David Mealing - Blood of the Gods - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405541350
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356508986
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
Books in this series

Blood of the Gods

Book Two of the Ascension Cycle

By David Mealing

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The enthralling second novel in the Ascension Cycle - a brilliant epic fantasy with a unique magic system and unforgettable, diverse characters

With its memorable characters, vivid world-building and unique magic systems, Blood of the Gods is the powerful second novel in David Mealing's Ascension Cycle - perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Brian McClellan.

The battle for the city is over, but the aftermath of a revolution is never simple . . .

Sarine begins to experience visions, ones which make her dragon familiar sicker every day. Erris pushes toward conquest and the need to expand her territory and restore her power. And, exiled from his tribe, Arak'Jur apprentices himself to a deadly master.

Faced with the threat of a return to the days of darkness, the heroes begin to understand the depth of the sacrifices required from them. To protect their world, they'll have to stand and fight once more.

Biographical Notes

David Mealing grew up adoring all things fantasy. He studied philosophy, politics and economics at the University of Oxford, where he taught himself to write by building worlds and stories for pen and paper RPGs. He enjoys board games and card games of all sorts, once spent a summer in Paris learning and subsequently forgetting how to speak French and gave serious thought to becoming a professional bass player before deciding epic fantasy novelist was the wiser choice. He lives in Washington State with his wife and three daughters, and aspires to one day own a ranch in the middle of nowhere.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356508962
  • Publication date: 21 Aug 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

The Gutter Prayer

Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan
Authors:
Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan

Orbit

How Long 'Til Black Future Month

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Running Press Adult

Fantastic Beasts: The Magizoologist's Discovery Case

Donald Lemke
Authors:
Donald Lemke
Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri
Piatkus

An Easy Death: the Gunnie Rose series

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner
Authors:
Rena Rossner
Orbit

Bloody Rose

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames

'Bloody Rose solidifies what Kings of the Wyld proved. Eames writes like a hurricane and has a voice like no one else in this genre' - Sam Sykes'Kings of the Wyld was fun, but Bloody Rose is gods-damned epic . . . one of the best books of the year'*****Tam Hashford is tired of working at her local pub, slinging drinks for world-famous mercenaries and listening to the bards sing of adventure and glory in the world beyond her sleepy hometown.When the biggest mercenary band of all rolls into town, led by the infamous Bloody Rose, Tam jumps at the chance to sign on as their bard. It's adventure she wants-and adventure she gets as the crew embark on a quest that will end in one of two ways: glory or death.IT'S TIME TO TAKE A WALK ON THE WYLD SIDE*****Reviews for the series:'I was a big fan of Kings of the Wyld, but I think Bloody Rose has actually topped it. Eames once again hits the perfect balance of humor and heart, irreverent references and real emotion' Django Wexler'A rollicking, page-turning, edge-of-your-seat road-trip of a book . . . wonderful' John Gwynne'Absolutely awesome . . . Full of heroes, humor, and heart' Jon Hollins'Brings brazen fun and a rock & roll sensibility to the fantasy genre' Sebastien de Castell'An entertaining, brilliantly crafted adventure . . . with just the right amount of grit and wit' Bibliosanctum'George R. R. Martin meets Terry Pratchett' Buzzfeed Books'All the heart and passion that great fantasy can bring in the hands of a master' Myke Cole'In short: it rocks . . . If I could, I'd see the tour, and buy the t-shirt' B&N Sci-Fi And Fantasy Blog

Hachette Audio

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins

Will and his comrades went to war to overthrow the reign of dragons, winning battle after battle, gold and, best of all, a reputation as conquering heroes.But now they've angered the gods, these great dragonslayers suddenly need to turn to the dragons for help . . .We won't tell if you don't.'Jon Hollins is a one-of-a-kind storyteller, a master of epic fun and nonstop action' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

Orbit

Dreadful Company

Vivian Shaw
Authors:
Vivian Shaw
Hachette Audio

The Killing Moon

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

'Utterly enthralling' Trudi CanavanIn the ancient city-state of Gujaareh, peace is the only law. Upon its rooftops and amongst the shadows of its cobbled streets wait the Gatherers - the keepers of this peace. Priests of the dream-goddess, their duty is to harvest the magic of the sleeping mind and use it to heal, soothe . . . and kill those judged corrupt.But when a conspiracy blooms within Gujaareh's great temple, Ehiru - the most famous of the city's Gatherers - must question everything he knows. Someone, or something, is murdering innocent dreamers in the goddess' name, stalking its prey both in Gujaareh's alleys and the realm of dreams. Ehiru must now protect the woman he was sent to kill - or watch the city be devoured by war and forbidden magic.

