Emma Donoghue - Life Mask - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748133475
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2011

Life Mask

By Emma Donoghue

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

From the author of Slammerkin, a gripping historical novel about three famous Londoners - an artist, an actress and an aristocrat - based on a true scandal of 18th century London.

A love story. A gamble. A battle. Let the games begin.

It's an era of looming war, and the erosion of freedom in the name of national security. A time of high art and big business, trashy spectacles and financial disasters. Celebrities are hounded by journalists, who serve up private passions alongside public crises. Marriages stretch or break, and so do friendships; political liaisons prove as dangerous as erotic ones. In Parliament, on stage, in the bedroom, at the race track, round the dinner table, old loyalties are wrenched by the winds of change. The World - as elite calls itself - is fighting to survive these chaotic times.

Biographical Notes

Emma Donoghue is an Irish novelist, playwright and historian. Her second novel HOOD won the American Library Association Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Award in 1997. She is currently adapting her novel STIR-FRY for Horizonline Films (Ireland).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781844081752
  • Publication date: 07 Jul 2005
  • Page count: 624
  • Imprint: Virago
She. . . makes interesting parallels between the political concerns of the 1790s and those of today — Guardian
A born writer — New York Times Book Review
. . . another bright, bruising slice of eighteenth-century life in London . . . Why should Michel Faber hog the glory? — Elle
Donoghue's latest book pulsates with the vibrancy of London in an era that couldn't be more extravagant. While Mad King George was teetering on the throne, the grotesquely privileged carried on a gaudy social whirl — Time Out
Sphere

The Zanzibar Wife

Deborah Rodriguez
Authors:
Deborah Rodriguez
Blackfriars

The Afterlives

Thomas Pierce
Authors:
Thomas Pierce

'Ridiculously good' (The New York Times) author Thomas Pierce's debut novel is a brilliantly dazzling and poignant love story that answers the question: What happens after we die? (Lots of stuff, it turns out).Jim Byrd died. Technically. For a few minutes. The diagnosis: heart attack at age thirty. Revived with no memory of any tunnels, lights, or angels, Jim wonders what - if anything - awaits us on the other side. Then a ghost shows up. Maybe. Jim and his new wife, Annie, find themselves tangling with holograms, psychics, messages from the beyond, and a machine that connects the living and the dead. As Jim and Annie journey through history and fumble through faith, they confront the spectre of loss that looms for anyone who dares to fall in love. Funny, fiercely original, and gracefully moving, The Afterlives will haunt you. In a good way.

Grand Central Publishing

The Color of Fear

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller

A knock on the door in the middle of the night. It can only be bad news, and it is: Sharon's father Elwood has been the victim of a vicious, racially-motivated attack. A nationally recognized Shoshone Indian artist, he'd been visiting Sharon for the holidays, browsing for gifts in San Francisco's exclusive Marina district when he was set upon by a mob of angry young men. Now, Elwood lies in a coma, hovering between life and death. With little progress on the investigation from the overworked, short-handed police, Sharon resolves to track down Elwood's attackers and bring them to justice herself. But when Sharon starts receiving hate-filled, racist threats, it's clear that Elwood's attackers aren't planning to come quietly...

Orbit

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Back Bay

The Rules of Love & Grammar

Mary Simses
Authors:
Mary Simses
Sphere

The Good Mother

Kim Lock
Authors:
Kim Lock
Little, Brown US

Shining Sea

Anne Korkeakivi
Authors:
Anne Korkeakivi
Sphere

Two by Two

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks

From the author of The Notebook and See Me comes a beautiful story of heartbreak, strength and unconditional love that will capture your heart.Praise for Nicholas Sparks'Pulls at the heartstrings' Sunday Times'When it comes to tales about love, Nicholas Sparks is one of the undisputed kings' Heat'An absorbing page-turner' Daily MailSometimes the end is just the beginning . . .Russell Green has it all: a loving family, a successful career and a beautiful house. But underneath his seemingly perfect world, cracks are beginning to appear . . . and no one is more surprised than Russ when the life he took for granted is turned upside down. Finding himself single-handedly caring for his young daughter, while trying to launch his own business, the only thing Russ knows is that he must shelter his little girl from the consequences of these changes. As Russ embarks on this daunting and unexpected new chapter of his life, a chance en'A fiercely romantic and touching tale' Heat on The Longest Ride'An A-grade romantic read' OK! on Safe Haven'This one won't leave a dry eye' Daily Mirror on The Lucky One

Corsair

The Sympathizer

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Authors:
Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sphere

Stories from the Little Beach Street Bakery

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan
Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

