Related to: 'Why Can't I Meditate?'

Bruce Blumberg, PhD

Dr. Bruce Blumberg has been conducting pioneering research in the field of human biology for more than thirty years. In 2012, the was elected as a fellow of the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science. Today he is Professor in the Departments of Developmental and Cell Biology, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Biomedical Engineering at the University of California, Irvine (UCI). At UCI, his laboratory studies the biology of nuclear hormone receptors in development, physiology, and disease with a particular emphasis on how these are affected by hormonally active compounds in the diet and environment.

Catherine Atkinson

Catherine Atkinson has a degree in Food and Nutrition BSc (Hons). She has been Deputy Cookery Editor on Woman's Weekly magazine and later Cookery Editor of Home. Catherine is now a full-time writer and food consultant to various lifestyle and health magazines and has written more than sixty cookbooks. She specialises in healthy eating and her recent published books include 'Coconut water and coconut oil', 'Nut milks and nut butters' and 'Power blends and smoothies'

Chris Irons

Dr Chris Irons is a clinical psychologist, researcher, author and trainer. He is co-director of Balanced Minds (www.balancedminds.com), a London-based organisation providing compassion focused psychological interventions for individuals and organisations. He is the author of a number of books, including The Compassionate Mind Workbook.

Colin Espie

Colin A. Espie PhD, DSc is Professor of Sleep Medicine in the Nuffield Department of Clinical Neuroscience and a Fellow of Somerville College, University of Oxford. He is Research Director of the Experimental and Clinical Sleep Medicine program within the Sleep & Circadian Neuroscience Institute, and Clinical Director of the Oxford Online Program in Sleep Medicine. Dr Espie has authored/co-authored over 200 publications and books, particularly on CBT, and is co-founder of Big Health (Sleepio) which develops digital interventions for insomnia.

Derrick Silove

Professor Silove is the author of Overcoming Panic and the Overcoming Panic and Agoraphobia Self-help Course, along with Vijaya Manicavasagar. He is a clinical psychiatrist and Director of the Centre for Population Mental Health Research and the Psychiatry Research and Teaching Unit at the School of Psychiatry, the University of New South Wales. He has worked for many years in the area of anxiety and traumatic stress, his main area of clinical work, research, service development and teaching.

Elaine Beaumont

Dr Elaine Beaumont is a Lecturer in Counselling and Psychotherapy at Salford University and has spent over 15 years working in Education and the Counselling and Psychotherapy profession.Elaine is a BABCP Accredited Cognitive Behavioural Psychotherapist and Europe Approved Eye Movement Desensitisation and Reprocessing Practitioner and provides psychotherapy for organisations including Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue Service. Elaine also provides clinical supervision for individuals who work for Anxiety UK, The Priory Hospital and Beacon Counselling Services.Elaine's academic interests focus on exploring the effectiveness of therapeutic interventions, compassion in healthcare, knowledge, theory and practice of counselling and psychotherapy, mental health provision, and the importance of practitioner self-care.

Gareth Moore

Dr Gareth Moore is the author of over 50 puzzle and brain-training books for both children and adults, including The Mammoth Book of Brain Games, The Mammoth Book of New Sudoku and The Mammoth Book of Fun Brain Training. His puzzles also appear in a range of newspapers and magazines, and he frequently features in the media as a puzzle expert. He is also the creator of the daily brain-training website BrainedUp.com and runs popular puzzle site PuzzleMix.com.

Grace Smith

Grace Smith is a hypnotherapist and stress-relief expert. She is the founder of GraceSpace.co, the world's fastest growing online community committed to personal freedom, and the #CloseYourEyesGetFree movement. Grace is a certified Master Hypnotherapist and Hypnotherapy Instructor with the International Hypnosis Federation and has a dozen additional certifications in hypnosis and neurolinguistic programming. Grace lives with her husband in Los Angeles, California.

Gwyneth Paltrow

Gwyneth Paltrow is an Oscar winner and author of the New York Times bestselling cookbooks It's All Easy, My Father's Daughter and It's All Good. She is founder of Goop, a lifestyle brand and website that covers food, fashion, fitness and travel. Paltrow is a mother, businesswoman and actress, who lives in Los Angeles.

Irvin D. Yalom

Dr Irvin Yalom is an emeritus professor of psychiatry at Stanford University and the author of many books, including Creatures of a Day and the bestselling Love's Executioner. He and his wife, the author Marilyn Yalom, live in Palo Alto, California.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Jon Kabat-Zinn

Jon Kabat-Zinn, PhD, is founding Executive Director of the Center for Mindfulness in Medicine, Health Care, and Society at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He is also the founding director of its renowned Stress Reduction Clinic and Professor of Medicine emeritus at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He teaches mindfulness and Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) in various venues around the world. He received his Ph.D. in molecular biology from MIT in 1971 in the laboratory of Nobel Laureate, Salvador Luria.He is the author of numerous bestselling books about mindfulness and meditation. Overall, his books have been translated into over 30 languages.

Joseph Prince

JOSEPH PRINCE is a leading voice in proclaiming the gospel of grace around the world through his teaching resources and television ministry. He is the senior pastor of New Creation Church, a vibrant and fast-growing church in Singapore, which has a congregation of more than 30,000. He separately heads Joseph Prince Ministries, Inc., an international broadcast ministry that seeks to build, encourage and inspire people with the gospel of Jesus Christ. You can visit his website at www.JosephPrince.org.

Martha Beck

Martha Beck is a bestselling author. She has made numerous appearances on television and radio, including the television show OPRAH. She has carried out research at Harvard Business School, and through her company Life Design, Inc. she helps clients develop their careers and their lives.

Melanie Fennell

Melanie Fennell is one of the pioneers of cognitive therapy for depression in the UK and developed the Oxford Diploma in Cognitive Therapy and Oxford/MSc in Advanced Cognitive Therapy. She is a research clinician in the Oxford Mindfulness Centre and teaches on the Masters Degree in MBCT in Oxford University.

Michael Robotham

Before becoming a novelist, Michael Robotham was an investigative journalist working across America, Australia and Britain. As a journalist and writer he has investigated notorious cases such as the serial killer couple Fred and Rosemary West. He has worked with clinical and forensic psychologists as they helped police investigate complex, psychologically driven crimes. Michael's 2004 debut thriller, The Suspect, sold more than 1 million copies around the world. It is the first of eight novels featuring clinical psychologist Joe O'Loughlin, who faces his own increasing battle with a potentially debilitating disease. Michael has also written four standalone thrillers. In 2015 he won the UK's prestigious Crime Writers' Association Gold Dagger Award with his standalone thriller Life or Death. He lives in Sydney.

Nikki Van De Car

Nikki Van De Car is a blogger, knitter, and mother whose books What To Knit When You're Expecting and What To Knit: The Toddler Years chronicle the way her knitting changed as her daughter grew. Her popular knitting blog has received over 1.5 million pageviews since its inception in June 2008, and her patterns have been published in Interweave and Ply magazines, among others. Nikki lives in Hawaii with her family.

Patrick Holford

Patrick Holford is founder of the Institute for Optimum Nutrition in London. He is also director of the Food for the Brain Foundation and an honorary fellow of the British Association of Nutritional Therapy. He is one of Britain's top nutrition experts and is the author of over 25 health books.

Paul Gilbert

Professor Paul Gilbert is the author of the bestselling Overcoming Depression and was previously Professor of Clinical Psychology at the University of Derby and Head of Specialty, Adult Mental Health for the Southern Derbyshire Mental Health Trust. He is currently based at the Mental Health Research Unit, Kingsway Hospital, Derby.

Peter Cooper

Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychology at the University of Reading. He is also a practising clinical psychologist and Series Editor of the 'Overcoming' series. Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychopathology at the Winnicott Research Unit at the University of Reading. Recognised as one of the world's experts in the treatment of bulimia he has more recently focused on the treatment of postpartum depression.