Related to: 'Night School: Fracture'

Queen of the psychological thriller

Val McDermid

Val McDermid is the author of 22 bestselling novels, which have been translated into 30 languages, and have sold over 10 million copies. She has won many awards internationally, including the CWA Gold Dagger for best crime novel of the year and the LA Times Book of the Year Award. She was inducted into the ITV3 Crime Thriller Awards Hall of Fame in 2009

ATOM

The Secret City

C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld

'Remember: Demons lie'Locked away inside the fortified walls of Oxford's St Wilfred's College, surrounded by alchemists sworn to protect them, Taylor and Sacha are safe from the Darkness. For now.But time is short. In seven days Sacha will turn 18, and the ancient curse that once made him invincible will kill him, unleashing unimaginable demonic horror upon the world.There is one way to stop it. Taylor and Sacha must go to where the curse was first cast - the medieval French city of Carcassonne - and face the demons. The journey will be dangerous. And monsters are waiting for them.But as Darkness descends on Oxford, their choice is stark. They must face everything that scares them, or lose everything they love.

ATOM

The Secret Fire

C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld

A battle against fate. A race against time.Taylor Montclair is a regular girl from the quiet backwater of Woodbury, England.Sacha Winters is a darkly mysterious boy from the City of Lights - Paris, France.While Taylor's focussed on her dream of attending Oxford University, school couldn't be further from Sacha's mind . . .Sacha knows exactly when he's going to die. Because he's done it before.On the appointed day, Sacha's time will run out. And his death will fulfil an ancient destiny that could unleash chaos and catastrophe.Taylor is the only person who can save him. Neither of them knows that yet.Because they haven't even met.Hundreds of miles and a body of water separate them.Deadly forces will stop at nothing to keep them apart.They have eight weeks to find each other and unravel an ancient web of mystery and danger.The clock starts NOW.

ATOM

Night School: Endgame

C. J. Daugherty
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty
ATOM

Night School: Resistance

C. J. Daugherty
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty
ATOM

Night School: Legacy

C. J. Daugherty
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty
ATOM

Atom Summer Reads Sampler

Sarra Manning, C. J. Daugherty, Johan Harstad, Sophie Flack, Veronica Rossi
Authors:
Sarra Manning, C. J. Daugherty, Johan Harstad, Sophie Flack, Veronica Rossi

Whatever you want to read this summer, Atom has is covered. Sample six of our favourite stories from 2012 with this exclusive summer sampler including extracts from books by Sarra Manning, C. J. Daugherty, Johan Harstad, Robin Wasserman, Sophie Flack and Veronica Rossi.Go over to the dork side with Adorkable, Queen of Teen Sarra Manning's awesome new novel on blogging, snogging and everything in between. Fall in love with beautiful ballet story Bunheads. Uncover centuries of secrets in the Book of Blood and Shadow or escape to the moon with John Harstad's chilling teen tale . . . if you dare.Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Veronica Rossi's Under The Never Sky is a mesmerizing masterpiece, while the darkly thrilling Night School will keep you up well past your bedtime.Which is exactly what summer holidays are made for.

ATOM

Night School

C. J. Daugherty
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty

Alex Wheatle

Born in 1963 to Jamaican parents living in Brixton, ALEX WHEATLE spent most of his childhood in a Surrey children's home. He returned to Brixton in 1977 where he founded the Crucial Rocker sound system and performed his own songs and lyrics under the name of Yardman Irie. He spent a short stint in prison following the Brixton uprising of 1981. Following his release from prison he continued to write poems and lyrics and became known as the Brixton Bard.Alex's first novel, BRIXTON ROCK, was published to critical acclaim in 1999. Five more novels, EAST OF ACRE LANE, THE SEVEN SISTERS, ISLAND SONGS, CHECKERS and THE DIRTY SOUTH followed, all highly praised. His books are on school reading lists, Alex takes part in Black History Month every year, works with Streatham Youth Community Trust, helping to run a homework club. He is representing English PEN, and tours the country with his one-man show, UPRISING. He teaches in various places including Lambeth College, holds workshops in prisons and is frequently invited to schools to speak to students, inspiring in them with his own story a passion for literature.Alex also appears regularly on BBC1's The One Show and on radio. In the autumn of 2010 he wrote and performed his own one-man autobiographical show for Tara Arts, UPRISING, and took the performance on tour in October 2012. He was at Harrogate Crime Writing Festival in July 2011.He was awarded an MBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours list for services to literature in 2008. A favourite of reading groups and libraries, he is UK's most read Black British author. He is working on a non-fiction book about Black Britain and on more Young Adult novels.He lives with his family in South London.

