Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Rosemary and Rue (Toby Daye Book 1)

Rosemary and Rue (Toby Daye Book 1)

The first instalment of the highly praised Toby Daye series.

The world of Faerie never disappeared; it merely went into hiding, continuing to exist parallel to our own. Secrecy is the key to Faerie’s survival: but no secret can be kept forever, and when the fae and mortal worlds collide, changelings are born.

Outsiders from birth, these children spend their lives fighting for the respect of their immortal relations. Or in the case of October ‘Toby’ Daye, rejecting the fae completely. Toby has retreated into a ‘normal’ life – spending her nights stocking shelves at a San Francisco grocery store and her days asleep in her downtown apartment.

But when Countess Evening Winterroseis murdered, Toby finds herself drawn abruptly back into the world she thought she’d left behind. It’s going to take everything she’s got just to stay alive, and the stakes are higher than anyone has guessed . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 2nd April 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472116352

Reviews

McGuire knows her fairy lore, bringing the wonder and the danger of the fair folk to the streets of San Francisco so vividly you can smell the rose goblins. Action, intrigue, and a dash of romance make Rosemary and Rue a fun, engaging read. An impressive first novel that leaves you impatient for the second.
- Jim Hines, author of The Mermaid's Madness
Well researched, sharply told, highly atmospheric and as brutal as any pulp detective tale, this promising start to a new urban fantasy series is sure to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher or Kim Harrison.
- Publishers Weekly
Rosemary and Rue is one of the most successful blends of mystery and fantasy I've ever read - like Raymond Chandler by way of Pamela Dean. Toby Daye has become one of my favourite heroines, and I can't wait to read more of her continuing adventures.
- Tim Pratt, author of Dead Reign