We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780356518657

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 25th August 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy / Fantasy Romance

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I’ve read before. . . an absolutely stunning story’ Lana Harper, author of Payback’s a Witch

The Princess Bride
meets You’ve Got Mail in this enchantingly quirky, completely refreshing fantasy with a rom-com-worthy premise, perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea and The Invisible Library.

Hart is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the magical wilds of Tanria. It’s an unforgiving job, and Hart’s got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness.

Mercy never has a moment to herself. She’s been single-handedly keeping Birdsall & Son Undertakers afloat in defiance of sullen jerks like Hart, who seems to have a gift for showing up right when her patience is thinnest.

After yet another exasperating run-in with Mercy, Hart finds himself penning a letter addressed simply to “A Friend”. Much to his surprise, an anonymous letter comes back in return, and a tentative friendship is born.

If only Hart knew he’s been baring his soul to the person who infuriates him most – Mercy. As the dangers from Tanria grow closer, so do the unlikely correspondents. But can their blossoming romance survive the fated discovery that their pen pals are their worst nightmares – each other?

Set in a world equally full of magic and demigods as it is donuts and small-town drama, this utterly unique fantasy is sure to sweep you off your feet.

Praise for The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy:

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy broke my heart, put it back together, then tucked me into bed with a forehead kiss. Packed with earnest characters, wit, action, and reluctant yearning, this is easily my favourite fantasy romance of the year’ Jen DeLuca, author of Well Met

‘A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient

‘Megan Bannen remains the queen of swoons upon swoons upon swoons! The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a playful, quirky gem-full of feels and guaranteed to deliver the perfect grumpy/sunshine fix!’ Sierra Simone

‘An unabashedly offbeat adventure’ Freya Marske, author of A Marvellous Light

‘A lovely, macabre fantasy romance about life, death, and Actually Living. I cried twice and smiled plenty’ Olivia Atwater, author of Half a Soul

‘Megan Bannen broke me, made me laugh, then put me back together again. . . The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is one of those books you’ll be thinking about long after you’ve read the last page’ Manda Collins

‘A truly outstanding romantic fantasy’ India Holton, author of The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and entirely moreish!‘ Davinia Evans, author of Notorious Sorcerer

‘I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading’ Ruby Dixon, author of Ice Planet Barbarians

‘Warm, compassionate and compelling’ Vivian Shaw, author of Strange Practice

Reviews

Warm, compassionate and compelling
Vivian Shaw, author of STRANGE PRACTICE
Megan Bannen broke me, made me laugh, then put me back together again. . . The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is one of those books you'll be thinking about long after you've read the last page
Manda Collins
Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I've read before. . . an absolutely stunning story
Lana Harper, author of PAYBACK'S A WITCH
This book is a gooey (and hot!) romance immersed in a tasty layer of quirky fantasy, like some decadent chocolate treat. A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and entirely moreish! I delighted in every lived-in detail of the vibrant world, and relaxed into Bannon's confident wielding of romance beats that made me laugh, cry and exult in true victory. She played my emotions like a harp, and it was beautiful
Davinia Evans, author of NOTORIOUS SORCERER
Megan Bannen remains the queen of swoons upon swoons upon swoons! The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a playful, quirky gem-full of feels and guaranteed to deliver the perfect grumpy/sunshine fix!
Sierra Simone
With its wonderfully unique setting, lovable characters, and engaging mix of humour and spice, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a truly outstanding romantic fantasy. I loved both its kookiness and its deep authenticity. An instant favourite!
India Holton, author of THE WISTERIA SOCIETY OF LADY SCOUNDRELS
The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy broke my heart, put it back together, then tucked me into bed with a forehead kiss. Packed with earnest characters, wit, action, and reluctant yearning, this is easily my favourite fantasy romance of the year
Jen DeLuca, author of WELL MET
If Lewis Carroll and Nora Ephron teamed up to write a magical Western, this would be the result. An unabashedly offbeat adventure full of dead gods and mostly-dead zombies, family drama, swoon-worthy love letters, and a Very Good Dog, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy oozes romantic fun like a corpse oozes dubious fluids.
Freya Marske, author of A MARVELLOUS LIGHT
A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over. If you ever wished for an adult romance that felt like Howl's Moving Castle, THIS IS THAT BOOK
Helen Hoang, author of THE KISS QUOTIENT
A lovely, macabre fantasy romance about life, death, and Actually Living. I cried twice and smiled plenty
Olivia Atwater, author of HALF A SOUL
Perfect for readers who love enemies-to-lovers mashed up with a touch of secret penpal romance. I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading
Ruby Dixon, author of ICE PLANET BARBARIANS