Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Shipbuilder's Daughter

The Shipbuilder's Daughter

‘An epic tale of one woman’s determination to follow her dreams’ People’s Friend

Set in 1920s Scotland, this beautifully written and satisfying saga follows the fate of a shipyard owner’s daughter as she is faced with an impossible decision . . . Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Rita Bradshaw and Nadine Dorries.

5-star reader reviews for The Shipbuilder’s Daughter
Beautifully written with a great deal of empathy, very satisfying plot. Lovely mix of old Glasgow and the western Isles’

‘A definite must-buy’

‘A lovely read’

‘Fabulous reading’

Glasgow, 1928. Margaret Bannatyne lost both of her brothers in the Great War and is now the last remaining child of wealthy and powerful shipyard owner William Bannatyne. Without a male heir to carry on the family business, William expects his daughter to do her duty, marry well and provide him with a grandson to inherit his business.

Margaret cares deeply for her father but she has ambitions of her own: after witnessing a horrific accident when she was sixteen, she’s determined to become a doctor. Her father, convinced she will never practise medicine, permits Margaret to complete her training. But he doesn’t count on her falling in love with Alasdair Morrison.

Alasdair, a union man at the shipyard, has been a thorn in William’s side for years, and he didn’t become one of the richest men in Glasgow only for Alasdair to take it all away – even if it means destroying his only daughter’s happiness by forcing her to make a heartbreaking and impossible choice . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 20th April 2017

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9780751566086

Reviews

A touching, thought-provoking saga
Lancaster Guardian on WE SHALL REMEMBER
This is first rate
Lovereading on WE SHALL REMEMBER
A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss . . . a great, insightful read
Novelicious on WE SHALL REMEMBER
Fans of Lily Baxter and other saga authors will enjoy
The Bookseller on WE SHALL REMEMBER
An epic tale of one woman's determination to follow her dreams
People's Friend