Hachette Audio

The Shadowed Sun

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Piatkus

Heart on Fire

Amanda Bouchet
Authors:
Amanda Bouchet
Orbit

The Empire of Ashes

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan

'Fabulous . . . Sure to be another fantasy classic' Huffington Post UK'The world Ryan has created for his new dragon adventure is a joy to visualise' SciFiNowThe White Drake's army has cut a bloody swathe across the world, leaving nothing but ash in its wake. Thousands of innocents have died beneath its blades and countless more will surely follow.Only small-time criminal Claydon Torcreek and master spy Lizanne Lethridge - along with their ragtag band of allies - stand between the white drake's fury and the world's end.To save the future, they must delve into the past - and unravel a timeless mystery that might just turn the tide once and for all.Armies will clash and ancient secrets will be revealed in The Empire of Ashes, the thrilling conclusion to Anthony Ryan's Draconis Memoria series.Praise for the series: 'A fascinating world packed with dragons, pirates, political machinations and an interesting magic system to boot' Fantasy Faction'A marvellous piece of imagination with plenty of twists, a refreshingly different setting, and excellent world-building' Mark Lawrence'Memorable characters and great action' Django Wexler'Excellent epic fantasy' BookBagBooks by Anthony Ryan:The Draconis Memoria: The Waking FireThe Legion of FlameThe Empire of AshesRaven's Shadow:Blood SongTower LordQueen of Fire

Orbit

The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn

Tyler Whitesides
Authors:
Tyler Whitesides

AN EXPLOSIVE TALE OF DARING DEEDS, DECEIT AND DRAGONS'If you enjoy The Lies of Locke Lamora . . . then I can confidently predict that The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn is the book for you . . . Highly recommended' The Eloquent Page'I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It is easily the best fantasy-heist book I have read in years!' A Fantastical LibrarianArdor Benn is no ordinary thief - a master of wildly complex heists, he styles himself a Ruse Artist Extraordinaire. When a mysterious priest hires him for the most daring ruse yet, Ardor knows he'll need more than quick wit and sleight of hand. Assembling a dream team of forgers, disguisers, schemers and thieves, he sets out to steal from the most powerful king the realm has ever known. But it soon becomes clear there's more at stake than fame and glory - Ard and his team might just be the last hope for human civilisation.'A fun, terrific read I heartily recommend' David Dalglish, author of A Dance of Cloaks'The plot and world of this book are one of a kind . . . a very impressive debut' The Quill to Live'From start to finish this is an amazing read' The Book Plank'Fun, entertaining and has a unique magic system . . . pretty darn cool' BookNest'This one is for all you fans of Scott Lynch and Marshall Ryan Maresca eager to meet your next favorite fantasy ne'er-do-well' B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog

Orbit

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan
Orbit

Scourged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

***OVER A MILLION COPIES OF THE IRON DRUID BOOKS SOLD***'American Gods meets Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden' SFF WorldKevin Hearne creates the ultimate Atticus O'Sullivan adventure in the grand finale of the New York Times bestselling Iron Druid Chronicles.Unchained from fate, the Norse gods Loki and Hel are ready to unleash Ragnarok, a.k.a. the Apocalypse, upon the earth. With a whole host of dark allies on their side, there's a globe-spanning battle on the cards - one which Druid Atticus O'Sullivan will be hard-pressed to survive, much less win.Atticus must recruit the aid of an Indian witch and a trickster god in hopes that they'll give him just enough leverage to both save Gaia and see another sunrise. After all - if the world ends, who's going to make sure the hound Oberon gets his well-deserved snack?Praise for the Iron Druid Chronicles:'Atticus and his crew are a breath of fresh air! . . . I love, love, love this series' My Bookish Ways'Entertaining, steeped in a ton of mythology, populated by awesome characters' Civilian Reader'This is one series no fantasy fan should miss. Mystery, suspense, magic and mayhem' SciFiChickThe Iron Druid ChroniclesHounded Hexed HammeredTrickedTrappedHuntedShatteredStakedScourgedBesieged (short stories)HAVE YOU TRIED...Kevin Hearne's epic fantasy novel A PLAGUE OF GIANTS - described by Delilah S. Dawson as 'a rare masterpiece that's both current and timeless . . . merging the fantasy bones of Tolkien and Rothfuss with a wide cast of characters who'll break your heart'. Out now!

Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee

TWO CRIME FAMILIES, ONE SOURCE OF POWER: JADE.Shortlisted for the Nebula Awards 2018Shortlisted for the Locus Awards 2018Shortlisted for the Aurora Awards 2018Shortlisted for the Sunburst Awards 2018An Amazon.com Best Book of the Month'Vivid and tautly described' Scott Lynch'Gripping!' Ann Leckie'Stylish and action-packed' Ken Liu Jade is the lifeblood of the city of Janloon - a stone that enhances a warrior's natural strength and speed. Jade is mined, traded, stolen and killed for, controlled by the ruthless No Peak and Mountain families. When a modern drug emerges that allows anyone - even foreigners - to wield jade, simmering tension between the two families erupts into open violence. The outcome of this clan war will determine the fate of all in the families, from their grandest patriarch to even the lowliest motorcycle runner on the streets. Jade City is an epic tale of blood, family, honour, and of those who live and die by ancient laws in a changing world.

Piatkus

Dark Legacy

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan
Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing

Piatkus

Breath of Fire

Amanda Bouchet
Authors:
Amanda Bouchet