William Woodruff - Vessel Of Sadness - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Vessel Of Sadness

By William Woodruff

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A terrifying true-life novel about the 1944 Anzio landings in the tradition of BAND OF BROTHERS.

Italy, 1944 - this is the setting of one of the most convincing and quietly magnificent stories about man and war that has ever been written. Here, (distilled from the experiences and observations of one who fought with them in the British infantry unit) is the mood of those who fought and died at Anzio. Their task - to seize the Alban Hills and then Rome forty miles away. Instead, for more than four months, they sank into the mud of the Anzio plain and fought for their lives. Nothing has appeared since Erich Maria Remarque's ALL QUIET ON THE WESTERN FRONT that can compare with this book's ability to penetrate the minds of men at war. There are no heroes, no heroines, no victories. This is a faceless, nameless, fragmented war. Even national differences - Britain, Italian, German, American - merge and are forgotten in this larger story of humanity. This story, in fact, does not need to be Anzio; it could be any battlefield where man has faced death.

Biographical Notes

From his birth in 1916 until he ran away to London, William Woodruff lived
in the heart of Blackburn's weaving community. He eventually went to Oxford
University and lived in Florida for over forty years. He died in 2008.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349118116
  • Publication date: 04 Nov 2004
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Abacus
It has the same gritty authenticity as THE ROAD TO NAB END — The DAILY MAIL
Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers
Little, Brown

The Old Man and the Knee

Christopher Matthew
Authors:
Christopher Matthew
Constable

Backing into the Spotlight

Michael Whitehall
Authors:
Michael Whitehall
Constable

Shabby

Emlyn Rees, Josie Lloyd
Authors:
Emlyn Rees, Josie Lloyd
Sphere

Beer Craft

Jon Finch
Authors:
Jon Finch

Fact: If you can make soup, you can make beautiful and delicious craft beer.Armed with this book, a stock pot and a mesh bag, you'll be drinking your own freshly crafted, hoppy aromatic beers in a matter of weeks. BEER CRAFT will teach you how to make awesome beer, mix tasty beer cocktails and rustle up mouth-watering food, as well as providing a guide to some of the best breweries the craft beer world has to offer.Brewing beer needn't be a complicated, drawn-out process involving a cupboard full of equipment straight out of a laboratory and ingredients you can only order from overseas! BEER CRAFT gives readers a simplified approach to the process, translating the necessary science into layman's terms and making the process fun, approachable and just a little bit rock and roll. A must-have buy for absolutely anyone who likes beer, not just the geeks.Welcome to your new favourite hobby.

Robinson

The Fish Book

Paul Peacock
Authors:
Paul Peacock
Robinson

Growing up Wild

Alexia Barrable, Duncan Barrable
Authors:
Alexia Barrable, Duncan Barrable
Running Press Adult

Batman: Metal Die-Cast Bat-Signal

Matthew K. Manning
Authors:
Matthew K. Manning
Robinson

Nicholas II, The Last Tsar

Michael Paterson
Authors:
Michael Paterson
Little, Brown

Travelling Light

Alastair Sawday
Authors:
Alastair Sawday

A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron and Eric Newby.'Lawrence Sterne once suggested that we travel for one of just three reasons: imbecility of mind, infirmity of body or inevitable necessity. One might add to Sterne's little list: envy, curiosity - or just too much bloody rain at home. Escape, in other words.' Campaigner, publisher and wanderer Alastair Sawday has spent his life travelling. En route he has unearthed a multitude of stories - stories of people ploughing their own furrows, of travellers' tales, stories from the 'front line' of his publishing , ruminations and reflections about places, people and ideas. In this deeply charming, erudite and spirited book, he shares his experiences and explores the value of travel.'The richer our imaginations, the richer our travel experience. We British do things one way and the Spaniards another; there are unlimited ways of doing everything. Kindness is found in unexpected places, as is eccentricity. Eccentrics are an endangered species and need as much protection as does the house sparrow.'Travelling Light is a gradual awakening to the fragility of everything we love through contemplative, consciously slow journeying. Every visit uncovers difference - from France profonde to the darker side of Sicily, and to the woodland, flora, fauna, views and silence of rural Britain. Alastair Sawday gives voice to those of us who have climbed no mountains, discovered no rivers, created no great institutions, powered no legislation, changed very little - but who yearn to understand the world and make sense of its infinite variety.

