Emma Donoghue - Life Mask - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748133475
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2011

Life Mask

By Emma Donoghue

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

From the author of Slammerkin, a gripping historical novel about three famous Londoners - an artist, an actress and an aristocrat - based on a true scandal of 18th century London.

A love story. A gamble. A battle. Let the games begin.

It's an era of looming war, and the erosion of freedom in the name of national security. A time of high art and big business, trashy spectacles and financial disasters. Celebrities are hounded by journalists, who serve up private passions alongside public crises. Marriages stretch or break, and so do friendships; political liaisons prove as dangerous as erotic ones. In Parliament, on stage, in the bedroom, at the race track, round the dinner table, old loyalties are wrenched by the winds of change. The World - as elite calls itself - is fighting to survive these chaotic times.

Biographical Notes

Emma Donoghue is an Irish novelist, playwright and historian. Her second novel HOOD won the American Library Association Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Award in 1997. She is currently adapting her novel STIR-FRY for Horizonline Films (Ireland).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781844081752
  • Publication date: 07 Jul 2005
  • Page count: 624
  • Imprint: Virago
She. . . makes interesting parallels between the political concerns of the 1790s and those of today — Guardian
A born writer — New York Times Book Review
. . . another bright, bruising slice of eighteenth-century life in London . . . Why should Michel Faber hog the glory? — Elle
Donoghue's latest book pulsates with the vibrancy of London in an era that couldn't be more extravagant. While Mad King George was teetering on the throne, the grotesquely privileged carried on a gaudy social whirl — Time Out
Center Street

Vengeance

Newt Gingrich
Authors:
Newt Gingrich
Forever

Sugarplum Way

Debbie Mason
Authors:
Debbie Mason
Corsair

Everything Must Go

Jenny Fran Davis
Authors:
Jenny Fran Davis
Sphere

All That She Can See

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher
Constable

Splash!

Stephen Glover
Authors:
Stephen Glover
Fleet

The Intuitionist

Colson Whitehead
Authors:
Colson Whitehead
Sphere

The Garden of Small Beginnings

Abbi Waxman
Authors:
Abbi Waxman
Little, Brown

The Stars are Fire

Anita Shreve
Authors:
Anita Shreve

The brilliantly gripping new novel from the New York Times best-selling author of The Pilot's Wife (an Oprah's Book Club selection).Hot breath on Grace's face. Claire is screaming, and Grace is on her feet. As she lifts her daughter, a wall of fire fills the window. Perhaps a quarter of a mile back, if even that. Where's Gene? Didn't he come home? 1947. After a summer-long drought, fires are racing along the coast of Maine, ravaging two hundred thousand acres - the largest fire in the state's history.Five months pregnant, Grace Holland is left alone to protect her two toddlers when her husband Gene joins the volunteers fighting to bring the fire under control. Along with her best friend, Rosie, and Rosie's two young children, the women watch in horror as their houses go up in flames, then walk into the ocean as a last resort. They spend the night frantically trying to save their children. When dawn comes, they have miraculously survived, but their lives are forever changed: homeless, penniless, and left to face an uncertain future in a town that no longer exists.As Grace awaits news of her husband's fate, she is thrust into a new world in which she must make a life on her own, beginning with absolutely nothing - she must find work, a home, a way to provide for her children. In the midst of devastating loss, Grace discovers glorious new freedoms - joys and triumphs she could never have expected her narrow life with Gene could contain - and her spirit soars. And then the unthinkable happens, and Grace's bravery is tested as never before.

Sphere

The Timewaster Diaries

Robin Cooper
Authors:
Robin Cooper
Hachette Audio

The Chocolate Lovers' Diet

Survival tips for times of stress:1. Take deep breaths2. Count to ten3. Eat chocolateLucy thought she had got her happily ever after with the gorgeous Aidan but things aren't turning out the way she had hoped they would. But she's not the only one with problems - Autumn's new boyfriend has yet to meet her parents, Nadia's husband has sworn he's given up gambling but she's finding that hard to believe, and Chantal is doing all she can to save her marriage. It's clear that these girls are going to need a lot of chocolate.

Sphere

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses

Katie Fforde calls Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses 'A gorgeous novel that will delight' A heart-warming and poignant novel of romance, family and second chances, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews at her outstanding best. Christie Chapman is a single mum who spends her days commuting to her secretarial job in London and looking after her teenage son, Finn. It's not an easy life but Christie finds comfort in her love of crafting, and spends her spare time working on her beautiful creations. From intricately designed cards to personalised gifts, Christie's flair for the handmade knows no bounds and it's not long before opportunity comes knocking.Christie can see a future full of hope and possibility for her and Finn - and if the handsome Max is to be believed, one full of love too. It's all there for the taking. And then, all of sudden, her world is turned upside down. Christie knows that something has to give, but can she really give up her dreams and the chance of real love? Will Christie find her happy ending in . . . Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.

