Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Meet Me in Bombay

Meet Me in Bombay

THE BRAND NEW NOVEL FROM BESTSELLER JENNY ASHCROFT

‘Emotional, evocative and enthralling’
KATE FURNIVALL

‘Exotic and mysterious. I was gripped’
DINAH JEFFERIES

‘Meet Me in Bombay is brilliantly plotted, exquisitely written, poignant and perfect’
IONA GREY

****

United by love. Separated by war. Will they find their way back to each other?

Bombay, 1913

It’s New Year’s Eve, and Madeline Bright, fresh to the exotic opulence of colonial India, is yearning for all she’s left behind in England. But then, at the stroke of midnight, Maddy meets Luke Devereaux, and as the year changes so do their lives – forever…

Bold and charismatic, Luke opens her eyes to the wonders of Bombay, while Maddy’s beauty and vivacity captures his heart. Only her mother disapproves, preferring the devoted Guy Bowen as a match for her daughter.

But while Maddy and Luke are falling in love, the world is falling apart. War is on the horizon, and soon it’s a question of when Luke will be called to fight, not if. They’ll be continents apart, separated by danger and devastating loss, but bound by Luke’s promise that they will meet again in Bombay…

Meet Me in Bombay is a story of fierce love set against the exotic and colourful world of colonial Bombay and the tragedy of the First World War.
Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley, Kate Furnivall and Lucy Foley.

Praise for Jenny Ashcroft:


‘Beautifully described . . . a moving love story.’ Tracy Rees
‘An evocative, absorbing story… A rich and satisfying read..’ Gill Paul
‘This lushly detailed debut is a summer-must read.’ Red
‘Impossible to put this book down.’ Kate Riordan
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 26th November 2019

Price: £13.99

ISBN-13: 9780751573206

Reviews

A great read, with a complex and involving plot, appealing characters and two touching love stories. Ashcroft's portrait of wartime Singapore is evocative, and the island's fall in 1942 is powerfully conveyed.
Judith Lennox, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
An evocative, absorbing story about a fascinating period of history. The dual narrative is perfectly balanced, making it a rich and satisfying read.
Gill Paul, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
With two heart-breaking stories that interwove in such a way that I was rooting for the main characters right through, beautiful descriptions of Singapore (and two lovely sexy heroes!), I loved Island in the East. A fabulous book.
Tracy Rees, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be, heartfelt and heart-breaking, utterly compulsive and completely immersive . . . will stay with readers for a very long time and deservedly so. I haven't read a historical novel this good in a long time.
Nicola Cornick, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
Jenny Ashcroft's Island in the East is that rare thing: a dual narrative novel in which both strands of the story are as engaging and compelling as each other. The Singapore of the two different eras is a character in itself, and so deftly drawn that the heat and humidity seem to rise from every page. As the twin threats of invasion and social exclusion close in on Harriet, Mae and Ivy, it becomes impossible to put this book down.
Kate Riordan on ISLAND IN THE EAST
Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read. Romance, mysterious secrets surfacing from the past and strong women that will have you rooting for them until the last page is turned - I couldn't put it down.
Nikola Scott, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
A disturbing and utterly fascinating tale in the vivid setting of Singapore, where emotions are raw and characters are pushed to the edge. I was swept away by the deeply moving love story and by the dark twisting shivering secrets behind it. The stifling sense of threat and heat gripped me and didn't let go. Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling.
Kate Furnivall, on ISLAND IN THE EAST
Meet Me in Bombay is brilliantly plotted, exquisitely written, poignant and perfect. I finished the book with tears rolling down my cheeks, and it will stay with me for a long time. I'm sure it will enchant readers far and wide
Iona Grey
Historical fiction at its atmospheric best
Sarra Manning, Red Magazine on ISLAND IN THE EAST
A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric. I could practically feel the sweat prickling on my skin
Rachel Rhys, on ISLAND IN THE EAST