Black Dog & Leventhal

This is What a Librarian Looks Like

Kyle Cassidy
Authors:
Kyle Cassidy

In 2014, author and photographer Kyle Cassidy published a photo essay on Slate.com called "This is What A Librarian Looks Like," a montage of portraits and a tribute to librarians. Since then, Cassidy has made it his mission to remind us of how essential librarians and libraries are to our communities. His subjects are men and women of all ages, backgrounds, and personal style-from pink hair and leather jackets to button-downs and blazers. In short, notnecessarily what one thinks a librarian looks like. The nearly 220 librarians photographed also share their personal thoughts on what it means to be a librarian. This is What A Librarian Looks Like also includes original essay by some of our most beloved writers, journalists, and commentators including Neil Gaiman, George R.R. Martin, Nancy Pearl, Cory Doctorow, Paula Poundstone, Amanda Palmer, Peter Sagal, Jeff VanderMeer, John Scalzi, Sara Farizan, Amy Dickinson, and others. Cassidy also profiles a handful of especially influential librarians and libraries

ATOM

Missing

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong

Reeve's End is the kind of place every kid can't wait to escape. Each summer, a dozen kids leave and at least a quarter never come back. Winter Crane doesn't blame them - she plans to do the same in another year. She'll leave behind the trailer park, and never look back. All she has to do is stay out of trouble. But then she has a chance encounter with a boy called Lennon, injured and left for dead in the woods. Her discovery has Winter questioning everything she thought she knew about her sleepy town. And when Lennon vanishes and his brother Jude comes looking for him, things take a sinister turn. Someone wants Winter out of the picture. Can she trust Jude? Or will he deliver them both into the hands of a stalker?

Constable

Devil's Breath

G.M. Malliet
Authors:
G.M. Malliet

Even though Max's calling led him to become a vicar, his past life as a spy catches up with him . . .Max receives the call for help when the body of glamorous film star Margot Browne is washed ashore at Monkslip-super-Mare. George, his former boss in the secret service, tells Max a former colleague, Patrice Logan, has asked MI5 for help - particularly, Max's help.It's a perfect 'closed circle' murder since victim Margot must have been killed by one of the group of actors, stylists, scriptwriters and other hangers-on aboard the yacht they were cruising on. Patrice suspects the yacht's owner, a playboy film director she's been keeping tabs on for smuggling, but Max isn't so sure. Max and DCI Cotton interview the suspects as they lounge about on one of the luxury hotels dotting the waterfront. Tipped by the playboy director, Max uncovers the truth about the star's life and death. But would Margot kill - or be killed - to keep her lurid past firmly in the past?Praise for G.M. Malliet:'Rarely have I read descriptions that have left me gasping, in both their hilarity and their painful truth.' Louise Penny'G.M. Malliet has brought the village cosy into the twenty first century.' Charles Todd'There are certain things you want in a village mystery: a pretty setting, a tasteful murder, an appealing sleuth... Malliet delivers all that.' New York Times Book Review

Non-Duality Press

The Unfindable Inquiry

Scott Kiloby
Authors:
Scott Kiloby
Corsair

The Return of the Witch

Paula Brackston
Authors:
Paula Brackston

After five years in the Summerlands, Gideon has gained his freedom. Elizabeth knows he will go straight for Tegan, and that she must protect the girl she had come to regard as her own daughter. In the time since she the dramatic night in Batchcombe woods, Tegan has traveled the world learning from all manner of witches, and she is no longer the awkward teenager and novice spellcaster she once was. However, her skills are no match for Gideon's dark, vengeful power, and he succeeds in capturing her. Will Elizabeth be able to find her? Will they be able to defeat their nemesis once and for all?In a breathless journey that takes them through history, witch pursues warlock. Three people steeped in magic weave a new story, but not all will survive until the end.

Robinson

The Bacon Jam Cookbook

Eat 17
Authors:
Eat 17
Forever

Change of Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn
ATOM

Crushed

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard
ATOM

Deadly

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard
ATOM

Toxic

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard