James S. A. Corey - Persepolis Rising - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Persepolis Rising

Book 7 of the Expanse (now a major TV series on Netflix)

By James S. A. Corey

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Persepolis Rising is the seventh book in the New York Times bestselling Expanse series, now a major TV series on Netflix


NOW A MAJOR TV SHOW ON NETFLIX

Persepolis Rising is the seventh novel in the New York Times bestselling Expanse series.

In the thousand-sun network of humanity's expansion, new colony worlds are struggling to find their way. Every new planet lives on a knife-edge between collapse and wonder, and the crew of the aging gunship Rocinante have their hands more than full keeping the fragile peace.

In the vast space between Earth and Jupiter, the inner planets and the Belt have formed a tentative and uncertain alliance still haunted by a history of wars and prejudices. On the lost colony world of Laconia, a hidden enemy has a new vision for all of humanity and the power to enforce it.

New technologies clash with old as the history of human conflict returns to its ancient pattern of war and subjugation. But human nature is not the only enemy, and the forces being unleashed have their own price. A price that will change the shape of humanity - and of the Rocinante -unexpectedly and forever...

The Expanse series has sold over two million copies worldwide and is now a major television series.

The Expanse series:
Leviathan Wakes
Caliban's War
Abaddon's Gate
Cibola Burn
Nemesis Games
Babylon's Ashes
Persepolis Rising

Praise for the Expanse:

'The science fictional equivalent of A Song of Ice and Fire' NPR Books

'As close as you'll get to a Hollywood blockbuster in book form' io9.com

'Great characters, excellent dialogue, memorable fights' wired.com

'High adventure equalling the best space opera has to offer, cutting-edge technology and a group of unforgettable characters . . . Perhaps one of the best tales the genre has yet to produce' Library Journal

'This is the future the way it's supposed to be' Wall Street Journal

'Tense and thrilling' SciFiNow

Biographical Notes

James S. A. Corey is the pen name of fantasy author Daniel Abraham, author of the critically acclaimed Long Price Quartet, and writer Ty Franck. They both live in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356510293
  • Publication date: 07 Dec 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Interplanetary adventure the way it ought to be written — George R. R. Martin on Leviathan Wakes
As close as you'll get to a Hollywood blockbuster in book form — io9.com on Leviathan Wakes
This is the future the way it was supposed to be — Wall Street Journal on Leviathan Wakes
Tense and thrilling — SciFiNow on Leviathan Wakes
Great characters, excellent dialogue, memorable fight scenes — wired.com on Leviathan Wakes
High adventure equalling the best space opera has to offer, cutting-edge technology and a group of unforgettable characters . . . Perhaps one of the best tales the genre has yet to produce — Library Journal on Leviathan Wakes
Corey's tense, tightly plotted story is stuffed to the brim with intrigue, action, awesome alien tech, multidimensional characters and provocative ideas — Publishers Weekly
The Expanse series remains the gold standard of ongoing modern space opera — Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog
Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly

A gripping space opera for fans of Elizabeth Moon and Rachel Bach, this is the follow-up to Blue Shift - the first book in the Second Species trilogy

Orbit

One of Us

Craig DiLouie
Authors:
Craig DiLouie

They call it the plagueA generation of children born with extreme genetic mutations They call it a homeBut it's a place of neglect and forced labour They call him DogBut Enoch is just a boy who wants to be treated as normalThey call them freaksThey might be right'An amazing tour-de-force . . . One of Us rattled me to the core. An engrossing, emotionally-charged book and a work of terrible beauty. I loved it, heart and soul' John Dixon, award-winning author of Phoenix Island'Without a doubt one of the best books I'll read this year . . . [it] has The Island of Dr Moreau's social conscience, the X-men's imagination and Harper Lee's heart. But it is DiLouie's skill as a storyteller that blends all of that into a compelling work of near perfection'Bracken MacLeod, award-nominated author of Stranded

Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard
Hachette Audio

Untitled Expanse Novella 5

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

Piatkus

Death Doesn't Bargain

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon

The Deadmen are back...But so are the demons who have broken free of their eternal prison and are bent on mankind's destruction. The worst of the lot is Vine, determined to claim their lives for taking hers. She will see the world burn . . . and has the perfect lure to destroy them all. One of their own.Kalder Dupree has never known a day of mercy. Born to the cruelest of mer-races, he sacrificed himself for his crew and is in Vine's hands. He expects no mercy or rescue.Yet Cameron Jack is determined to set Kalder free. As a Hellchaser, it's her calling, and she cannot allow even a not-so-innocent to be tortured for an act of kindness that spared her damnation.To defeat evil, it sometimes takes an even worse evil, and Cameron is willing to do whatever she must to make this right. If Vine thought she had her hands full before, she hasn't seen anything nearly as powerful as Cameron's resolve.Death Doesn't Bargain is the second historical fantasy title in New York Times bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon's Deadman's Cross series. Where Deadmen tell their tales, and every soul is damned or redeemed by the final choices they make.

Running Press Mini Editions

Star Trek: Light-and-Sound Tricorder

Chip Carter
Authors:
Chip Carter
Orbit

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child
Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller

'An incisive and beautifully written story of love, revenge and the power (and failure) of family in a scarily plausible future. Blackfish City simmers with menace and heartache, suspense and wonder' Ann Leckie, winner of the Hugo, Nebula and Clarke AwardsAfter the climate wars, a floating city was constructed in the Arctic Circle. Once a remarkable feat of mechanical and social engineering, it has started to crumble under the weight of its own decay - crime and corruption have set in, a terrible new disease is coursing untreated through the population, and the contradictions of incredible wealth alongside deepest poverty are spawning unrest.Into this turmoil comes a strange new visitor - a woman accompanied by an orca and a chained polar bear. She disappears into the crowds looking for someone she lost thirty years ago, followed by whispers of a vanished people who could bond with animals. Her arrival draws together four people and sparks a chain of events that will lead to unprecedented acts of resistance.Blackfish City is a mesmerising novel from a stunning new voice in science fiction.

Running Press Mini Editions

Star Trek: Light-and-Sound Borg Cube

Chip Carter
Authors:
Chip Carter

Star Trek fans and collectors will love this one-of-a-kind, mini-size collectible Borg cube with light and sound.The Borg cube is a cube-shaped spacecraft that is one of the largest, most powerful and fastest vessels in the Star Trek Galaxy. Kit includes:* Light-up Borg cube with sound* Display base* 48-page book on the history of Borg cubes and full-color photos

Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky
Orbit

Outer Earth: The Complete Trilogy

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard
Orbit

Into the Fire

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon
Hachette Australia

Terra Nullius

Claire G. Coleman
Authors:
Claire G. Coleman

Highly Commended in the Victorian Premier's Literary Awards 2017Longlisted for the Stella Prize 2018Longlisted for the Indie Book Award for Debut Fiction 2018'The truth that lies at the heart of this novel is impossible to ignore.' - Books+PublishingJacky was running. There was no thought in his head, only an intense drive to run. There was no sense he was getting anywhere, no plan, no destination, no future. All he had was a sense of what was behind, what he was running from. Jacky was running.The Natives of the Colony are restless. The Settlers are eager to have a nation of peace, and to bring the savages into line. Families are torn apart, reeducation is enforced. This rich land will provide for all.This is not Australia as we know it. This is not the Australia of our history. This TERRA NULLIUS is something new, but all too familiar.This is an incredible debut from a striking new Australian Aboriginal voice.

Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel Africa's first award for speculative fiction John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction NovelRosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee
Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Orbit

The Corporation Wars: Emergence

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod
Orbit

Strange Dogs

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Hachette Audio

The Delirium Brief

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross
Sphere

The Alienist

Caleb Carr
Authors:
Caleb Carr

The internationally bestselling historical thriller, soon to be a Netflix series starring Luke Evans, Dakota Fanning and Daniel Brühl.Some things never change.New York City, 1896. Hypocrisy in high places is rife, police corruption commonplace, and a brutal killer is terrorising young male prostitutes.Unfortunately for Police Commissioner Theodore Roosevelt, the psychological profiling of murderers is a practice still in its infancy, struggling to make headway against the prejudices of those who prefer the mentally ill - and the 'alienists' who treat them - to be out of sight as well as out of mind.But as the body count rises, Roosevelt swallows his doubts and turns to the eminent alienist Dr Laszlo Kreizler to put a stop to the bloody murders - giving Kreizler a chance to take him further into the dark heart of criminality, and one step closer to death.