Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Hating Game: 'Warm, witty and wise' The Daily Mail

The Hating Game: 'Warm, witty and wise' The Daily Mail

‘The next Sophie Kinsella’ Bustle

*********

Nemesis (n.) 1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome. 2) A person’s undoing. 3) Joshua Templeman.

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman sit across from each other every day . . . and they hate each other.

Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. HATE. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight approach to his job and refusal to smile. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and desire to be liked.

Now they’re up for the same promotion and Lucy, usually a determined people-pleaser, has had enough: it’s time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it’s clear that the real battle has only just begun . . .

This bestselling, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is an unmissable, utterly loveable treat and is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella’s MY NOT SO PERFECT LIFE or Jo Watson’s LOVE TO HATE YOU.

*********

Reviews of The Hating Game:

‘Warm, witty and wise’ The Daily Mail

‘A brilliant, biting, hilarious new voice. THE HATING GAME will take the rom-com world by storm. One of the best I’ve read, ever’ Kristin Higgins, New York Times bestselling author

‘Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny’ The New York Times

‘A smart and funny modern romance’ Good Housekeeping

One of the most delectable rom-coms I’ve ever read’ Entertainment Weekly
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance

On Sale: 7th September 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780349414263

Reviews

The Hating Game was one of the funniest and romantic books I've read this year. I love a book that leaves me with a huge smile on my face and being sad to reach the end of the story. The Hating Game was definitely one of the best books I read this year with a truly funny, sweet and entertaining romance!
BookPushers
Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny . . . a vibrant take on an old standard.
The New York Times
Intense and full of heat, this debut's romantic chemistry is off the charts! As these opposites attract throughout the story, readers may want to have an alternate source of oxygen handy. Humour shares space with office drama, an easy ebb and flow of tension and relief. A witty writing voice combines with spot-on timing to make sure this novel is difficult to put down!
RT Book Reviews
As Lucy and Josh spend more time together outside of their office, we see how this relationship has hope. I want to keep reading so I can continue witnessing both of their transformations. From enemies to frenemies, to friends, to lovers. It's a ride filled with sarcasm and smack-downs that slowly becomes sprinkled with frosting.
Heroes and Heartbreakers First Look
The Hating Game is one of the most entertaining and clever workplace romance novels I've read in a long, long time. I think readers are bound to laugh at Lucy and Joshua's crazy antics and fall in love right along with them. Highly recommended.
Harlequin Junkie Top Pick Review
This is my favorite book I've read this summer. Debut novelist Sally Thorne positions herself as the next Sophie Kinsella in this sassy, sexy romance that brings new energy to the trite enemies-turned-lovers narrative.
Cristina Arreola, Bustle
A great debut novel. If you are looking for a fun, sweet enemies to lovers story, with two engaging, well developed main characters and delightful dialogue, don't hesitate and pick this one up!
Steamy Reads (5 Star Review)
Hating someone feels disturbingly similar to being in love,' says Lucy Hutton, who can't stand fellow executive assistant Joshua. There's only one place this could go...but it's good fun getting there.
People Magazine
With the utterly delightful The Hating Game Sally Thorne satisfies hearts longing for laughter in their love stories....Their battle of wits is tremendously fun - acerbic and sexy and filled with tension. The result is a wicked, witty romance that will capture readers' hearts long before Joshua manages to capture Lucy's.
Sarah MacLean, The Washington Post
[A] charming debut... it's warm, witty and wise, and I rooted for Lucy right from the start
Daily Mail
Some of you might have traveled to the beach for the sole purpose of escaping the office, but we think this funny and romantic workplace comedy just might change your mind.... we know you'll find their story entertaining and sexy.
Bookish
I was delighted by this book. Delighted by the ins and outs of the publishing world, delighted with the dialogue between them, delighted by the wit that Lucy demonstrates in her inner monologues. Just flat out delighted. I have not enjoyed a workplace romance this much since the early seasons of Jim and Pam on the American version of THE OFFICE. The characters are vibrant and believable and I am anxious to read more from Ms. Thorne as soon as she can write it.
Fresh Fiction
Read it for the hilarious banter, the romantic build-up and the drama that shows that there's more than a little substance to this novel
W24
The Hating Game is an absolutely charming office romance story between opposites. This is absolutely a romance complete with great banter, email exchanges, and even a few steamy scenes.
Jane Litte, Dear Author
I finished The Hating Game and immediately emailed my editor, sister, mom, and hairdresser to tell them about it...The Hating Game is quirky, funny, romantic, delightful, and most of all, charming. If you like any (or all) of those things in a romance novel, shuffle your TBR queue and move this one to the top. I think you'll love it too.
All About Romance Desert Island Keeper
This book might be receiving a lot of attention and the reason is, it's pretty wonderful. I can't go back to my copy for quotes for this review because I end up reading it again and I already lost too much time and sleep trying to make myself stop reading it.
Smart Bitches, Trashy Books
Lucy hates Joshua Templeton, her uptight nemesis who sits across from her at work all day. When a promotion is up for grabs, the games begin in full force in this fun, sexy romcom.
POPSugar
A smart and funny modern romance
Good Housekeeping
If your reading catnip includes dialogue that crackles, cranky heroes with hidden depths, and vivid, self-assured heroines who take exactly zero crap from said hero, find yourself a copy of this book immediately.
Sarah Wendell, Smart Bitches
Debut novelist Thorne delivers something nearly impossible: an entirely predictable plot that is also completely fresh, original, and utterly charming. From the opening page, readers will know the outcome of Lucy and Joshua's relationship, but what happens in between is magic. From Lucy's hilarious inner dialogue to Joshua's sharp retorts, the chemistry between them is irresistibly adorable-and smokin' hot. A breezy tale perfect for a day at the beach, this one's a real winner.
Kirkus
Thorne is a strong writer and one to watch. Her debut will have readers rooting for both Lucy and Joshua in whatever games they play.
Library Journal