Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Lazarus War: Artefact

The Lazarus War: Artefact

Artefact is book one of the Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series of elite space marines, thrilling space battles and competing galactic empires – a stunning debut from a bright new star in science fiction.

Mankind has spread to the stars, only to become locked in warfare with an insidious alien race. All that stands against the alien menace are the soldiers of the Simulant Operation Programme, an elite military team remotely operating avatars in the most dangerous theatres of war.

Captain Conrad Harris has died hundreds of times – running suicide missions in simulant bodies. Known as Lazarus, he is a man addicted to death. So when a secret research station deep in alien territory suddenly goes dark, there is no other man who could possibly lead a rescue mission.

But Harris hasn’t been trained for what he’s about to find. And this time, he may not be coming back…

‘Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction’
William C. Dietz

‘An adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF’ Stephen Deas

‘Gripping, gritty and unsentimental – Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be’ Michael Cobley

‘Alien biomechs . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff’ Neal Asher
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 24th March 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780356505459

Reviews

A ripping yarn . . . a wholly unique adventure
WEEKEND SPORT
Debut author Sawyer digs into the psychic damage simulant operators like Harris suffer from by dying repeatedly . . . For fans of Robert Heinlein, John Scalzi, and Joe Haldeman
LIBRARY JOURNAL
A highly promising science fiction debut - a fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core that kept me turning the pages
Gary Gibson, author of STEALING LIGHT
The Lazarus War: Artefact is an outstanding novel . . . fresh and exciting and gripping . . . I eagerly look forward to the next installment. I think I'd follow Conrad "Lazarus" Harris anywhere
FORBIDDEN PLANET INTERNATIONAL
A ripping yarn . . . a wholly unique adventure
WEEKEND SPORT
One of the absolute best new military science fiction books I've read recently. HIGHLY recommended if you want an action packed SF book you won't put down!
BEST SCIENCE FICTION BOOKS
One of the absolute best new military science fiction books I've read recently. HIGHLY recommended if you want an action packed SF book you won't put down!
BEST SCIENCE FICTION BOOKS
Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction
William C. Dietz, author of the Legion novels and HALO tie-in novels
Artefact is an adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF packed with cinematic action sequences and tightly drawn characters. I look forward returning to the company of hardman Conrad Harris and his motley crew of simulants and soldiers time and again
Stephen Deas, author of THE ADAMANTINE PALACE
Artefact is a gripping read that moves at warp speed
Jack Campbell, author of THE LOST FLEET novels
Artefact is an adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF packed with cinematic action sequences and tightly drawn characters. I look forward returning to the company of hardman Conrad Harris and his motley crew of simulants and soldiers time and again
Stephen Deas, author of THE ADAMANTINE PALACE
Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be
Michael Cobley, author of the Humanity's Fire series
Debut author Sawyer digs into the psychic damage simulant operators like Harris suffer from by dying repeatedly . . . For fans of Robert Heinlein, John Scalzi, and Joe Haldeman
LIBRARY JOURNAL
A hostile race of alien biomechs somewhat in the mould of H R Giger aliens . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles... And then there are the uber-human super-soldiers clad in powered armour and wielding plasma weapons... Is that enough for you? . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff. Recommended.
Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels
An entertaining slice of retro sci-fi adventure
SFX
Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction
William C. Dietz, author of the Legion novels and HALO tie-in novels
Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be
Michael Cobley, author of the Humanity's Fire series
An entertaining slice of retro sci-fi adventure
SFX
Jamie Sawyer is easily one of the best military SF writers working today. His books are a must read for anyone who grew up watching Aliens and reading 2000AD
Gavin Smith, author of THE BASTARD LEGION
A hostile race of alien biomechs somewhat in the mould of H R Giger aliens . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles... And then there are the uber-human super-soldiers clad in powered armour and wielding plasma weapons... Is that enough for you? . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff. Recommended
Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels
Artefact is a gripping read that moves at warp speed
Jack Campbell, author of THE LOST FLEET novels
A highly promising science fiction debut - a fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core that kept me turning the pages
Gary Gibson, author of STEALING LIGHT
The Lazarus War: Artefact is an outstanding novel . . . fresh and exciting and gripping . . . I eagerly look forward to the next installment. I think I'd follow Conrad "Lazarus" Harris anywhere.
FORBIDDEN PLANET INTERNATIONAL