William Woodruff - Vessel Of Sadness - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Vessel Of Sadness

By William Woodruff

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A terrifying true-life novel about the 1944 Anzio landings in the tradition of BAND OF BROTHERS.

Italy, 1944 - this is the setting of one of the most convincing and quietly magnificent stories about man and war that has ever been written. Here, (distilled from the experiences and observations of one who fought with them in the British infantry unit) is the mood of those who fought and died at Anzio. Their task - to seize the Alban Hills and then Rome forty miles away. Instead, for more than four months, they sank into the mud of the Anzio plain and fought for their lives. Nothing has appeared since Erich Maria Remarque's ALL QUIET ON THE WESTERN FRONT that can compare with this book's ability to penetrate the minds of men at war. There are no heroes, no heroines, no victories. This is a faceless, nameless, fragmented war. Even national differences - Britain, Italian, German, American - merge and are forgotten in this larger story of humanity. This story, in fact, does not need to be Anzio; it could be any battlefield where man has faced death.

Biographical Notes

From his birth in 1916 until he ran away to London, William Woodruff lived
in the heart of Blackburn's weaving community. He eventually went to Oxford
University and lived in Florida for over forty years. He died in 2008.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349118116
  • Publication date: 04 Nov 2004
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Abacus
It has the same gritty authenticity as THE ROAD TO NAB END — The DAILY MAIL
Corsair

Manhattan Beach

Jennifer Egan
Authors:
Jennifer Egan
Sphere

Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights

Sphere

Before Evil

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava
Piatkus

Bay of Sighs

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Back Bay

The Rules of Love & Grammar

Mary Simses
Authors:
Mary Simses

Newly jobless, newly single, and suddenly apartmentless, writer Grace Hammond has come unmoored. A grammar whiz who's brilliant at correcting other people's errors, she hasn't yet found quite the right set of rules for fixing her own mistakes.Desperate to escape the city and her trifecta of problems, Grace hits pause and retreats to her Connecticut hometown. What begins as a short visit with her parents quickly becomes a far more meaningful stay, though, as she discovers that the answers to what her future holds might be found by making peace with-and even embracing-the past.As Grace sets out to change her ways and come to terms, finally, with the tragedy that took her older sister's life so many years ago, she rekindles a romance with her high school sweetheart, Peter, now a famous Hollywood director who's filming a movie in town. Sparks also fly at the local bike shop, where Grace's penchant for pointing out what's wrong rattles the owner's ruggedly handsome schoolteacher son, Mitch.Torn between the promise of a glamorous life and the allure of the familiar, Grace must decide what truly matters-and whether it's time for her to throw away the rule book and bravely follow her heart.

Fleet

The Underground Railroad

Colson Whitehead
Authors:
Colson Whitehead
Corsair

Tell Me How This Ends Well

David Samuel Levinson
Authors:
David Samuel Levinson

Sphere

The Summer Seaside Kitchen

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan

'A heartwarming, charming and atmospheric story that made me long to escape to Mure. Total joy' - Sophie KinsellaA deliciously warm and funny slice of life from Jenny Colgan, Sunday Times top ten bestselling author of Summer at the Little Beach Street Bakery and The Little Shop of Happy-Ever-After.Flora is definitely, absolutely sure that escaping from the quiet Scottish island where she grew up to the noise and hustle of the big city was the right choice. What was there for her on Mure? It's a place where everyone has known her all her life, and no one will let her forget the past. In the city, she can be anonymous, ambitious and indulge herself in her hopeless crush on her gorgeous boss, Joel. When a new client demands Flora's presence back on Mure, she's suddenly swept back into life with her brothers (all strapping, loud and seemingly incapable of basic housework) and her father. As Flora indulges her new-found love of cooking and breathes life into the dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour, she's also going to have to come to terms with past mistakes - and work out exactly where her future lies...Let Jenny Colgan make your dreams come true!

Sphere

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses

'A gorgeous novel that will delight' Katie FfordeA heart-warming and poignant novel of romance, family and second chances, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews at her outstanding best. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.Christie Chapman is a single working mother who spends her days commuting to her secretarial job in London and looking after her teenage son, Finn. It can be tough just getting through the day but Christie has always found comfort in her love of crafting and any spare time she has is spent in her parents' summerhouse working on her beautiful creations. From intricately designed birthday cards to personalised gifts, Christie's flair for the handmade knows no bounds and it's not long before opportunity comes knocking. All of a sudden Christie sees a different future for her and Finn - one full of hope and possibility, and if the handsome Max Alexander is to be believed, one full of love too. It's all there for the taking.And then, all of sudden, Christie's world is turned upside down. Christie knows that something has to give, but what will she choose? Will she give up her dreams and the chance of real love? What price will she pay for doing the right thing? Can Christie find her happy ending in . . . Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.

