We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Soul of the World

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780356508948

Price: £10.99

ON SALE: 8th February 2018

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘A great epic fantasy debut’ – James Islington, author of the The Shadow of What Was Lost

Enter a world of royalists and rebels, spies and sorcerers . . .

Sarine is a young artist just trying to survive on the streets of New Sarresant – but soon her magical abilities will draw the attention of royalists and rebels alike.

Arak’Jur is a guardian, responsible for keeping his tribe safe. Now he must master an ancient magic if he hopes to protect his people from bloodshed.

Erris is a brilliant cavalry officer whose leadership has delivered countless victories, but now her enemies seem to know her plans before she’s even made them.

These three heroes must rise – or the world will fall.

Soul of the World is a stellar debut from a major new talent, an epic fantasy perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Robert Jordan and Brent Weeks.


‘A magical book, almost overflowing with originality . . . Fascinating world, fun characters, and captivating magic’
– The Quill to Live

‘Tense enough to make your spine crack . . . This is one hell of a debut novel’
– Bookworm Blues

The Ascension Cycle
Soul of the World
Blood of the Gods
Chains of the Earth

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

One of the best debuts (fantasy or not!) that I've read this year
FOREVER LOST IN LITERATURE
An excellent debut
POWDER AND PAGE
A story of magic, ambition, greed, betrayal and war
BOOKLIST
Tense enough to make your spine crack . . . This is one hell of a debut novel
Bookworm Blues
Soul of the World is a strong debut that brings interesting magic to a world that is on the brink of major changes and conflict
SPECULATIVE HERALD
A great epic fantasy debut. Memorable characters, intriguing magic systems and a well-realised world
James Islington, author of THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST
A magical book, almost overflowing with originality . . . Fascinating world, fun characters, and captivating magic
THE QUILL TO LIVE
A compelling read, one that's all the more extraordinary since it's a debut work: rarely have I encountered such a level of narrative control and sophistication in a first novel
SPACE AND SORCERY
Compelling characters and a unique magic system . . . Mealing does a fabulous job with the intricate world-building and leaves the reader wanting to get their hands on the sequel
RT BOOK REVIEWS
Imaginative and elaborate epic fantasy [with] strong characters and rich worldbuilding
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY