Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Chemist

The Chemist

In this gripping page-turner, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life.

She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.

Now she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.

When her former handler offers her a way out, she realises it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires makes her situation even more dangerous.

Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.

In this tautly plotted novel, Stephenie Meyer creates a fierce and fascinating new heroine with a very specialised skill set. And she shows once again why she’s one of the world’s bestselling authors.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 8th November 2016

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781405537148

Reviews

The pages turn themselves
Washington Post
A high-octane thriller . . . a compulsive page turner
Red
Full-on from page one, this is a rip-roaring thriller in the best tradition
Glasgow Herald
Here, an exciting heroine (see: female Jason Bourne) knows too much, is a threat, and has one last chance to clear her name. Even more exciting than vampires, no?
Steph Opitz, Marie Claire
In the vein of David Baldacci or Lee Child . . . consistently fast-paced fun . . . a terrific ride
USA Today
It's nice to see a heroine whose greatest asset is her brain . . . [the] pages fly by
Entertainment Weekly
Meyer has dreamed up a fast-paced thriller, and a tough, mysterious heroine . . . fabulous
Observer
The Twilight mogul moves from blood-sucker romance to heart-stopping drama with a thriller about a kick-ass scientist and ex-government agent on the run.
Angela Ledgerwood, Cosmopolitan
Written in Meyer's trademark compulsive style and packed with action, mystery and intrigue . . . hugely enjoyable
Heat