Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Meet Me in Bombay

Meet Me in Bombay

THE BRAND NEW NOVEL FROM BESTSELLER JENNY ASHCROFT

‘Moving and beautifully written, this enchanting story of love and loss touched my heart’
DINAH JEFFERIES

‘Emotional, evocative and enthralling’
KATE FURNIVALL

‘Meet Me in Bombay is brilliantly plotted, exquisitely written, poignant and perfect’
IONA GREY

****

United by love. Separated by war. Will they find their way back to each other?

Bombay, 1913

It’s New Year’s Eve, and Madeline Bright, fresh to the exotic opulence of colonial India, is yearning for all she’s left behind in England. But then, at the stroke of midnight, Maddy meets Luke Devereaux, and as the year changes so do their lives – forever…

Bold and charismatic, Luke opens her eyes to the wonders of Bombay, while Maddy’s beauty and vivacity captures his heart. Only her mother disapproves, preferring the devoted Guy Bowen as a match for her daughter.

But while Maddy and Luke are falling in love, the world is falling apart. War is on the horizon, and soon it’s a question of when Luke will be called to fight, not if. They’ll be continents apart, separated by danger and devastating loss, but bound by Luke’s promise that they will meet again in Bombay…

Meet Me in Bombay is a story of fierce love set against the exotic and colourful world of colonial Bombay and the tragedy of the First World War.
Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley, Kate Furnivall and Lucy Foley.

Praise for Jenny Ashcroft:

‘Beautifully described . . . a moving love story.’ Tracy Rees
‘An evocative, absorbing story… A rich and satisfying read..’ Gill Paul
‘This lushly detailed debut is a summer-must read.’ Red
‘Impossible to put this book down.’ Kate Riordan
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 26th November 2019

Price: £13.99

ISBN-13: 9780751573213

Reviews

With two heart-breaking stories that interwove in such a way that I was rooting for the main characters right through, beautiful descriptions of Singapore (and two lovely sexy heroes!), I loved Island in the East. A fabulous book.
Tracy Rees
Absolutely brilliant
Kerry Fisher, author of After the Lie, on BENEATH A BURNING SKY
Impossible to put down.
Kate Riordan on ISLAND IN THE EAST
I loved Island in the East. A fabulous book.
Tracy Rees, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
An evocative, absorbing story... A rich and satisfying read.
Gill Paul, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling.
Kate Furnivall, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric. I could practically feel the sweat prickling on my skin
Rachel Rhys, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
Historical fiction at its atmospheric best
Sarra Manning, Red Magazine on ISLAND IN THE EAST
Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be, heartfelt and heart-breaking, utterly compulsive and completely immersive
Nicola Cornick, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
A great read, with a complex and involving plot, appealing characters and two touching love stories.
Judith Lennox, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
Evocative, lush and beautifully written... I couldn't put it down.
Nikola Scott, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
Meet Me in Bombay is brilliantly plotted, exquisitely written, poignant and perfect. I finished the book with tears rolling down my cheeks, and it will stay with me for a long time. I'm sure it will enchant readers far and wide
Iona Grey
One of those rare and wonderful books that truly draws you into another place and time, word perfect, pitch perfect, detail perfect... Anyone who truly loves historical fiction should run to buy a copy of Meet Me in Bombay today.
Lauren Willig, New York Times Bestselling Author
Gorgeous writing, lush setting, and three-dimensional characters that make up the rare unputdownable novel... Meet Me in Bombay is the kind of book that will give readers a book hangover long after they've turned the last page, leaving them aching for more.
Karen White, New York Times Bestselling Author
I loved everything about Meet Me in Bombay, from its profound sense of time and place to its vivid characters and lyrical voice, taking the reader on an exhilarating journey from colonial India to the battlefields of the First World War to the intricate workings of memory. This is a novel both epic and intimate, in which grand historical forces are played out on the territory of the human heart. Ashcroft delivers a stunning story that echoes long after you turn the final page.
Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of The Golden Hour
From the first intriguing chapter I was hooked. I felt as if I was there in the sparkling night-time scenes, or breathing in the heady scents of the market, avoiding the pungent alleyways, and feeling the heat of Bombay, a heat that catches in your throat. Moving and beautifully written, this enchanting story of love and loss touched my heart.
Dinah Jefferies
My heart! This book was sumptuous and hooked me from the first page. I fell in love with Luke and loved sprightly Maddy. The location was beautifully exotic and the storyline just compelling. I loved it. So perfectly written.
Lorna Cook