Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Remnant

The Remnant

“The Oversight is most dangerous when most reduced. There are many dead and gone who did not remember that.”
The Oversight of London has been sworn for millennia to prevent the natural and the supernatural worlds from preying on each other.
Now, at its lowest ebb, with its headquarters destroyed and its last members scattered far and wide, this secret society will battle for survival and face the harshest foe it has ever met: itself.

The final instalment in the Oversight trilogy; this dark and beguiling series comes to a thrilling end in The Remnant. M. R. Carey says ‘exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised’. For fans of Neil Gaiman or The Essex Serpent.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 16th March 2017

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781405535700

Reviews

Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised. This feels like the start of something amazing
Mike Carey
A dark and glinting book . . . told in a kind of compelling and hypnotic poesie that I just lapped up . . . I'll certainly be reading the next one
Cory Doctorow on The Oversight, BoingBoing.net
A highly entertaining fantasy that promises a trilogy worth sinking your teeth into
SciFiNow on The Oversight
Fletcher's Victorian London is juicily vivid, and laced with macabre Dickensian wit. There's a real sense of grim danger, both natural and unnatural, hungrily awaiting the slightest mis-step
Frances Hardinge on The Oversight
Richly atmospheric (the evil lurks in the background of every paragraph), the book should be a big hit with supernatural-fantasy readers ... the second book can't come soon enough
Booklist (starred review for The Oversight)
A richly atmospheric and intensely readable slice of Victoriana, with a splendidly eerie sense of the way the unearthly lies cheek-by-jowl with the mundane
Adam Roberts on The Oversight
A remarkable combination of British folklore, brisk pacing and wide-ranging imagination
Kirkus Reviews on The Oversight
Utterly enthralling: Charles Dickens meets Susanna Clarke
Lou Morgan
The Paradox serves to provide us with fantastically dark characters, goodies and baddies, as well as some rather unexpected alliances
Time Out
The Paradox is the real deal, darkly dusted Dickensian counter mythology at its very best.
SF Site
An atmospheric, creepily delicious concoction of alleyways and dark magic, mirror worlds where danger dwells at every turn, and nuanced, complex characters, all with their own story. Those already familiar with this world will be delighted, and newcomers will eagerly lose themselves in this utterly imaginative fantasy
Publishers Weekly
Confirms his position as one of the most ingenious and intelligent writers of fantasy . . . I can barely wait for the next volume
The Scotsman on The Paradox