Sphere

I See You

Clare Mackintosh
Authors:
Clare Mackintosh
Sphere

Class

Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan

'Funny, page-turning and addictive...just like Malory Towers for grown-ups' - Sophie Kinsella Maggie went to the window and opened it wide, inhaling the lovely, ozoney air off the sea. Why had she never lived by the sea before? Why had she always looked out on housing estates and not the little white hulls of trawlers bobbing off in the distance?It's gloriously sunny in Cornwall as the school year starts at the little boarding school by the sea. Maggie, the newest teacher at Downey House, is determined to make her mark - but will it be at the expense of her relationship with safe, dependable Stan? Simone has won a scholarship and wants to make her parents proud. Forced to share a room with the glossy, pretty, clever girls of Downey House, she needs to find a friend, fast. Fliss is furious at being sent away from her home. As Simone tries desperately to fit in, Fliss tries desperately to get out. Over the course of one year, friendships will bloom and lives will be changed forever. "A brilliant boarding school book, stuffed full of unforgettable characters, thrilling adventures and angst..." - Lisa Jewell

Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

Orbit

Fellside

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey

A haunting and heart-breaking new thriller from the author of the word-of-mouth bestseller The Girl With All the GiftsFellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. It's not the kind of place you'd want to end up. But it's where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life.It's a place where even the walls whisper.And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess.Will she listen?Discover M. R. Carey's powerful new novel - a chillingly atmospheric tale filled with tension, action and emotion that's set to take the world by storm.Praise for M. R. Carey:'An intense, haunting thriller with heart. You will not want to put this down - Laini Taylor, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author 'Original, thrilling and powerful' - Guardian'Haunting, heartbreaking' - Vogue'As fresh as it is terrifying . . . a jewel' - Joss Whedon

Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas

Sphere

The Cake Shop in the Garden

The scrumptious Cake Shop in the Garden is Carole Matthews' bestselling book ever! Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Jill Mansell.Fay Merryweather runs her cake shop from her beautiful garden. She whips up airy sponges and scrumptious scones, while her customers enjoy the lovely blossoms and gorgeous blooms. Looking after the cake shop, the garden and her cantankerous mother means Fay is always busy but she accepts her responsibilities because if she doesn't do all this, who will?Then Danny Wilde walks into her life and makes Fay question every decision she's ever made.When a sudden tragedy strikes, Fay's entire world is thrown off balance even further and she doesn't know which way to turn. Can Fay find the strength to make a life-changing decision - even if it means giving up the thing she loves the most? Life, love and family are about to collide in The Cake Shop in the Garden.

Little, Brown

Dead Girl Walking

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Sphere

The Silver Collection

Blackfriars

Everything I Never Told You

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng
Sphere

The Christmas Party

Louise Young is a devoted single mother whose only priority is providing for her daughter, Mia. Louise has a good job in a huge international corporation and she's grateful for it. The only problem is her boss who can't keep his hands to himself, but Louise can handle him. What she really doesn't have time for is romance - until she meets the company's rising star, Josh Wallace. Louise usually says no to evenings out but she's decided to let her hair down tonight. It's the office Christmas party, she has a pretty dress to wear and she's looking forward to some champagne and fun. She's completely unaware that others around her are too busy playing dangerous games to enjoy the party - until she's pulled into those games herself . . . Romance is in the air and secrets are about to be uncovered. It's going to be a night to remember at The Christmas Party.

Little, Brown

The May Bride

Suzannah Dunn
Authors:
Suzannah Dunn

I didn't stand a chance: looking back over thirteen years, that's what I see. In the very first instant, I was won over, and of course I was: I was fifteen and had been nowhere and done nothing, whereas Katherine was twenty-one and yellow-silk-clad and just married to the golden boy...Jane Seymour is a shy, dutiful fifteen-year-old when her eldest brother, Edward, brings his bride home to Wolf Hall. Katherine Filliol is the perfect match for Edward, as well as being a breath of fresh air for the Seymour family, and Jane is captivated by the older girl. Over the course of a long, hot country summer, the two become close friends and allies, while Edward is busy building alliances at court and advancing his career.However, only two years later, the family is torn apart by a dreadful allegation made by Edward against his wife. The repercussions for all the Seymours are incalculable, not least for Katherine herself. When Jane is sent away, to serve Katharine of Aragon, she is forced to witness another wife being put aside, with terrible consequences. Changed forever by what happened to Katherine Filliol, Jane comes to understand that in a world where power is held entirely by men, there is a way in which she can still hold true to herself.