Jamie Sawyer - The Lazarus War: Origins - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356505503
    • Publication date:25 Aug 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405534581
    • Publication date:25 Aug 2016
Books in this series

The Lazarus War: Origins

Book Three of The Lazarus War

By Jamie Sawyer

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The final book in this explosive new military science fiction series from one of the brightest new stars in British science fiction - perfect for fans of James S. A. Corey and Jack Campbell

Following Artefact and Legion, Origins is the third and final book of the Lazarus War, an action-drenched space adventure series from one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction.

For someone who has died and come back as many times as Conrad Harris, the nickname Lazarus is well-deserved. His elite military team are specialists in death - running suicide missions in simulant bodies to combat the alien race known as the Krell. But now the Krell Empire has wreaked such devastation that military command is desperate for a new strategy against the alien foe.

Harris and his team are being sent on a mission that could finally turn the tide of the war. Intelligence has been uncovered that indicates the location of the UAS Endeavour, a ship that went missing years ago deep in Krell territory. The ship could hold secrets to harnessing an ancient alien technology - possibly the most powerful weapon in the known universe. But if this power falls into the wrong hands, the consequences for humanity are unimaginable . . .

Praise for The Lazarus War novels:

'A gripping read that moves at warp speed' Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels

'Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction' William C. Dietz, author of the Legion novels and HALO tie-in novels

'An adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF' Stephen Deas, author of Elite: Wanted, Empires: Infiltrationand Extraction

'Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be' Michael Cobley, author of the Humanity's Fire series

'A fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core' Gary Gibson, author of Stealing Light

'Starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff' Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels

Biographical Notes

Jamie Sawyer was born in 1979 in Newbury, Berkshire. He studied law at the University of East Anglia, Norwich, acquiring a master's degree in human rights and surveillance law. Jamie is a full-time barrister, practising in criminal law. When he isn't working in law or writing, Jamie enjoys spending time with his family in Essex. He is an enthusiastic reader of all types of SF, especially classic authors such as Heinlein and Haldeman.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356505497
  • Publication date: 25 Aug 2016
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Velocity Weapon

Megan O'Keefe
Authors:
Megan O'Keefe

Dazzling space battles, intergalactic politics and rogue AI collide in Velocity Weapon, the first book in this epic space opera by award-winning author Megan O'Keefe.Sanda and Biran were siblings destined for greatness. Her: a hard-nosed marine with the skills to save the universe. Him: a savvy politician with ambitions for changing the course of intergalactic war. However, on a routine manoeuvre, Sanda's gunship gets blown out of the sky. Instead of finding herself in friendly hands, she awakens 230 years later upon an empty enemy smartship who calls himself Bero. The war is lost. The star system and everyone in it is dead. Ada Prime and its rival Icarion have wiped each other from the universe.Now, separated by space and time, Sanda and Biran will find a way to put things right.

Sphere

The War of the Worlds

H. G. Wells
Authors:
H. G. Wells
Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley
Orbit

The Eternity War: Exodus

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Orbit

Red Moon

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

'AN EDGE-OF-THE-SEAT EPIC OF SURVIVAL AND ADVENTURE IN DEEP SPACE' Gareth L. Powell'A UNIQUE MIX OF THRILLER, SPACE ADVENTURE AND CONSPIRACY NOVEL - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED' Jamie SawyerIn the far reaches of space, a tour group embarks on what will be the trip of a lifetime - in more ways than one . . .For one small group, a tour of the nearby Horsehead Nebula is meant to be a short but stunning highlight in the trip of a lifetime.But when a mysterious ship destroys Sigma Station and everyone on it, suddenly their tourist shuttle is stranded.They have no weapons. No food. No water. No one back home knows they're alive.And the mysterious ship is hunting them.Rob Boffard's Adrift is a thrilling science fiction tale of survival against all odds - perfect for fans of Alastair Reynold's Revenger, Becky Chamber's The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Adrian Tchaikovksy' Children of Time and John Scalzi's The Collapsing Empire.'This action-packed adventure is made for summer vacation reading' Publishers Weekly'Adrift is rich in deep character-driven drama, built on a highly suspenseful premise' D. Nolan Clark, author of Forsaken Skies'This book is an intense, heart-pounding, cast-away-in-the-vastness-of-space adventure that keeps you guessing right up until the end! I was so utterly enthralled, I couldn't put it down' K. B. Wagers, author of Behind the Throne

Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz

Sphere

Reckless Creed

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava

In the new edge-of-your seat thriller from New York Times-bestselling author Alex Kava, Ryder Creed, his K9 search-and-rescue dogs and FBI agent Maggie O'Dell find themselves at the centre of a dire and mysterious case. In Chicago, a young man jumps from his thirtieth-storey hotel room; along the Missouri river, a hunter and his son find a lake whose surface is littered with snow geese, all of them dead; and in Southern Alabama, Ryder Creed and his search-and-rescue dog Grace find the body of a young woman who went missing in the Conecuh National Forest . . . and it appears she filled her pockets with rocks and walked into the river. Before long Ryder Creed and FBI profiler Maggie O'Dell will discover the ominous connection between these mysterious deaths. What they find may be the most prolific killer the United States has ever known...

Orbit

The Eternity War: Pariah

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Robinson

A Brief History of the Martial Arts

Jonathan Clements
Authors:
Jonathan Clements

Orbit

The Lazarus War: Legion

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer

Following Artefact, Legion is the second book of the Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series from one of the brightest new stars in science fiction - perfect for fans of The Edge of Tomorrow, Alien and James S. A. Corey's Expanse series. Conrad Harris is the legend known as Lazarus, and he has died hundreds of times. Using simulant bodies, he runs suicide missions in the depths of space. But he always comes back.As commanding officer of the Lazarus Legion, Harris and his elite Simulant Operations team are humanity's last line of defence against the hostile alien race known as the Krell.Having survived their ordeal on Helios, they're now leading a large-scale mission to the perilous, unexplored region of the Damascus Rift. There, another Artefact has been discovered. It is the product of an ancient alien life form - and a possible weapon to be used against the Krell.This Artefact could finally help humanity win the war. But what Harris and the Lazarus Legion will discover there is from their worst nightmares . . .Discover the Lazarus War - the thrilling new space opera series of elite space marines and galactic empires, from one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction.'A gripping read that moves at warp speed' Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels, on The Lazarus War: Artefact'A hostile race of alien biomechs somewhat in the mould of H. R. Giger aliens . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles . . . And then there are the uber-human super-soldiers clad in powered armour and wielding plasma weapons . . . Is that enough for you? . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff. Recommended' Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels, on The Lazarus War: Artefact'A highly promising science fiction debut - a fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core that kept me turning the pages' Gary Gibson on The Lazarus War: Artefact'An adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF packed with cinematic action sequences and tightly drawn characters' Stephen Deas on The Lazarus War: Artefact

Orbit

The Lazarus War: Artefact

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Orbit

The Lazarus War: Redemption

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Orbit

Earth Ascendant

Sean Williams
Authors:
Sean Williams
Orbit

Saturn Returns

Sean Williams
Authors:
Sean Williams
Orbit

First Meetings: In The Enderverse

Orson Scott Card
Authors:
Orson Scott Card

THE POLISH BOY: Following the first two 'Bugger' wars, the Hegemony is desperate to counter the alien threat, as the earth hasn't the resources to repel many more attacks. Their search for brilliant military talent reveals a potential genius in the form of young John Paul Wiggin - Ender Wiggin's father to be.TEACHER'S PEST: John Paul Wiggin is indeed brilliant but is also an unbearably arrogant young man, now a university student. Graduate Theresa Brown, however, may prove his match as they clash socially and intellectually.THE INVESTMENT COUNSELOR: Ender must wander incognito from world to world after banishment from earth as a mass murderer. His reputation as saviour of the human race has been twisted and corrupted since the long-ago Bugger wars and he must shield his identity at all costs. However, he is recognised and blackmailed by a small-time tax collector, who threatens to expose him as Ender, the world killer. ENDER'S GAME: The story of Orson Scott Card's most memorable character in its powerful original novella form.

Orbit

Scion Of Cyador

L. E. Modesitt Jr.
Authors:
L. E. Modesitt Jr.
Orbit

Ringworld Engineers

Larry Niven
Authors:
Larry Niven