We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘This book took hold of me and wouldn’t let me go until I turned the final page’ BETH O’LEARY

Funny, tender and uplifting’ BBC RADIO 4

‘Beautifully written and thought-provoking’ KATIE FFORDE

‘This is one of those books you just want to gulp down in one’
GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

__________________________________________

When Amy Ashton’s world fell apart eleven years ago, she started a collection.

Just a few keepsakes of happier times: some honeysuckle to remind herself of the boy she loved, a chipped china bird, an old terracotta pot . . . Things that others might throw away, but to Amy, represent a life that could have been.

Now her house is overflowing with the objects she loves – soon there’ll be no room for Amy at all. But when a family move in next door, a chance discovery unearths a mystery, and Amy’s carefully curated life begins to unravel. If she can find the courage to face her past, might the future she thought she’d lost still be hers for the taking?

Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant and The Keeper of Lost Things, this exquisitely told, uplifting novel shows us that however hopeless things might feel, beauty can be found in the most unexpected of places
__________________________________________

Everyone is talking about Eleanor Ray:

‘Like the objects Amy collects, this novel is a treasure all of its own’ Woman

‘A joy to read, and very beautiful indeed’ Lisa Dickenson, author of The Twelve Dates of Christmas

‘A total treat of a read – warm, enchanting and intriguing, with an unforgettable protagonist at its heart’ Holly Miller, author of The Sight of You

There’s an intriguing mystery at the heart of this emotional but uplifting debut novel’ Sunday Express

‘Beautifully written and full of compassion, kindness and hope’ Irish Independent

‘A gorgeous, warm hug of a novel’ Sinead Moriarty

‘A tonic for the soul’ Lesley Kara, author of The Rumour

‘Charming and thrilling, romantic and gripping’ Claire Kendal, author of The Book of You

‘Eleanor Ray has perfectly captured how it feels to not quite fit in’ M W Craven, author of The Puppet Show

‘Amy’s vulnerability and loneliness reminded me of one of my all time favourite characters – Eleanor Oliphant. A wonderful celebration of the power of kindness’ Hannah Tovey, author of The Education of Ivy Edwards

‘Heart-warming and thought-provoking, a mystery with a difference. It’s beautifully constructed around the everyday items its central character hoards, as she slowly uncovers the secrets of her past. I loved it.’ Andrea Mara, author of THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WALL

‘A truly remarkable book that had me hooked from the start and racing to the end. Beautifully written.’ Jenni Keer, author of THE HOPES AND DREAMS OF LUCY BAKER

‘I relished it from start to finish. A beautiful book. Thought-provoking. Evocative. A treat to read.’
Amanda Robson, author of OBSESSION

‘A gently absorbing entry into the mystery-uplit canon.’ Vaseem Khan, author of THE UNEXPECTED INHERITANCE OF INSPECTOR CHOPRA

‘Charming, endearing . . . will melt even the hardest of hearts’ Joanna Nell, author of THE SINGLE LADIES OF JACARANDA RETIREMENT VILLAGE

‘My book of the year! An absolute must read. EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is everything you’ll want in a book. I was pulled into this story from the very first page and didn’t want it to end’ Lauren North, author of THE PERFECT BETRAYAL

‘I loved every bit of it. I think the term in book reviewer lingo is ‘utterly captivated’ – and I was, as it was not only so beautifully written but the story was brilliant, too.’ Fliss Chester, author of A DANGEROUS GOODBYE

‘A brilliantly original protagonist and an intriguing mystery – this book brings a tear to the eye and uplifts the spirit’ Jackie Kabler, author of THE PERFECT COUPLE



Reviews

EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is a stunning book - intricate, beautifully written and thought-provoking. Packed with psychological realism, Eleanor Ray has perfectly captured how it feels to not quite fit in, to live with emotional baggage, to not know how to let go of the past. It's heart-breaking in parts but ultimately delivers one of the most poignant and heart-warming stories in recent years. Absolutely brilliant and a must-read.
MW Craven, author of THE PUPPET SHOW, CWA Gold Dagger winner
I absolutely loved EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL - a novel filled with beautiful things, mystery and Amy, one of my favourite characters of the year. I couldn't put it down. Book grief when I had to leave Amy behind.
Rachael Blok, author of UNDER THE ICE
An intriguing mystery with a quirky but lovable protagonist - funny, sad and perceptive. This will appeal to fans of The Girl on the Train and Elizabeth is Missing.
L C Tyler, author of A Cruel Necessity
EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is a truly beautiful book, and wonderfully written. The title is perfect too. Amy is an enchanting character, and I found her story deeply moving. Ray's portrayal of her hoarding in response to grief and trauma was convincing and original, both tender and funny. The novel manages to accommodate so many qualities that might be presumed to be in tension, but in Ray's hands are brought together powerfully, so that it is charming and thrilling, romantic and gripping. The mystery of what happened to Tim and Chantel is compelling and immersive.
Claire Kendal, author of THE BOOK OF YOU
EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is heart-warming and thought-provoking, a mystery with a difference. It's beautifully constructed around the everyday items its central character hoards, as she slowly uncovers the secrets of her past. I loved it.
Andrea Mara, author of THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WALL
A truly remarkable book that had me hooked from the start and racing to the end. Beautifully written.
Jenni Keer, author of THE HOPES AND DREAMS OF LUCY BAKER
A gently absorbing entry into the mystery-uplit canon.
Vaseem Khan, author of THE UNEXPECTED INHERITANCE OF INSPECTOR CHOPRA
This book quietly took hold of me and wouldn't let me go until I turned the final page. I loved stepping into Amy's world, with all its treasures, and it was a joy to see her beginning to make space for herself.
Beth O’Leary, author of THE FLAT SHARE
I loved this charming, endearing novel...it will melt even the hardest of hearts...If ever there was a time for a book like EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL to lift us above the every day doom and gloom, it is now.
Joanna Nell, author of THE SINGLE LADIES OF JACARANDA RETIREMENT VILLAGE
This book is a tonic for the soul.
Lesley Kara, author of THE RUMOUR
My book of the year! An absolute must read. EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is everything you'll want in a book. I was pulled into this story from the very first page and didn't want it to end.
Lauren North, author of THE PERFECT BETRAYAL
I loved every bit of it. I think the term in book reviewer lingo is 'utterly captivated' - and I was, as it was not only so beautifully written but the story was so good, too.
Fliss Chester, author of A DANGEROUS GOODBYE
A gorgeous, warm hug of a book about a damaged woman with a lifetime of baggage who slowly and painfully tries to piece herself back together. A stunning debut novel
Sinead Moriatry, author of Seven Letters
This book is a joy
Woman