Related to: 'Daughter of Blood'

From the brilliant Libba Bray

The Diviners – amazing new acquisition for Atom

We recently acquired The Diviners, by Libba Bray, which is a wonderfully-drawn tale of Jazz-Age New York. With a heroine who is fierce yet vulnerable, a cast of intriguing characters with prophetic abilities, and a supernatural and sinister serial killer, The Diviners shows off Bray’s remarkable talents as an author and is sure to appeal to lovers of both historical and paranormal fiction.

Orbit

The Gathering Of The Lost

Helen Lowe
Authors:
Helen Lowe

SHE WILL NOT STAND ALONE. Five years after the assault on her stronghold home, Malian of Night remains missing, believed dead amidst the wilds of Jaransor. But not all accept her death and now her enemies are on the hunt. Suspicion falls on heralds Tarathan and Jehane, who find themselves caught in a web of intrigue and murder amidst the Ijiri Festival of Masks. They flee bearing word of a death on the Wall - and a call to duty and honour that Malian must answer or be forsworn.

Orbit

The Heir Of Night

Helen Lowe
Authors:
Helen Lowe

A DARK ENEMY. AN ANCIENT WAR. A NEW CHAMPION. Young Malian is being trained to rule. Her people garrison the mountain range known as the Wall of Night against an ancient enemy, keeping a tide of shadow from the rest of their world. Malian is expected to uphold this tradition, yet she's known little of real danger until the enemy attacks her fortress home and the Keep of Winds becomes a bloodbath. Malian flees deep into the Old Keep - and when the danger is greatest her own hidden magic flares into life. But if she accepts its power, she must prepare to pay the price. 'The Heir of Night by Helen Lowe is a richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world' - Robin Hobb 'Dark and magical... The Heir of Night is a grand entrance' TheBookBag.co.uk The start of an incredibly addictive new fantasy series - perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan, Karen Miller and Brent Weeks.

Orbit

The Spirit Eater

Rachel Aaron
Authors:
Rachel Aaron

With the pressure on after his success in Gaol, Eli Monpress, professional thief and degenerate, decides it's time to lie low for a bit. Taking up residence in a tiny seaside village, Eli and his companions seize the chance for some fun and relaxation.Nico, however, is finding it a bit hard. Plagued by a demon's voice in her head and feeling powerless, she only sees herself as a burden. Everyone's holiday comes to an untimely close, though, when Pele arrives to beg Eli's help for finding her missing father.But there are larger plans afoot than even Eli can see, and the real danger, and the solution, may lie with one of his own and her forgotten past.If only Nico could remember whose side she's on.

Annalee Newitz

Annalee Newitz is an American journalist, editor and author of both fiction and non-fiction. She is the recipient of a Knight Science Journalism Fellowship from MIT, and has written for Popular Science, Wired and the San Francisco Bay Guardian. She co-founded the science fiction website io9 and served as editor-in-chief from 2008-2015, and subsequently edited Gizmodo. As of 2016, she is tech culture editor at the technology site Ars Technica.

Catherynne M. Valente

Catherynne M. Valente is the New York Times bestselling author of over two dozen works of fiction and poetry, including Palimpsest, the Orphan's Tales series, Deathless and the crowdfunded phenomenon The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making. She is the winner of the Andre Norton, Tiptree, Mythopoeic, Rhysling, Lambda, Locus and Hugo awards. She has been a finalist for the Nebula and World Fantasy Awards. She lives on an island off the coast of Maine with a small but growing menagerie of beasts, some of which are human.

Christine Feehan

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Christine Feehan has received numerous honours including being a nominee for the Romance Writers of America RITA and receiving a Career Achievement Award from ROMANTIC TIMES. Visit her at www.christinefeehan.com

Darynda Jones

Darynda Jones's writing has won her several awards, including a 2009 Golden Heart in the Paranormal Category for First Grave On The Right and the 2012 RITA awards for Best New Book. She lives in New Mexico, with her husband of more than 25 years and two sons.

Elizabeth Singer Hunt

Elizabeth Singer Hunt is best known as the award-winning author of the SECRET AGENT JACK STALWART chapter book series for younger readers. The 14-book series has been named a 'must read' for boys by the British Education Secretary, serialized by BBC Radio, and featured on Virgin Atlantic Airways' international flights.Elizabeth lives in California with her husband and two children, and is an advocate for the Eco-Soap Bank, a public health nonprofit working to save lives in rural Cambodia.

J.K. Rowling

J.K. Rowling is the author of the bestselling Harry Potter series of seven books, published between 1997 and 2007, which have sold over 450 million copies worldwide, are distributed in more than 200 territories, translated into 73 languages, and have been turned into eight blockbuster films. She has also written two small volumes, which appear as the titles of Harry's schoolbooks within the novels. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages were published by Bloomsbury Children's Books in March 2001 in aid of Comic Relief. In December 2008, The Tales of Beedle the Bard was published in aid of the Children's High Level Group, and quickly became the fastest selling book of the year.

J. R. Ward

After graduating from law school J.R. Ward began working in health care in Boston and spent many years as chief of staff for one of the premier academic medical centres in the US. She lives in Kentucky with her husband.

Jayne Castle

Jayne Ann Krentz, who also writes historical and futuristic fiction under the pseudonyms Amanda Quick and Jayne Castle respectively, has more than fifty NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers under various pen names; more than twenty-five million copies of her books are in print. She lives in the Pacific Northwest

Jonathan French

Jonathan French resides in Atlanta with his wife, son, and cat. He is a devoted reader of comic books, an expert thrower of oddly-shaped dice and a serial con attendee.

Josiah Bancroft

Josiah Bancroft started writing novels when he was twelve and by the time he finished his first, he was an addict. Eventually, the writing of Senlin Ascends began, a fantasy adventure not so unlike the stories that got him addicted to words in the first place. He wanted to do for others what his favourite writers had done for him: namely to pick them up and carry them to a wonderful and perilous world that is spinning very fast. If he's done that with this book, then he's happy.Josiah lives in Philadelphia with his wife, Sharon and their two rabbits, Mabel and Chaplin.More examples of his work, including updates on upcoming instalments in the Books of Babel series, can be found at www.thebooksofbabel.com.

K. J. Parker

K. J. Parker is a pseudonym for Tom Holt. He was born in London in 1961. At Oxford he studied bar billiards, ancient Greek agriculture and the care and feeding of small, temperamental Japanese motorcycle engines. These interests led him, perhaps inevitably, to qualify as a solicitor and emigrate to Somerset, where he specialised in death and taxes for seven years before going straight in 1995. He lives in Chard, Somerset, with his wife and daughter.

Karen Miller

Karen Miller was born in Vancouver, Canada, and came to Australia when she was two. Apart from a two year stint in the UK after graduating she's lived around Sydney ever since. She has held a variety of interesting jobs and fell in love with speculative fiction at primary school.

Keri Arthur

Keri Arthur is an award-winning author of thrilling paranormal romances. She's a dessert and function cook by trade. She has one daughter, and lives in Australia. Visit her at www.keriarthur.com

Michael Cobley

Michael Cobley was born in the city of Leicester, has lived in Perth (Australia) and Glasgow but now resides in North Ayrshire. His previous works have included the Shadowkings trilogy (a dark and grim fantasy epic), Iron Mosaic (a collection of short stories) but he is best known for his epic space opera series - Humanity's Fire. Splintered Suns is a stand alone adventure set in this universe.

Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts is the number one New York Times bestseller of more than 200 novels. With over 500 million copies of her books in print, she is indisputably one of the most celebrated and popular writers in the world. She is both a Sunday Times bestseller in the UK and a number one bestseller in Australia.

Paula Brackston

PAULA BRACKSTON is the New York Times bestselling author of The Witch's Daughter and The Winter Witch. She has a master's degree in creative writing from Lancaster University in the UK. She lives in Wales with her family.

Running Press

Running Press, Running Press Kids, and Running Press Miniature Editions publish books that inspire, entertain and delight readers with innovative formats and irresistible packages for humor, pop culture, activity, cooking and self-help titles. The long-running miniature editions program features original bestsellers like Grow Your Own Mini Bonsai and top licenses like Harry Potter.