for this, and this for me.'Daphne du Maurier lived in Cornwall for most of her life. Its rugged coastline, wild terrain and tumultuous weather inspired her imagination, and many of her works are set there, including Rebecca, Jamaica Inn and Frenchman's Creek. In Vanishing Cornwall she celebrates the land she loved, exploring its legends, its history and its people, eloquently making a powerful plea for Cornwall's preservation.

Virago

The Doll: Short Stories

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

'I want to know if men realise when they are insane. Sometimes I think that my brain cannot hold together, it is filled with too much horror - too much despair . . . I cannot sleep, I cannot close my eyes without seeing his damned face. If only it had been a dream.'In 'The Doll', a waterlogged notebook is washed ashore. Its pages tell a dark story of obsession and jealousy. But the fate of its narrator is a mystery.Most of the stories in this haunting collection were written early in Daphne du Maurier's career - when she was still in her early twenties - yet they display her mastery of atmosphere, tension and intrigue and reveal a cynicism far beyond her years.

Virago

Golden Lads

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

Prior to the publication of this biography, the elusive Anthony Bacon was merely glimpsed in the shadow of his famous younger brother, Francis. A fascinating historical figure, Anthony Bacon was a contemporary of the brilliant band of gallants who clustered round the court of Elizabeth I, and he was closely connected with the Queen's favourite, the Earl of Essex. He also worked as an agent for Sir Francis Walsingham, the Queen's spymaster, living in France where he became acquainted with Henri IV and the famous essayist Michel de Montaigne. It was in France that du Maurier discovered a secret that, if disclosed during Bacon's lifetime, could have put an end to his political career . . . Du Maurier did much to shed light on matters that had long puzzled historians, and, as well as a consummate exercise in research, this biography is also a strange and fascinating tale.

Virago

The Winding Stair

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

The Breaking Point

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

The Parasites

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

The King's General

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Jamaica Inn

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier