Related to: 'The Ethos Effect'

Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers

The adrenaline-fueled, explosive conclusion to the Indranan War trilogy by K. B. Wagers.Gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to take her rightful place in the palace. Her sisters and parents have been murdered, and the Indranan Empire is reeling from both treasonous plots and foreign invasion.Now, on the run from enemies on all fronts, Hail prepares to fight a full-scale war for her throne and her people, even as she struggles with the immense weight of the legacy thrust upon her. With the aid of a motley crew of allies old and new, she must return home to face off with the same powerful enemies who killed her family and aim to destroy everything and everyone she loves. Untangling a legacy of lies and restoring peace to Indrana will require an empress's wrath and a gunrunner's justice.Beyond the Empire is the adrenalin-fueled conclusion to the Indranan War space adventure trilogy by K. B. Wagers - perfect for fans of Star Wars.

Orbit

Legacies

L. E. Modesitt Jr.
Authors:
L. E. Modesitt Jr.

In the barely recalled beginnings of recorded history, Corus enjoyed a golden era of civilization, its united peoples rich in learning, trade and the arts. A magical calamity spread a dark age across the planet, leaving its people to crawl slowly out of ignorance and savagery. Corea now stands a divided, warring world where kingdoms fight and people live amongst supernatural beings and bizarre animals. A few rare humans have Talent, the ability to use magical powers, and are thus either cursed or blessed.Alucius is one of the most Talented of all, yet came from unremarkable beginnings. Raised on an isolated ranch, he is warned never to show his Talent lest he attract attention and be condemned to a lifetime of service. He carries this warning as he comes of age, and joins the Militia as did his father before him. However, this is no routine rite of passage. Corus enters a time of flux as his country is invaded by slave armies of the immortal ruler Madrien - and Alucius himself is captured and enslaved. A palpable sense of evil hangs over the lands and those of Talent are the only defence.

Orbit

Scion Of Cyador

L. E. Modesitt Jr.
Authors:
L. E. Modesitt Jr.

MAGI'I OF CYADOR introduced Lorn, a talented boy born into the family of Magi'i. Now his story continues ...Having survived both barbarian raiders and the giant beasts of the Accursed Forest, Lorn has proven himself to be a fine officer ... perhaps too fine an officer. As his prowess has grown, so has the number of his enemies and rivals. Too much success has made him a marked man. When he returns to his home, both he and his young family become targets. But with all of Cyad in upheaval over the death of the Emperor, this is not the only problem he faces.L.E.Modesitt's best-selling fantasy novels set in the magical world of Recluce are among the most popular in contemporary fantasy.Look out for more information on this and other titles at www.orbitbooks.co.uk

Orbit

Darknesses

L. E. Modesitt Jr.
Authors:
L. E. Modesitt Jr.
Orbit

The Spellsong War

L. E. Modesitt Jr.
Authors:
L. E. Modesitt Jr.

When Anna Marshall wished she could be anywhere but Ames, Iowa, and anything but a singer and music instructor at Iowa State University, she did so at exactly the wrong time and found herself pulled from Iowa to the very different world of Erde. On Erde, music is magic, and Anna's ability makes her an enormously powerful sorceress - potentially.With her unique power, Anna saves the kingdom of Defalk from invasion and in six months becomes its regent. After six years of war, Defalk is weak and Anna must turn her efforts to rebuilding the kingdom. But she has little time: Defalk's southern neighbour is already encroaching on the border. Rising to power in Defalk may have been the easy part; now Anna will need all her skill merely to hold on to what's she's managed to accomplish so far.

Annalee Newitz

Annalee Newitz is an American journalist, editor, and author of both fiction and nonfiction. She is the recipient of a Knight Science Journalism Fellowship from MIT, and has written for Popular Science, Wired, and the San Francisco Bay Guardian. She co-founded the science fiction website io9 and served as Editor-in-Chief from 2008-2015, and subsequently edited Gizmodo. As of 2016, she is Tech Culture Editor at the technology site Ars Technica.

Catherine Cerveny

Catherine Cerveny was born in Peterborough, Ontario. She'd always planned to move away to the big city but the small town life got its hooks in her and that's where she still resides today. Catherine is a huge fan of romance and science fiction and wishes the two genres would cross paths more often.

Chris Brookmyre

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full-time novelist with the publication of his award-winning debut Quite Ugly One Morning, which established him as one of Britain's leading crime authors. His Jack Parlabane novels have sold more than one million copies in the UK alone, and Black Widow won both the McIlvanney Prize and the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award.

Christopher Brookmyre

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full-time novelist with the publication of his award-winning debut QUITE UGLY ONE MORNING, which established him as one of Britain's leading crime authors. His Jack Parlabane novels have sold more than one million copies in the UK alone.

Iain M. Banks

Iain Banks came to widespread and controversial public notice with the publication of his first novel, THE WASP FACTORY, in 1984. He has since gained enormous popular and critical acclaim for both his mainstream and his science fiction novels.

James S. A. Corey

James S. A. Corey is the pen name of fantasy author Daniel Abraham, author of the critically acclaimed Long Price Quartet, and writer Ty Franck. They both live in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Jane O'Reilly

Jane O'Reilly would like to say that she's the secret love child of Wonder Woman and grew up on a tropical island in the Pacific, but in reality she grew up in the north of England where it was quite cold and if anyone had any super powers, they kept them well hidden. After university and a brief and very misguided spell as a teacher, she decided it would be better for everyone if she stayed at home and looked after her children. She wrote her first novel when her youngest was a baby, and has published numerous contemporary and erotic romances with Harlequin Escape and Carina UK. But what she really wanted to write was a book about a space pirate in which she could blow things up . . .

Jo Walton

Jo Walton comes from Wales but lives in Montreal, where the food and books are much better. She writes science fiction and fantasy, reads a lot, talks about books, and eats great food. She plans to live to be ninety-nine and write a book every year.

K. B. Wagers

K. B. Wagers has a bachelor's degree in Russian studies and her non-fiction writing has earned her two Air Force Space Command media contest awards. A native of Colorado, she lives at the base of the Rocky Mountains with her husband and son. In between books, she can be found playing in the mud, running on trails, dancing to music and scribbling on spare bits of paper. You can also find her on twitter at @kbwagers and find her website at www.kbwagers.com.

Kelley Armstrong

Kelley Armstrong lives in rural Ontario, Canada, with her family and far too many pets. She is the author of the international bestselling Women of the Otherworld series, and many other highly acclaimed novels, including the Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising YA trilogies, and the Cainsville series.

M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey has been making up stories for most of his life. His novel The Girl With All the Gifts was a word-of-mouth bestseller and is now a major motion picture based on his own screenplay. Under the name Mike Carey he has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on Lucifer, Hellblazer and X-Men. His creator-owned series The Unwritten appeared regularly in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels, games, radio plays, and TV and movie screenplays to his credit.

Mike Ashley

Mike Ashley is the author and editor of over sixty books including the bestselling Mammoths Comic Fantasy, Seriously Comic Fantasy and Fantasy, and the crime-fiction collections The Mammoth Book of Locked Room Mysteries, The Mammoth Book of Roman Whodunnits and The Mammoth Book of Historical Whodunnits.He lives in Chatham, Kent.

Terry Brooks

Terry Brooks is the New York Times bestselling author of more than thirty books, including the Dark Legacy of Shannara adventures Wards of Faerie and Bloodfire Quest; the Legends of Shannara novels Bearers of the Black Staff and The Measure of the Magic; the Genesis of Shannara trilogy Armageddon's Children, The Elves of Cintra and The Gypsy Morph; and The Sword of Shannara. The author was a practising attorney for many years but now writes full time. He lives with his wife, Judine, in the Pacific Northwest.

Tom Holt

Tom Holt has been a full-time writer since 1995 and has produced some of the most popular comic fantasy of the last decade including Little People, Falling Sideways and Nothing But Blue Skies.

Trisha Telep

Trisha Telep has interviewed a myriad of players in the burgeoning edible insect industry, which is currently developing new markets with unfamiliar but curious potential bug-eating consumers in the west including natural history TV presenter and speaker (BBC, ITV, Channel 5, Animal Planet, Channel 4 and Sky Television) Dr Sarah Beynon and her partner, chef Andy Holcroft. Together, they run Grub Kitchen from The Bug Farm, an award-winning scientific research centre on a 100-acre family farm in St Davids, Pembrokeshire, Wales, carrying out world-class, cutting-edge scientific research on environmentally-friendly food production, and serving up innovative dishes to visitors hungry for a taste of the future of sustainable food.