A wonderful story of love, romance and friendship from readers' favourite and the Sunday Time Top Ten bestselling Carole Matthews. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.The ladies of The Chocolate Lovers' Club should be gearing up for the wedding of the year but life keeps getting in the way . . . Lucy is worried about her financial situation and it keeps distracting her. Should she accept an offer of help from an untrustworthy source?Nadia may have a real chance at finding love but other areas of her life aren't so rosy. Something needs to change - but what?Autumn can't wait to meet someone she hasn't seen in a very long time. She's full of hope for the future but then things don't exactly go to plan . . . Chantal has been through so much and she's finally starting to feel settled. The last thing she needs is the kind of bad news that could change her life all over again.And yet, despite all the ups and downs, the Chocolate Lovers' ladies know they can get through it all as long as they have each other. They're not going to let anything get in the way of their happy-ever-afters in . . . The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding.

Constable

A Cold Death in Amsterdam

Anja de Jager
Authors:
Anja de Jager

Set in Amsterdam, the novel introduces Lotte Meerman, a Cold Case detective still recovering from the emotional devastation of her previous investigation. A tip-off leads Lotte to an unresolved ten-year-old murder case in which her father was the lead detective. When she discovers irregularities surrounding the original investigation that make him a suspect, she decides to cover for him. She doesn't tell her boss about the family connection and jeopardises her career by hiding evidence. Now she has to find the real murderer before her acts are discovered, otherwise her father will go to jail and she will lose her job, the one thing in life she still takes pride in . . .

Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas

Sphere

To Love Again

Danielle Steel
Authors:
Danielle Steel

An epic and romantic tale from the world's favourite storyteller, Danielle Steel.'Emotional and gripping . . . I was left in no doubt as to the reasons behind Steel's multi-million sales around the world' Daily Mail on BlueIsabella and Amadeo. The toast of international society and the undisputed leaders of Rome couture. Together they ruled the House of San Gregoria, a monument to Isabella's fabulous designs and stunning beauty, to Amadeo's unerring flair and golden Florentine elegance. And beyond their enchanted world of splendour shone their boundless, undying love for one another.Then suddenly their dream was shattered. Amadeo was gone - for ever. Isabella fled to Rome for a new life of bitter struggles and haunting memories. With her proud courage and all her zest for living, could she ever say goodbye to the past and dare . . . to love again.

Piatkus

Spring Tide

Iris Collier
Authors:
Iris Collier
Piatkus

Day Of Wrath

Iris Collier
Authors:
Iris Collier
Sphere

The Christmas Party

Louise Young is a devoted single mother whose only priority is providing for her daughter, Mia. Louise has a good job in a huge international corporation and she's grateful for it. The only problem is her boss who can't keep his hands to himself, but Louise can handle him. What she really doesn't have time for is romance - until she meets the company's rising star, Josh Wallace. Louise usually says no to evenings out but she's decided to let her hair down tonight. It's the office Christmas party, she has a pretty dress to wear and she's looking forward to some champagne and fun. She's completely unaware that others around her are too busy playing dangerous games to enjoy the party - until she's pulled into those games herself . . . Romance is in the air and secrets are about to be uncovered. It's going to be a night to remember at The Christmas Party.

Sphere

Voices In Summer

Rosamunde Pilcher
Authors:
Rosamunde Pilcher

Laura, newly married and ever conscious she may be living in the shadow of her husband Alec's first wife, decides to take a holiday with his family in Cornwall. Through the long hot summer days she is slowly charmed by the beautiful old house and the people she learns to know and love. In time her uneasy spirit is soothed by the sparkling, brilliant sea, and her restless heart finally calmed.But is this new-found tranquillity too good to be true? For with the arrival of an anonymous letter, one accusing her of having an affair, Laura's world is thrown into turmoil . . .

Sphere

A Place to Call Home

Piatkus

Best Kind of Broken

Chelsea Fine
Authors:
Chelsea Fine

Pixie Marshall's freshman year of college ended two weeks ago, as did her residence in the school dorms. Which means she's in need of a new place to live and, subsequently, a job. She started working at Willow Inn because one of the job perks-and she'd use that term loosely-is free room and board. But what she hadn't realized is that her free room shares a hallway and a bathroom with the only person she was hoping to avoid for the rest of her life: Levi Andrews. As in: Hot guy. Handyman. Keeper of all her painful memories. Once upon a time, they were best friends on the brink of being something more, but that was before everything went to hell. All Pixie wants to do now is avoid him completely, which might be more harder than she thought. Because despite everything that happened before, Levi hasn't let go of his feelings for her either.