Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Island in the East

Island in the East

***THE EBOOK BESTSELLER***
Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop and Lucy Foley.

Two great loves. One shattering betrayal.
A war that changes everything.

**************

Island in the East is a stunner’ Kate Furnivall
‘Exotic and mysterious – I was gripped’ Dinah Jefferies
‘A moving, stirring love story’ Rachel Rhys
‘Evocative, absorbing. . . A rich and satisfying read’ Gill Paul
‘It becomes impossible to put this book down’ Kate Riordan

**************

Singapore, 1897
Harriet and Mae Grafton are twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair. They grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences.

1941
Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae’s past, an unstoppable love affair and a shattering secret that’s been waiting to be uncovered . . .

Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful – with a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama – Island in the East is romantic historical fiction at its very best.

More praise for Jenny Ashcroft:


‘Beautifully described . . . A moving love story’ Tracy Rees
‘A great read.’ Judith Lennox
‘A summer must-read’ Red
‘Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale’ My Weekly
‘Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be.’ Nicola Cornick
‘Absolutely brilliant’ Kerry Fisher
‘Completely entrancing . . . Perfect escapism, beautifully written.’ Emma Rous
‘Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read.’ Nikola Scott
‘First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots’ Tracy Buchanan
‘Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable’ Iona Grey
‘A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end’ Rachel Burton
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance / Historical Romance

On Sale: 2nd November 2017

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780751565072

Reviews

Completely entrancing - the humidity and social tensions of a bygone Singapore rise from every page. Perfect escapism, beautifully written
Emma Rous
With two heart-breaking stories that interwove in such a way that I was rooting for the main characters right through, beautiful descriptions of Singapore (and two lovely sexy heroes!), I loved Island in the East. A fabulous book.
Tracy Rees
Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be, heartfelt and heart-breaking, utterly compulsive and completely immersive . . . will stay with readers for a very long time and deservedly so. I haven't read a historical novel this good in a long time.
Nicola Cornick, bestselling author of House of Shadows
Exotic and mysterious. I was gripped
Dinah Jefferies on BENEATH A BURNING SKY
A wonderful novel, full of mystery . . . If you love historical fiction with a touch of epic romance, if you loved Beneath a Burning Sky then read Island in the East as soon as you can. Oh, whoever you are and whatever you like reading give this one a go. You won't regret it!
Rachel Burton, author of The Many Colours of Us
A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric. I could practically feel the sweat prickling on my skin
Tammy Cohen writing as Rachel Rhys
Absolutely brilliant
Kerry Fisher, author of After the Lie, on BENEATH A BURNING SKY
Historical fiction at its atmospheric best
Sarra Manning, Red Magazine
Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale
My Weekly
A disturbing and utterly fascinating tale in the vivid setting of Singapore, where emotions are raw and characters are pushed to the edge. I was swept away by the deeply moving love story and by the dark twisting shivering secrets behind it. The stifling sense of threat and heat gripped me and didn't let go. Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling.
Kate Furnivall
An incredibly special, unforgettable book. It's magnificent.
Iona Grey
An evocative, absorbing story about a fascinating period of history. The dual narrative is perfectly balanced, making it a rich and satisfying read.
Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife
Jenny Ashcroft's Island in the East is that rare thing: a dual narrative novel in which both strands of the story are as engaging and compelling as each other. The Singapore of the two different eras is a character in itself, and so deftly drawn that the heat and humidity seem to rise from every page. As the twin threats of invasion and social exclusion close in on Harriet, Mae and Ivy, it becomes impossible to put this book down.
Kate Riordan
Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read. Romance, mysterious secrets surfacing from the past and strong women that will have you rooting for them until the last page is turned - I couldn't put it down.
Nikola Scott, author of My Mother's Shadow
A great read, with a complex and involving plot, appealing characters and two touching love stories. Ashcroft's portrait of wartime Singapore is evocative, and the island's fall in 1942 is powerfully conveyed.
Judith Lennox, on Island in the East