Anthony McGowan

Anthony McGowan is one of the most widely acclaimed young-adult authors in the UK. His books have won several major awards, and been shortlisted for many more. He has also written highly regarded adult fiction, as well as books for younger readers. He has a PhD on the history of beauty, and has taught philosophy and creative writing. He lives in London with his wife and two children.

Ayano Takeda

Ayano Takeda is the author of Sound! Euphonium.

C. J. Daugherty

International bestselling author C. J. Daugherty is a former newspaper reporter and crime writer. Her Night School series has been translated into 21 languages, and has been the number 1 best selling young adult book in Germany, Poland, France, and Israel, topping charts in countries around the world.

Catherine Webb

Catherine Webb was just fourteen when she wrote her extraordinary debut, Mirror Dreams. With several novels already in print at just 19, Catherine has quickly established herself as one of the most talented and exciting young writers in the UK.

Garry Kilworth

Twice shortlisted for the Carnegie prize, world-travelling Garry Kilworth has written a number of acclaimed and much-loved stories for children.

Joanna Nadin

Currently a 2016 Carnegie Medal nominee for Joe All Alone, Joanna Nadin is a winner of the Fantastic Book Award, the Surrey Book Award, Blue Peter 'Book of the Month' and Radio 4 Open Book 'Book of the Year'. She has been shortlisted for the Booktrust Best Book Award and Queen of Teen, and Spies, Dad, Big Lauren and Me was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. In 2011, Penny Dreadful is a Magnet for Disaster was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Joanna previously worked as a policy writer for the Labour Party and a special adviser to the Prime Minister. She continues to freelance as a speechwriter and editor, and lectures in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University.

Justin Somper

Justin Somper is the worldwide bestselling author of the Vampirates sequence, which has been published in twenty-five languages in thirty-five countries. When he isn't writing, he works with other authors as a publicist and trainer. He lives in London with his partner and two energetic dogs. Justin invites you to visit him online at alliesandassassins.com, on Facebook at facebook.com/JustinSomperAuthor, and on Twitter @JustinSomper.

Kelley Armstrong

Kelley Armstrong lives in rural Ontario, Canada, with her family and far too many pets. She is the author of the international bestselling Women of the Otherworld series, and many other highly acclaimed novels, including the Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising YA trilogies, and the Cainsville series.

Kendra Fortmeyer

Kendra Fortmeyer grew up in the lushly magic swamp-woods of North Carolina. She now lives and writes in Austin, Texas, where she received an MFA in fiction from the New Writer's Project. A former teacher and youth librarian (and forever feminist), she's had the great joy of working with heaps of hilarious, brilliant and wonderful teens, and is passionate about giving their voices a home in her work. She's worked as a wilderness ranger in the Blue Ridge Mountains, tried her hand at blacksmithing, and drinks an absurd amount of tea.A recipient of a grant from the Elizabeth George Foundation, Kendra won a 2017 Pushcart Prize for her story "Things I Know to Be True" and she is a member of the Clarion Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers' Workshop class of 2016.

L. M. Montgomery

L. M. Montgomery was born in 1874 on Prince Edward Island, Canada, where she spent her childhood living with her grandparents in an old farmhouse. A prolific writer, she published many short stories, poems and novels, many of which were inspired by the years she spent on the beautiful Prince Edward Island. Anne of Green Gables and its sequels have always been amongst the most popular of children's classics. Montgomery died in Toronto in 1942 and was buried on her beloved island.

Matthew Green

Matthew Green is a schoolteacher with Teacher of the Year credentials to his name. He has one Master's degree and is working on a second. He lives in Connecticut with his wife and daughter, plus a dog and cat.

Nikki Asada

Nikki Asada is the illustrator of Sound! Euphonium.