Related to: 'The Positive Power of Negative Emotions'

Piatkus

The Happiness Dictionary

Tim Lomas
Authors:
Tim Lomas

Have you ever had a feeling that you couldn't quite describe, because no English word exists for it? Indeed, without such a word, it can make it difficult to remember or understand the feeling, and certainly to talk about it with other people. This applies to all aspects of life, and not least to that most sought-after of feelings, happiness, where our ability to experience and understand it is limited by the words at our disposal. However, all is not lost. Even if English has not created a word for a specific feeling, or indeed any phenomena, another language might have. These are known as 'untranslatable' words, terms which lack an exact equivalent in another language. If we can discover and learn these words, the boundaries of our world will expand accordingly. These words may allow us to give voice to feelings we've already hazily experienced, but have previously lacked the ability to conceptualise. They may even allow us to encounter new feelings that we hadn't previously been aware of or enjoyed.This book aims to introduce readers to a wealth of untranslatable terms relating to happiness, sourced from across the world's languages. As a result, their understanding and even experience of happiness will be enriched.

Areva Martin

Areva Martin is the founder of Martin & Martin, the largest female-owned, African-American law firm in L.A., and The Special Needs Network, a non-profit for the benefit of special needs kids and their parents. she is also the author of The Everyday Advocate--a memoir about raising a child with autism. Using both her personal and professional experience, Areva has established herself as a sought-after expert. She is a legal expert on The Dr. Phil Show, co-host on The Doctors, and makes regular appearances on Anderson Cooper 360, Good Morning America, CNN, MSNBC and Fox, among other shows.

Benjamin Hardy

Benjamin Hardy is the writer of Slipstream Time Hacking, a self-help phenomenon that has been downloaded more than 200,000 times. In 2016, Hardy was the #1 writer on Medium.com. His writing is informed by his personal experiences - from a troubled upbringing in a broken, drug-afflicted family, to the three children he has fostered with wife Lauren - and passionate interest in self-help and psychology. Hardy is currently studying towards a PhD in Industrial and Organizational Psychology.

Chris Irons

Dr Chris Irons is a clinical psychologist, researcher, author and trainer. He is co-director of Balanced Minds (www.balancedminds.com), a London-based organisation providing compassion focused psychological interventions for individuals and organisations. He is the author of a number of books, including The Compassionate Mind Workbook.

Claire North

Claire North is a pseudonym for Catherine Webb, a Carnegie Medal-nominated author whose debut novel was written when she was just fourteen years old. She is fast establishing herself as one of the most powerful and imaginative voices in modern fiction. Her first book published under the Claire North pen name was The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, which became a word-of-mouth bestseller and was shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award. The follow-up Touch received widespread critical acclaim and was described by the Independent as 'little short of a masterpiece'. Her next novel The Sudden Appearance of Hope won the 2017 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, and her recent book The End of the Day has been shortlisted for the 2017 Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year Award. In addition to working on her next novel 84K, Claire is also one of three writers contributing to the upcoming Black Mirror book, which ties into Charlie Brooker's award-winning TV series. In between writing, Claire also works as a theatre lighting designer. She lives in London.

Danny Penman

Dr Danny Penman Ph.D. is the bestselling author of Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world, co-written with Professor Mark Williams of Oxford University, and co-author of Mindfulness for Health with Vidyamala Burch. He is a qualified mindfulness teacher who first learned to meditate when he was 16. He is also a feature and comment writer for the Daily Mail, having previously worked for the Independent and the BBC. Danny has hosted mindfulness seminars for directors and senior figures from many leading companies. He is a frequent commentator on mindfulness for the BBC and various national newspapers.

Derrick Silove

Professor Silove is the author of Overcoming Panic and the Overcoming Panic and Agoraphobia Self-help Course, along with Vijaya Manicavasagar. He is a clinical psychiatrist and Director of the Centre for Population Mental Health Research and the Psychiatry Research and Teaching Unit at the School of Psychiatry, the University of New South Wales. He has worked for many years in the area of anxiety and traumatic stress, his main area of clinical work, research, service development and teaching.

Donna Beech

Donna Beech is a New York Times bestselling and award-winning co-author who has worked on dozens of books.

Elaine Beaumont

Elaine Beaumont PhD is a Lecturer in Counselling and Psychotherapy at Salford University and has spent over 15 years working in Education and the Counselling and Psychotherapy profession.Elaine is a BABCP Accredited Cognitive Behavioural Psychotherapist and Europe Approved Eye Movement Desensitisation and Reprocessing Practitioner and provides psychotherapy for organisations including Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue Service. Elaine also provides clinical supervision for individuals who work for Anxiety UK, The Priory Hospital and Beacon Counselling Services.Elaine's academic interests focus on exploring the effectiveness of therapeutic interventions, compassion in healthcare, knowledge, theory and practice of counselling and psychotherapy, mental health provision, and the importance of practitioner self-care.

Emily Thompson

Emily Thompson founded Indie Shopography, a design and strategy studio for online entrepreneurs, in 2009. Emily has worked to help makers, coaches, and designers develop an online business model, strategize and launch websites, and grow their online business. She lives in Chattanooga, Tennessee with her life and business partner, David, and their daughter.

Georg H. Eifert

Georg H. Eifert, PhD, is professor emeritus of psychology and former associate dean of the School of Health and Life Sciences at Chapman University in Orange, CA. He is coauthor of The Mindfulness Workbook for Anxiety and The Anorexia Workbook.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

John Harrison

John Harrison has been following a frugal lifestyle for over 30 years. A long-term member of Garden Organic, he runs two popular websites which are visited by hundreds of thousands of people each month. He has been growing vegetables on his own allotment for many years. He uses many organic methods, working with nature rather than against it. He is passionate about the quality of our food and the ecology that supports us all on this planet.John joined Garden Organic (previously the Henry Doubleday Research Association) in 1976 and is a Fellow of the National Vegetable Society, serving on the National Executive.

Joseph Prince

JOSEPH PRINCE is a leading voice in proclaiming the gospel of grace around the world through his teaching resources and television ministry. He is the senior pastor of New Creation Church, a vibrant and fast-growing church in Singapore, which has a congregation of more than 30,000. He separately heads Joseph Prince Ministries, Inc., an international broadcast ministry that seeks to build, encourage and inspire people with the gospel of Jesus Christ. You can visit his website at www.JosephPrince.org.

Kathleen Shannon

Kathleen Shannon is the founder of Braid Creative and Consulting, a boutique branding agency and consultancy she co-owns with her sister. Together they have helped thousands of creative entrepreneurs authentically brand and position themselves as creative experts. Kathleen also does creative coaching and is regularly invited to speak on personal branding at design conferences and retreats. She lives in Oklahoma City with her husband and son.

Martin N. Seif

Martin N. Seif, PhD, cofounded the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, and was a member of its Board of Directors from 1977 through 1991. Seif is associate director of the Anxiety and Phobia Treatment Center at White Plains Hospital, a faculty member of New York Presbyterian Hospital-Cornell Medical School, and is board-certified in cognitive behavioral psychology from the American Board of Professional Psychology. He maintains a private practice in Manhattan and Greenwich, and is coauthor of What Every Therapist Needs to Know about Anxiety Disorders.

Mary NurrieStearns

Mary NurrieStearns, LCSW, RYT, is a psychotherapist and yoga teacher with a counseling practice in Tulsa, OK. She is author of numerous articles on psycho-spiritual growth, coeditor of the book Soulful Living, coauthor of the book Yoga for Anxiety, and has produced DVDs on yoga for anxiety and emotional trauma. She leads transformational meditation and yoga retreats and teaches seminars across the United States.

Matthew McKay

Matthew McKay, PhD, is a professor at the Wright Institute in Berkeley, CA. He has authored and coauthored numerous books, including The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, Self-Esteem, Thoughts and Feelings, When Anger Hurts, and ACT on Life Not on Anger. He has also penned two fiction novels, Us and The Wawona Hotel. McKay received his PhD in clinical psychology from the California School of Professional Psychology, and specializes in the cognitive behavioral treatment of anxiety and depression. He lives and works in the Bay Area.

Natasha Scripture

Natasha Scripture is a writer and United Nations spokesperson based in New York. For eight years, Natasha covered humanitarian crises around the world for the United Nations, including conflicts and natural disasters in countries such as Haiti, Pakistan, Ethiopia, and Libya. Prior to becoming a humanitarian, Natasha worked in journalism for several years at a variety of organizations including the BBC, CNN, Al Jazeera English, National Geographic and Condé Nast Publications. Natasha has a Masters degree in Gender and Development Studies from the London School of Economics and a BA in Spirituality from New York University. An expert on women's issues and well-being, Natasha has a deep commitment to exploring spirituality, mysticism and alternative health, and seeks to empower and inspire women with her writing.

Peter Kenny

Thirty years working as an actor, musician, designer and director in Theatre and Radio; Peter has worked for: A&BC Theatre Co. The Royal Shakespeare Co. and The BBC Radio Drama Co. An award winning narrator of audio-books he has recorded over 100 titles, everything from: Iain M. Banks, Neil Gaiman, and Andrzej Sapkowski to Claire North, Jonas Jonasson Jeremy Vine and Paul O'Grady. He has worked with many of the major publishing houses including, Little Brown, Orion/Gollancz, Hachette, Harper, Hodder, Pan MacMillan, ISIS, RNIB, Podium and Penguin. Visit www.peterkenny.com @PeterKennyVoice