Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Keep The Midnight Out

Keep The Midnight Out

The twelfth book in the William Lorimer series from bestselling author Alex Gray.

When the body of a red-haired young man is washed up on the shore of the beautiful Isle of Mull, Detective Superintendent Lorimer’s tranquil holiday away from the gritty streets of Glasgow is rudely interrupted. The body has been bound with twine in a ghoulishly unnatural position and strongly reminds Lorimer of another murder: a twenty year old Glasgow case that he failed to solve as a newly fledged detective constable and which has haunted him ever since.

As local cop DI Stevie Crozier takes charge of the island murder investigation, Lorimer tries to avoid stepping on her toes. But as the similarities between the young man’s death and his cold case grow more obvious, Lorimer realises that there could be a serial killer on the loose after all these years.

As the action switches dramatically between the Mull murder and the Glasgow cold case twenty years earlier, Lorimer tries desperately to catch a cold-hearted killer. Has someone got away with murder for decades?
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 19th March 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780751554861


Few have matched the sustained high quality of [Alex Gray's] output over twelve novels...What she delivers is sound characterisation, convincing Glaswegian atmosphere and superior writing.
The Times on Keep the Midnight Out
Keep the Midnight Out is one of Alex Gray's very best books. The series featuring her protagonist Detective Superintendent Lorimer has gone from strength to strength.
Good Book Guide
This Scottish author is at the top of her game.
Daily Record
The new master of Scottish crime writing.
Scottish Daily Express
Move over Rebus.
Daily Mirror
Brings Glasgow to life in the same way Ian Rankin evokes Edinburgh.
Daily Mail