Related to: 'Night School: Fracture'

Queen of the psychological thriller

Val McDermid

Val McDermid is the author of 22 bestselling novels, which have been translated into 30 languages, and have sold over 10 million copies. She has won many awards internationally, including the CWA Gold Dagger for best crime novel of the year and the LA Times Book of the Year Award. She was inducted into the ITV3 Crime Thriller Awards Hall of Fame in 2009

ATOM

The Secret City

C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld

'Remember: Demons lie'Locked away inside the fortified walls of Oxford's St Wilfred's College, surrounded by alchemists sworn to protect them, Taylor and Sacha are safe from the Darkness. For now.But time is short. In seven days Sacha will turn 18, and the ancient curse that once made him invincible will kill him, unleashing unimaginable demonic horror upon the world.There is one way to stop it. Taylor and Sacha must go to where the curse was first cast - the medieval French city of Carcassonne - and face the demons. The journey will be dangerous. And monsters are waiting for them.But as Darkness descends on Oxford, their choice is stark. They must face everything that scares them, or lose everything they love.

ATOM

The Secret Fire

C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld

A battle against fate. A race against time.Taylor Montclair is a regular girl from the quiet backwater of Woodbury, England.Sacha Winters is a darkly mysterious boy from the City of Lights - Paris, France.While Taylor's focussed on her dream of attending Oxford University, school couldn't be further from Sacha's mind . . .Sacha knows exactly when he's going to die. Because he's done it before.On the appointed day, Sacha's time will run out. And his death will fulfil an ancient destiny that could unleash chaos and catastrophe.Taylor is the only person who can save him. Neither of them knows that yet.Because they haven't even met.Hundreds of miles and a body of water separate them.Deadly forces will stop at nothing to keep them apart.They have eight weeks to find each other and unravel an ancient web of mystery and danger.The clock starts NOW.

ATOM

Night School: Endgame

C. J. Daugherty
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty
ATOM

Night School: Resistance

C. J. Daugherty
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty
ATOM

Night School: Legacy

C. J. Daugherty
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty
ATOM

Atom Summer Reads Sampler

Sarra Manning, C. J. Daugherty, Johan Harstad, Sophie Flack, Veronica Rossi
Authors:
Sarra Manning, C. J. Daugherty, Johan Harstad, Sophie Flack, Veronica Rossi

Whatever you want to read this summer, Atom has is covered. Sample six of our favourite stories from 2012 with this exclusive summer sampler including extracts from books by Sarra Manning, C. J. Daugherty, Johan Harstad, Robin Wasserman, Sophie Flack and Veronica Rossi.Go over to the dork side with Adorkable, Queen of Teen Sarra Manning's awesome new novel on blogging, snogging and everything in between. Fall in love with beautiful ballet story Bunheads. Uncover centuries of secrets in the Book of Blood and Shadow or escape to the moon with John Harstad's chilling teen tale . . . if you dare.Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Veronica Rossi's Under The Never Sky is a mesmerizing masterpiece, while the darkly thrilling Night School will keep you up well past your bedtime.Which is exactly what summer holidays are made for.

ATOM

Night School

C. J. Daugherty
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty

Alex Wheatle

Born in 1963 to Jamaican parents living in Brixton, ALEX WHEATLE spent most of his childhood in a Surrey children's home. He returned to Brixton in 1977 where he founded the Crucial Rocker sound system and performed his own songs and lyrics under the name of Yardman Irie. He spent a short stint in prison following the Brixton uprising of 1981. Following his release from prison he continued to write poems and lyrics and became known as the Brixton Bard.Alex's first novel, BRIXTON ROCK, was published to critical acclaim in 1999. Five more novels, EAST OF ACRE LANE, THE SEVEN SISTERS, ISLAND SONGS, CHECKERS and THE DIRTY SOUTH followed, all highly praised. His books are on school reading lists, Alex takes part in Black History Month every year, works with Streatham Youth Community Trust, helping to run a homework club. He is representing English PEN, and tours the country with his one-man show, UPRISING. He teaches in various places including Lambeth College, holds workshops in prisons and is frequently invited to schools to speak to students, inspiring in them with his own story a passion for literature.Alex also appears regularly on BBC1's The One Show and on radio. In the autumn of 2010 he wrote and performed his own one-man autobiographical show for Tara Arts, UPRISING, and took the performance on tour in October 2012. He was at Harrogate Crime Writing Festival in July 2011.He was awarded an MBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours list for services to literature in 2008. A favourite of reading groups and libraries, he is UK's most read Black British author. He is working on a non-fiction book about Black Britain and on more Young Adult novels.He lives with his family in South London.