Sphere

Catch Me if You Cannes

Lisa Dickenson
Authors:
Lisa Dickenson
Import Aus

The Crossroads

Pamela Cook
Authors:
Pamela Cook
Sphere

The Good Mother

Kim Lock
Authors:
Kim Lock

'An excellent read and elegantly plotted . . . reminded me of The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty' thebookbag.co.uk'Filled with twists and surprises - highly recommended' Closer'Goes straight in for the jugular' Evening Standard, eight-star reviewHeart-breaking, tender and dramatic, The Good Mother is a story about the price of motherhood and the unthinkable things we do in the name of love. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and B A Paris.One ordinary afternoon, Fairlie Winter receives a devastating phone call - her best friend is dead.Jenna Rudolph was a devoted mother and wife and has left behind her young son, Henry, and her grief-stricken husband, Ark. The circumstances surrounding Jenna's death, while tragic, seem to be clear-cut yet Fairlie can't shake the feeling that Jenna was hiding something.And then Fairlie receives a letter. From Jenna. Posted before she died.The contents of that letter force Fairlie on a journey to discover the truth - a truth that she may not be ready for. Driven by her need for answers, she uncovers a horrifying past of two desperate mothers and the tragic choices they made for their children and she must ask herself, is there such a thing as loving your child too much?

Sphere

The Summer Seaside Kitchen

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan

'A heartwarming, charming and atmospheric story that made me long to escape to Mure. Total joy' - Sophie KinsellaA deliciously warm and funny slice of life from Jenny Colgan, Sunday Times top ten bestselling author of Summer at the Little Beach Street Bakery and The Little Shop of Happy-Ever-After.Flora is definitely, absolutely sure that escaping from the quiet Scottish island where she grew up to the noise and hustle of the big city was the right choice. What was there for her on Mure? It's a place where everyone has known her all her life, and no one will let her forget the past. In the city, she can be anonymous, ambitious and indulge herself in her hopeless crush on her gorgeous boss, Joel. When a new client demands Flora's presence back on Mure, she's suddenly swept back into life with her brothers (all strapping, loud and seemingly incapable of basic housework) and her father. As Flora indulges her new-found love of cooking and breathes life into the dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour, she's also going to have to come to terms with past mistakes - and work out exactly where her future lies...Let Jenny Colgan make your dreams come true!

Sphere

The House of Secrets

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
Sphere

A Boy Made of Blocks

Keith Stuart
Authors:
Keith Stuart

***THE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 BESTSELLER*** The number one Amazon bestseller A Boy Made of Blocks is a moving, funny and heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author's own experiences with his son, the perfect latest obsession for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes. 'Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did' Graeme Simsion A father who rediscovers love Alex loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn't understand him. He needs a reason to grab his future with both hands.A son who shows him how to live Meet eight-year-old Sam: beautiful, surprising - and different. To him the world is a frightening mystery. But as his imagination comes to life, his family will be changed . . . for good. 'One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time' Good Housekeeping 'Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome.' Jenny Colgan 'Heartwarming' The Unmumsy Mum 'A wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love' Daily Mail 'A great plot, with a rare sense of honesty' Guardian 'A truly beautiful story' Heat 'A heartwarming and wise story' Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

Sphere

Winters' Snow

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher

An exclusive On the Other Side novella featuring the characters Vincent Winters and Evie Snow.Prove yourself worthy.Prove yourself true.Fight like you didn'tand she'll come to you. Evie Snow was the love of Vincent Winters' life, and of every lifetime he would ever live, but they didn't get the ending they wanted. He never stopped loving her though and he never, ever, forgot about her.Suddenly Vincent has the chance to right an old wrong and to finally prove himself worthy of Evie's love - he just needs to get to her first.As Vincent begins the journey of a lifetime, he learns more about love than he ever thought possible, and somehow, some way, he may also find his way back to the only woman he ever truly loved . . .

Virago

The Dark Circle

Linda Grant
Authors:
Linda Grant
Virago

London Lies Beneath

Stella Duffy
Authors:
Stella Duffy

In August 1912, three friends set out on an adventure. Two of them come home. Tom, Jimmy and Itzhak have grown up together in the crowded slums of Walworth. They are used to narrow streets, the bustle of East Lane market, extended families weaving in and out of each other's lives. All three boys are expected to follow their father's trades and stay close to home. But Tom has wider dreams. So when he hears of a scouting trip, sailing from Waterloo to Sheppey and the mouth of the Thames - he is determined to go. And Itzhak and Jimmy go with him.Inspired by real events, this is the story of three friends, and a tragedy that will change them for ever. It is also a song of south London, of working class families with hidden histories, of a bright and complex world long neglected. London Lies Beneath is a powerful and compelling novel, rich with life and full of wisdom.