Related to: 'Seeds Of Earth'

Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

For Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought-after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .

Orbit

Ancestral Machines

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

'Proper galaxy-spanning space opera' Iain M. Banks on Seeds of EarthThe Warcage is a feat of unprecedented stellar engineering: two hundred worlds harnessed to an artificial sun. Built to travel through space as a monument to peace between alien species, its voracious rulers have turned it into a nightmarish wasteland, capturing new planets for slaves and resources, then discarding the old.Now, when a verdant agri-world is pulled out of its orbit and a deal goes bad, it is up to the captain of a smuggling ship to journey into the Warcage and rescue his crew.Science fiction on an epic scale - Ancestral Machines is a stand-alone science fiction adventure set in Michael Cobley's bestselling Humanity's Fire universe. Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks or James S. A. Corey's Expanse series.For more epic space opera action from Michael Cobley, check out:Humanity's Fire Trilogy:Seeds of Earth The Orphaned Worlds The Ascendant Stars Standalone novels in the Humanity's Fire universe:Ancestral MachinesSplintered SunsAlso look out for Cobley's epic fantasy trilogy, Shadowkings!

Orbit

The Ascendant Stars

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley
Orbit

The Orphaned Worlds

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

Amanda Bouchet

USA Today bestselling author Amanda Bouchet grew up in New England and studied French at the undergraduate and graduate levels, first at Bowdoin College and then at Bowling Green State University. She moved to Paris, France, in 2001 and has been there ever since. She met her husband while studying abroad, and the family now includes two bilingual children, who will soon be correcting her French. Connect with her at www.amandabouchet.com.

Brian J. Robb

Brian J. Robb is the editor in chief of Titan Magazines and has been the editor of Star Wars magazine for over a decade. He is also the author of the BGT Star Trek - planned to publish alongside new film in summer 2012.

Charles Stross

Charles Stross is a full-time science fiction writer and resident of Edinburgh, Scotland. The author of seven Hugo-nominated novels and winner of three Hugo awards for best novella, two of which are part of the Laundry Files series, Stross's works have been translated into over twelve languages. As the owner of degrees in pharmacy and computer science, he graduated as the world's only academically qualified cyberpunk writer just as cyberpunk died. Today he describes his job as telling lies for money and tormenting his imaginary friends. Follow his blog at http://www.accelerando.org/ and his Twitter feed at @cstross.

Chris Brookmyre

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full-time novelist with the publication of his award-winning debut Quite Ugly One Morning, which established him as one of Britain's leading crime authors. His Jack Parlabane novels have sold more than one million copies in the UK alone, and Black Widow won both the McIlvanney Prize and the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award.

Claire Coleman

Claire G Coleman is a writer from Western Australia. She identifies with the South Coast Noongar people. Her family are associated with the area around Ravensthorpe and Hopetoun. Claire grew up in a Forestry's settlement in the middle of a tree plantation, where her dad worked, not far out of Perth.She wrote her black&write! fellowship-winning manuscript 'Terra Nullius' while travelling around Australia in a caravan.

Claire North

Claire North is a pseudonym for Catherine Webb, a Carnegie Medal-nominated author whose debut novel was written when she was just fourteen years old. She has fast established herself as one of the most powerful and imaginative voices in modern fiction. Her first book published under the Claire North pen name was The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, which became a word-of-mouth bestseller and was shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award. The follow-up Touch was described by the Independent as 'little short of a masterpiece'. Her next novel The Sudden Appearance of Hope won the 2017 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, and The End of the Day was shortlisted for the 2017 Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year Award. Her latest novel 84K received widespread critical acclaim and was described by bestselling author Emily St. John Mandel as 'an eerily plausible dystopian masterpiece'. She lives in London.

David Brin

David Brin is the acclaimed Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of ten novels and two collections of short stories. He has a doctorate in astrophysics, and has been a consultant to NASA and a graduate-level physics professor. He lives in California.

Elizabeth Moon

Elizabeth Moon served in the US Marine Corps, reaching the rank of 1st Lieutenant during active duty. She has also earned degrees in history and biology, run for public office and been a columnist on her local newspaper. She lives near Austin, Texas, with her husband and their son. Twenty-six of her books are in print, and she won the Nebula Award with her science fiction novel Speed of Dark (also shortlisted for the Clarke Award), and was a finalist for the Hugo in 1997.

Iain M. Banks

Iain Banks came to widespread and controversial public notice with the publication of his first novel, THE WASP FACTORY, in 1984. He has since gained enormous popular and critical acclaim for both his mainstream and his science fiction novels.

James S. A. Corey

James S. A. Corey is the pen name of fantasy author Daniel Abraham, author of the critically acclaimed Long Price Quartet, and writer Ty Franck. They both live in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Jane O'Reilly

Jane O'Reilly would like to say that she's the secret love child of Wonder Woman and grew up on a tropical island in the Pacific, but in reality she grew up in the north of England where it was quite cold and if anyone had any super powers, they kept them well hidden. After university and a brief and very misguided spell as a teacher, she decided it would be better for everyone if she stayed at home and looked after her children. She wrote her first novel when her youngest was a baby, and has published numerous contemporary and erotic romances with Harlequin Escape and Carina UK. But what she really wanted to write was a book about a space pirate in which she could blow things up . . .

Jim Butcher

Jim Butcher is the no. 1 Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera and the Cinder Spires novels. He lives in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado.

Jo Walton

Jo Walton comes from Wales but lives in Montreal, where the food and books are much better. She writes science fiction and fantasy, reads a lot, talks about books, and eats great food. She plans to live to be ninety-nine and write a book every year.

K. B. Wagers

K.B. Wagers is the author of the Indranan War trilogy and the forthcoming Farian War trilogy, about the gunrunner empress Hail Bristol. They live in the shadow of Colorado's Pikes Peak with their partner and a crew of poorly behaved cats. They're especially proud of their second-degree black belt in Shaolin Kung Fu and their three Tough Mudder completions. There's never really a moment when they're not writing, but they do enjoy fountain pens and good whiskey.

K. S. Merbeth

Debut author K. S. Merbeth is obsessed with SFF, food, video games and her cat, and resides in Tuscon, Arizona.

Katy Sobey

Katy Sobey BiographyKaty is from Bristol and trained at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama.Theatre includes: Orpheus & Eurydice (Insane Root, Suspension Bridge Vaults), Rocky: A HorrorShow (The Wardrobe Theatre), The Woodlanders (Hammerpuzzle/Cheltenham Everyman), Othello(Stafford Gatehouse), Here Be Monsters (UK Tour), Hot Air (Tobacco Factory Theatre/MyrtleTheatre Co.), King John (Hammerpuzzle/The Egg), A Midsummer Night's Dream (UK Tour), Flood(Bike Shed Theatre), Sleeping Beauty and Aladdin (Little Wolf/Loughborough Town Hall), EarlyDoors (Edinburgh Festival) and The Taming of the Shrew (Sam Wanamaker Festival, The Globe).Katy has appeared in several radio plays for BBC Radio 4, including Tess In Winter, The All-Clear,The Shining Heart and Writing the Century: The Dock. She has also featured in multiple episodesof Poetry Please with Roger McGough.On television, Katy has appeared on BBC 1's daytime drama, The Indian Doctor.Katy has recorded numerous audiobooks and is a featured artist on Audible UK's Narrator'sGreatest Hits. She is the voice of the popular young adult series, Geek Girl.