Alison Umminger

Alison Umminger grew up in Arlington, Virginia, and as an undergraduate was the fourth woman to be elected president of The Harvard Lampoon. Today, she is an associate professor at the University of West Georgia in Carrollton, Georgia, where she lives with her husband, a blues musician, and their four-year-old daughter. My Favorite Manson Girl is her first book.

Amy Parker

Amy Parker has written more than thirty books for children, teens, and adults, including the bestselling A Night Night Prayer; Thank You, God, for Mommy; and Thank You, God, for Daddy. Amy lives in Murfreesboro, TN with her husband and two sons.

Anthony McGowan

Anthony McGowan is one of the most widely acclaimed young-adult authors in the UK. His books have won several major awards, and been shortlisted for many more. He has also written highly regarded adult fiction, as well as books for younger readers. He has a PhD on the history of beauty, and has taught philosophy and creative writing. He lives in London with his wife and two children.

C. J. Daugherty

International bestselling author C. J. Daugherty is a former newspaper reporter and crime writer. Her Night School series has been translated into 21 languages, and has been the number 1 best selling young adult book in Germany, Poland, France, and Israel, topping charts in countries around the world.

David Owen

David Owen achieved 1st class honours in BA Creative Writing and MA Writing for Children at The University of Winchester, where he went on to teach on the BA Creative Writing course for three years. He hopes that one day all of his students will surpass his own achievements.David's debut YA novel, Panther (2015) received rave reviews, and was nominated for the Carnegie medal. He is the Content and Social Media specialist for gapyear.com and a former freelance games journalist. David spends most of his time thinking about biscuits.

Isuna Hasekura

Isuna Hasekura's debut novel, SPICE AND WOLF, earned the Silver Prize in the 2005 Dengeki Novel Prize with the series going on to total seventeen novels and both manga and anime adaptations.

J.K. Rowling

J.K. Rowling is the author of the bestselling Harry Potter series of seven books, published between 1997 and 2007, which have sold over 450 million copies worldwide, are distributed in more than 200 territories, translated into 73 languages, and have been turned into eight blockbuster films. She has also written two small volumes, which appear as the titles of Harry's schoolbooks within the novels. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages were published by Bloomsbury Children's Books in March 2001 in aid of Comic Relief. In December 2008, The Tales of Beedle the Bard was published in aid of the Children's High Level Group, and quickly became the fastest selling book of the year.

Joanna Nadin

Currently a 2016 Carnegie Medal nominee for Joe All Alone, Joanna Nadin is a winner of the Fantastic Book Award, the Surrey Book Award, Blue Peter 'Book of the Month' and Radio 4 Open Book 'Book of the Year'. She has been shortlisted for the Booktrust Best Book Award and Queen of Teen, and Spies, Dad, Big Lauren and Me was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. In 2011, Penny Dreadful is a Magnet for Disaster was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Joanna previously worked as a policy writer for the Labour Party and a special adviser to the Prime Minister. She continues to freelance as a speechwriter and editor, and lectures in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University.

Kelley Armstrong

Kelley Armstrong lives in rural Ontario, Canada, with her family and far too many pets. She is the author of the international bestselling Women of the Otherworld series, and many other highly acclaimed novels, including the Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising YA trilogies, and the Cainsville series.

L. M. Montgomery

L. M. Montgomery was born in 1874 on Prince Edward Island, Canada, where she spent her childhood living with her grandparents in an old farmhouse. A prolific writer, she published many short stories, poems and novels, many of which were inspired by the years she spent on the beautiful Prince Edward Island. Anne of Green Gables and its sequels have always been amongst the most popular of children's classics. Montgomery died in Toronto in 1942 and was buried on her beloved island.

Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts is the number one New York Times bestseller of more than 200 novels. With over 500 million copies of her books in print, she is indisputably one of the most celebrated and popular writers in the world. She is both a Sunday Times bestseller in the UK and a number one bestseller in Australia.

Rebecca Denton

Rebecca is 39 years old, lives in Hackney with a one year old, a trumpet, 2 guitars, a keyboard, and several vintage computer game consoles. She spent her career traveling the world making Music TV for MTV and Channel 4, and wrangling young adult audiences for the BBC and ITV. She's filmed Iggy Pop, MIA, Kaiser Chiefs, Sonic Youth, Jack White, Dirty Pretty Things, and The Klaxons to name just a few.