Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Emergency Contact

Emergency Contact

‘Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book’ – Rainbow Rowell

——————————————

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory – perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.


For Penny Lee high school was a total non-event. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a million light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his bank account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch – via text – and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / General Fiction (children's

On Sale: 7th November 2019

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780349003467

Reviews

Blushingly tender and piquant . . . Choi inserts timely issues like sexual assault, cultural appropriation and even DACA into her characters' intimate conversations, but it is her examination of digital vs. F2F communication that feels the most immediate
The New York Times Book Review
Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.
Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fangirl
A tender, texting-based teen romance
Entertainment Weekly
Choi sensitively shows the evolution of two lonely, complicated people who slowly emerge from their shells to risk an intimate relationship. Her sharp wit and skillful character development . . . ensure that readers will feel that they know Penny and Sam inside and out before the gratifying conclusion.
Publisher's Weekly - starred review
Choi creates an up-to-date and realistic contemporary romance by upending the love story trope . . . A highly recommended purchase for the teens who enjoy realistic relationship fiction. Recommended for fans of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything and Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park.
School Library Journal - starred review February 1, 2018
Readers will swoon over Emergency Contact. Choi has a knack for creating relatable characters, and this quirky, socially awkward love story will keep your cheeks rosy with every page . . . Emergency Contact is the perfect book for those who root for the underdog and believe that broken people can heal together.
RT Book Reviews March 1, 2018
Penny somehow broke down all my walls. Her tech became incidental and her voice endearing, and just like that, I was hooked. Even the texts feel very natural and elegantly woven into the narration.There is much more to both Sam and Penny than quirky character traits and witty repartee . . . While the story does traffic in the heart flutter of romance that is tantalizingly out of reach, its emotional core goes deep.
NPR