Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Colours

The Colours

Ellen sees the world differently from everyone else, but living in a tiny town in the north-east of England, in a world on the cusp of war, no one has time for an orphaned girl who seems a little strange. When she is taken in to look after an rich, elderly widow all seems to be going better, despite the musty curtains and her aging employer completely out of touch with the world. But pregnancy out of wedlock spoils all this, and Ellen is unable to cope. How will Jack, her son, survive – alone in the world as his mother was? Can they eventually find their way back to each other?

The Colours is a sweeping novel of how we can lose ourselves, and our loved ones, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Virginia Baily.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 4th April 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9780708899380