Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Heroes Die

Heroes Die

Two worlds. One killer.

Renowned throughout the land of Ankhana, the assassin Caine has killed his share of monarchs and commoners, villains and heroes. He is relentless, unstoppable, the best at what he does.

At home in the real world, Caine is Hari Michaelson, a superstar whose adventures in Ankhana command an audience of billions. Yet he’s shackled by a rigid caste society, bound to ignore the grim fact that he kills men on a far-off world for the entertainment of his own planet.

But now Michaelson has crossed the line. His estranged wife has disappeared in the slums of Ankhana. To save her, he must confront the greatest challenge of his life: a lethal game of cat and mouse with the most treacherous rulers of two worlds.

Welcome to the world of Caine: Assassin. Hero. Superstar . . .

From a New York Times bestselling author comes the start of a gritty action fantasy series like no other – perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie, Brent Weeks, Mark Lawrence and the Assassin’s Creed novels.

‘A gritty, bloody, deeply touching work of genius’ – Scott Lynch

‘Hands down one of the most bad-ass, brutal – and brilliant – fantasy series of the last double-decade. You know this if you’re already reading it. If you’re not already reading it, then good lord, it’s time you found out – John Scalzi

‘If you like really really gritty, dark fantasy like George RR Martin, Richard Morgan (Takashi Kovaks books) or ESPECIALLY Joe Abercrombie, you should get this book’ – Felicia Day
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 27th May 2013

Price: £2.99

ISBN-13: 9781405525640

Reviews

A masterpiece of the genre . . . Heroes Die is a novel that you won't regret reading and will leave you salivating for the next installment in the series, Blade of Tyshalle
FANTASY BOOK CRITIC
A heaping plate of kickass kickassery with a side of kickass sauce . . . Caine himself was a perfect anti-hero: tough, smart and ready to take part in a series of truly excellent action sequences, set in a world that's half science fiction, half fantasy and all brilliantly conceived and pulled off
John Scalzi
An explosive and action-packed novel which explores its premise and characters intelligently, develops the plot and themes with skill and then finishes on a high
WERTZONE
A gritty, bloody, deeply touching work of genius
Scott Lynch
Marvelous . . . Day of the Jackal meets Lord of the Rings
Simon R. Green
THIS WAS FANTASTIC! . . . If you like really really gritty, dark fantasy like George RR Martin, Richard Morgan (Takashi Kovaks books) or ESPECIALLY Joe Abercrombie, you should get this book
Felicia Day