Related to: 'Orchestrated Death'

The original Pop Idol

Will Young Memoir Set for October 2012

Little, Brown Book Group is delighted to announce the acquisition of Will Young's autobiography, set for publication by Sphere Books this autumn.

Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Keep the Home Fires Burning

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Goodbye Piccadilly

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Barbara Taylor-Bradford.For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye.The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.Goodbye Piccadilly is the first book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1914, Goodbye Piccadilly is extraordinary in scope and imagination and is a compelling introduction to the Hunter family.

Sphere

Necrochip

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

An outstanding series' NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEWA Bill Slider Mystery After Sir Stefan Radek, conductor of the Royal London Philharmonic, is fatally shot during a rehearsal, Slider suspects the case will be a 'domestic'. After nabbing the shooter, Slider senses that something about catching the right man is itself wrong. He finds no shortage of suspects - everyone seems glad that Radek is dead. Slider eventually tracks down the most unlikely multiple murderer.Praise for the Bill Slider series:"Her books are witty, entertaining, and ingenious." YORKSHIRE POST"Skilful plotting and vivid characterization make Grave Music a compelling mystery. A generous and confident writer, Grave Music rates a standing ovation." THE DROOD REVIEW OF MYSTERY

Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Killing Time

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Burning Roses

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1915 the first euphoria of the war has worn off, but the nation is more determined than ever to win. When Ned is sent to the Front ahead of his battalion, Jessie, already involved in various charity works, feels the need to do more and becomes an auxiliary nurse. But life on the wards is harder than she expects. Meanwhile, Helen and Jack settle in a home of their own at last, and Helen takes on a surprise war role of her own. And for Violet in London, a chance meeting with talented young artist threatens to destroy her calm and ordered life. With stalemate on the Eastern Front, everything now hangs on the new September offensive on the Western Front, the Battle of Loos. Both Ned and Bertie will be leading their men over the top, leaving the rest of the family to pray for their safe return.

Sphere

The White Road

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

August 1914: the whole country is thrilled by the declaration of war. The British Experditionary Force goes off toe France to defend gallant little Belgium, and thousands more young men rush to volunteer, hoping to see action before the war ends at Christmas. At home everyone competes to be doing the most for the war effort. The Morlands have their share of volunteers, and no-one can say they aren't at the very heart of things. But when Christmas comes the war is far from over, and nine in ten of the men who marched, singing, down the white road to Mons have fallen ...

Sphere

The Restless Sea

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Question

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In the last years of the nineteenth century the Morlands' fortunes are changing for the better, as Henrietta and Jerome find a true home at Morland Place, and Teddy ploughs his profits into restoring it to its former glory. But the reverses and cruelties of the Boer War and the death of Queen Victoria shake the foundations of a confident nation. The accession of King Edward seems to mark the end of the old, familiar England. Old certainties are being questioned, everything is changing, and the young generation of Morlands faces a new world, full of wonders but full of dangers.

Sphere

The Winter Journey

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1851 the fortunes of the Morland family are more buoyant than they have been for years. Morland Place is recovering under Benjamin's steady hands - happy at last with Sibella. Charlotte, now Duchess of Southport, is shortly to give birth to hersecond child and on the point of opening her modern hospital for the poor. Cavendish's engagement to the ethereally beautiful but slightly silly Miss Phipps causes a stir in the drawing rooms of Mayfair and his wedding causes his family some misgivings. Then the storms in Europe spill in to Britain when the army is forced to defend Turkey against the Tsar. Within weeks Cavendish is in the Crimea and disappears in the Charge of the Light Brigade. Another moving and beautifully portrayed episode in the riveting Morland saga.

Sphere

The Hidden Shore

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

1843: the early years of Queen Victoria's reign witness much high-level debate at the Palace of Westminster, but nothing can interfere with Society's enjoyment of the Season.When Charlotte Meldon's father dies, she believes herself to be destitute, but a lawyer's letter reveals that she is not only part of the great Morland family, but wealthy and a countess in her own right. She is expected to make a great marriage, and with her vivacious cousin Fanny by her side, she is launched into her first Season. But it is Fanny, the hardened flint, who loses her heart first, while Charlotte catches the eye of Oliver Fleetwood, the most eligible man in London.Then the Season ends in disillusion, and Charlotte rebels against a life of idle amusement. With calm courage she flouts convention and embarks on a new journey which will change her life in very unexpected ways.

Sphere

The Chevalier

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

1689: the Resoration enabled the Morland family to restore their own fortune, but now the Jacobite rebellion brings another threat to their security.Annuciata Morland, fiercely loyal to the Stuart cause, follows her beloved king, James II, into exile. She leaves her gentle grandson, Matt, to oversee Morland Place in her absence. Without her wise presence, Matt finds himself in an arranged marriage to India Neville and at the mercy of a woman as heartless as she is beautiful. After a lonely and sheltered life he lurches between the exquisite pain of love and the torment of deep despair.When James III - the Chevalier - returns to claim the Stuart throne, the Morlands are reunited in one country. Death and defeat threaten them, but their loves and loyalty prove stronger than kingly ambitions.

Sphere

The Long Shadow

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Princeling

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Maiden

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Black Pearl

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Oak Apple

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles