Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

We Shall Remember

We Shall Remember

Set against the Second World War, this is a powerful and well-written wartime drama that asks the question, what would you do under fire? Perfect for fans of Annie Groves and Lily Baxter.

‘A touching, thought-provoking saga’ Lancashire Guardian

1939. Irena is a young medical student living in Warsaw when the German army invade Poland. Those closest to her are dying and when Irena realises that no one is coming to Poland’s aid, it’s clear that she is alone. Forced to flee to Britain, Irena meets Richard, a RAF pilot who she’s instantly drawn to and there’s a glimmer of happiness on the horizon. And then the war becomes more brutal and in order to right a never-forgotten wrong Irena must make an impossible decision.

1989. Decades later, Sarah’s mother is left a home in Skye and another in Edinburgh following the death of Lord Glendale, a man she’s never met, and only on the condition that Magdalena Drobnik, a woman she’s never heard of, is no longer alive. Sarah’s only clues to this mystery are two photographs she doesn’t understand but she’s determined to discover the truth, not knowing that she’s about to begin a journey that will change her life.

Gripping, poignant and honest, We Shall Remember is an incredibly powerful story about the choices we make under fire. It will stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 23rd October 2014

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9780751551228

Reviews

Based on true events. This is first rate
Lovereading
Fans of Lily Baxter and other saga authors will enjoy
The Bookseller
A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss . . . a great, insightful read
Novelicious
A touching, thought-provoking saga
Lancaster Guardian