Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Mechanical

The Mechanical

My name is Jax.

That is the name granted to me by my human masters.

I am a slave.

But I shall be free.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.

PRAISE FOR IAN TREGILLIS

‘A major new talent’ GEORGE R. R. MARTIN

‘Tremendous’ Cory Doctorow

‘Addictively brilliant’ i09

‘Exciting and intense’ Publishers Weekly

‘Eloquent and utterly compelling’ Kirkus


Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 12th March 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780356502328

Reviews

A multi-layered literary confection . . . tight and well constructed, and an absolute pleasure to read . . . absolutely fascinating, and unapologetically clever
Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reviews
Tregillis launches a series with this superb alternate history filled with clockwork men and ethical questions on the nature of free will . . . Tregillis's complex setting is elegantly delivered, and the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar
Publishers Weekly
The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: "Wow." The second thing will probably be: "When can I read the next one? . . . This is a rousing SF/fantasy adventure, with a brilliantly imagined and beautifully rendered alternate world
BOOKLIST
Tregillis presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series
Library Journal
With The Mechanical Tregillis displays the craftsmanship and precision of a master clockmaker . . . [He] skilfully portrays characters that are as compelling and sympathetic as they are flawed and conflicted . . . I would recommend The Mechanical to any reader with an interest in well-written and engaging fantasy story set in an elegantly constructed alternate history
SFFworld
A hugely entertaining novel
SFX
His characters are as convincing as ever, the plotting is beautifully articulated . . . readers with an interest in dark, intelligent fantasy will find much to admire here
KIRKUS
In the tradition of Isaac Asimov, Tregillis's latest novel combines classic robotics with historical fiction to riveting ends . . . The story manages to posit broad questions, such as how one defines humanity and free will, without coming across as sanctimonious or treacly. It's also just plain exciting, with intense fight scenes and exhilarating narrow escapes. Readers will no doubt be rooting for the 'rogue' robots.
RT Book Reviews
Tregillis never fails to impress, and his writing and stories seem to be getting better with each novel. This book is truly unlike anything I've ever read before, and it's my favorite work of his to date. I can't wait to see what the next installment in The Alchemy Wars will bring.
BIBLIOSANCTUM
One of the sharpest, most intelligent, hugely compelling works I've read this year, and I cannot wait to see where Tregillis takes this series next
Forbidden Planet International
The Mechanical is as intricate and exquisite as the clockwork wonders it brings to life
NPR
A fascinating world
ScifiNow