Taylor Downing - Secret Warriors - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408704226
    • Publication date:01 May 2014
  • Hardback £20.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408704219
    • Publication date:01 May 2014
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349138831
    • Publication date:07 May 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405519243
    • Publication date:01 May 2014

Secret Warriors

Key Scientists, Code Breakers and Propagandists of the Great War

By Taylor Downing
Read by Sean Barrett

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A fresh, new take on the Great War that uncovers how wartime research laid the foundations for much scientific progress in the twentieth century.

The First World War is often viewed as a war fought by armies of millions living and fighting in trenches, aided by brutal machinery that cost the lives of many. But behind all of this a scientific war was also being fought between engineers, chemists, physicists, doctors, mathematicians and intelligence gatherers. This hidden war was to make a positive and lasting contribution to how war was conducted on land, at sea and in the air, and most importantly life at home.

Secret Warriors provides an invaluable and fresh history of the First World War, profiling a number of the key figures who made great leaps in science for the benefit of 20th Century Britain. Told in a lively, narrative style, Secret Warriors reveals the unknown side of the war.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405532082
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Exactly what you want from a history of the boffins and technological pioneers of the First World War. There are bluff military adventurers and clumsy gentleman scientists — The Times
[A] fascinating new take on the Great War — Daily Express
Secret Warriors is a compelling insight into the role intellectuals can play in the business of war — History of War magazine
Unique and timely, interesting and useful — Military History
[A] fascinating study — New Statesman
Lucid and entertaining . . . Secret Warriors is full of interesting characters . . . The straightforward story Downing tells is a refreshing change from older treatments of science and war — Nature
The war started the long road to the world of cyber warriors, electronic eavesdropping and large-scale chemical weapons we know today. It is a fearsome legacy, and Downing charts its birth with knowledge, wit and skill — Literary Review
Downing delivers a riveting account — Starred Review, Publisher's Weekly
A very successful work. Downing's voice is clear and highly readable — Library Journal
an ingenious history that sets aside WWI's immense slaughter in order to concentrate on those who labored behind the scenes . . . Downing delivers a riveting account — Publishers Weekly
Secret Warriors lifts the lid on an underappreciated cast of characters — Herald
Constable

Halfway

B.E. Jones
Authors:
B.E. Jones
Constable

Deceived

Anne Randall
Authors:
Anne Randall
Constable

The Sheep Stell

Janet White
Authors:
Janet White
Hachette Audio

Two Sisters

Asne Seierstad
Authors:
Asne Seierstad

One morning in October 2013, nineteen-year-old Ayan Juma and her sixteen-year-old sister Leila left their family home in Oslo. Later that day they sent an email to their parents. 'Peace, God's mercy and blessings upon you, Mum and Dad ... Please do not be cross with us...' Leila and Ayan had decided to travel to Syria, 'and help out down there as best we can'. They had been planning for months. By the time their desperate father Sadiq tracks them to Turkey, they have already crossed the border. But Sadiq is determined to find them. What follows is the gripping, heartbreaking story of a family ripped apart. While Sadiq risks his own life to bring his daughters back, at home his wife Sara begins to question their life in Norway. How could her children have been radicalised without her knowledge? How can she protect her two younger sons from the same fate? Åsne Seierstad - with the complete support of the Juma family - followed the story from the beginning, through its many dramatic twists and turns. It's a tale that crosses from Sadiq and Sara's original home in Somalia, to their council estate in Oslo, to Turkey and to Syria - where two teenage sisters must face the shocking consequences of their decision.

FaithWords

Trumpocalypse

Paul McGuire, Troy Anderson
Authors:
Paul McGuire, Troy Anderson
Little, Brown US

Feast Your Eyes

Brittany Wright
Authors:
Brittany Wright

The ombrè craze sweeping fashion and beauty rendered in beautiful, edible color.The gradient photography style that has made Wright an internet sensation is the inspiration for this vibrant four-color collection of food photography. Kaleidoscope Kitchen illustrates the color variations found in the foods we eat, composing photos along these minute shifts in color to create striking works of art. Each image is an antidote to noise, a breath of fresh air for a busy audience looking to find beauty in the simple things.In a hundred gorgeous, serene photos, Wright inspires readers to play with color in their lives - and in their kitchens.

Little, Brown US

Kids These Days

Malcolm Harris
Authors:
Malcolm Harris
Westview Press

Industrial Disasters and Environmental Policy

Denise L. Scheberle
Authors:
Denise L. Scheberle
Constable

Forward . . .

Marcia Barrett
Authors:
Marcia Barrett
Hachette Books

White American Youth

Christian Picciolini
Authors:
Christian Picciolini
Sphere

Greyfriars House

Emma Fraser
Authors:
Emma Fraser
Corsair

Savages: The Wedding

Sabri Louatah
Authors:
Sabri Louatah
Piatkus

Promise Not To Tell

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz

A broken promise reveals a terrifying legacy in this electrifying novel from the New York Times bestselling author of When All the Girls Have Gone.A painter of fiery, nightmarish visions throws herself into the sea - but she leaves her secrets behind . . . Seattle gallery owner Virginia Troy has spent years battling the demons that stem from her childhood time in a cult and the night a fire burned through the compound, killing her mother. And now one of her artists has taken her own life, but not before sending Virginia a last picture: a painting that makes Virginia doubt everything about the so-called suicide - and her own past.Like Virginia, private investigator Cabot Sutter was one of the children in the cult who survived that fire... and only he can help her now. As they struggle to unravel the clues in the painting, it becomes clear that someone thinks Virginia knows more than she does and that she must be stopped. Thrown into an inferno of desire and deception, Virginia and Cabot draw ever closer to the mystery of their shared memories - and the shocking fate of the one man who still wields the power to destroy everything they hold dear.A suspenseful read full of twists and with the darkest of secrets at its heart, this is perfect for fans of Nora Roberts or Sandra Brown

Hachette Audio

The Spy's Daughter

Adam Brookes
Authors:
Adam Brookes

'Authentic, taut and compelling. Brookes is the real deal'Charles CummingThe stunning third novel from multi-award-nominated author Adam Brookes is paranoid, tense and spy fiction at its very finest.Meet Pearl Tao: an American girl with a lethal secret.Pearl longed for the life of a normal American teenager: summers at the pool, friends, backyard barbecues in the Washington DC suburbs. But she was different. Pearl had a gift for mathematics, a college sponsorship from a secretive technology corporation, and a family riven with anger and dysfunction. And it's only now, at nineteen years old, that she has started to understand what role she is to play. What her parents intend for her. For Pearl Tao, any hope of escape lies with two British spies: Trish Patterson, sidelined in disgrace, and Philip Mangan, blown and discredited - and following his own trail of corruption. Finding out the truth about Pearl will be the most urgent, the most dangerous mission they'll ever undertake.'Riveting and accomplished'Sunday Times

Sphere

Survivor

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray
Constable

Cut It Out

Bryan 'The Brush' Burnsides
Authors:
Bryan 'The Brush' Burnsides
Little, Brown

Force of Nature

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper

The gripping new novel from the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestseller, Waterstones Thriller of the Month, Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month, and Simon Mayo Radio 2 Book Club Choice, The Dry. FIVE WENT OUT. FOUR CAME BACK...Is Alice here? Did she make it? Is she safe? In the chaos, in the night, it was impossible to say which of the four had asked after Alice's welfare. Later, when everything got worse, each would insist it had been them.Five women reluctantly pick up their backpacks and start walking along the muddy track. Only four come out the other side.The hike through the rugged landscape is meant to take the office colleagues out of their air-conditioned comfort zone and teach resilience and team building. At least that is what the corporate retreat website advertises.Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk has a particularly keen interest in the whereabouts of the missing bushwalker. Alice Russell is the whistleblower in his latest case - and Alice knew secrets. About the company she worked for and the people she worked with.Far from the hike encouraging teamwork, the women tell Falk a tale of suspicion, violence and disintegrating trust. And as he delves into the disappearance, it seems some dangers may run far deeper than anyone knew.

Orbit

Besieged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIESThe ancient gods are alive and well in the modern world . . . Discover this action-packed collection of short stories featuring Atticus O'Sullivan - the two-thousand-year-old tattooed Irishman with extraordinary powers from Kevin Hearne's New York Times bestselling Iron Druid Chronicles.- In ancient Egypt, Atticus raids a secret chamber underneath the library of Alexandria, dodging deadly traps, only to learn that on-site security includes two members of the Egyptian pantheon . . .- During the Gold Rush, the avatar of greed himself turns the streets of San Francisco red with blood and upsets the elemental Sequoia. Atticus may have to fight fire with fire if he's going to restore balance . . . - In olde England, striking up a friendship with William Shakespeare lands both Atticus and the Bard in boiling hot water with a trio of infamous witches . . . Prepare to be besieged by these and other tantalizing tales of magic and adventure featuring bogeymen, vampire hordes, wrathful wraiths, and even a journey to the realm of the dead. 'Atticus and his crew are a breath of fresh air! . . . I love, love love this series' My Bookish Ways'Hearne is a terrific storyteller' SFF World

Constable

Torn

Anne Randall
Authors:
Anne Randall
Little, Brown

Messy

Tim Harford
Authors:
Tim Harford