Brent Weeks - The Blinding Knife - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748116980
    • Publication date:13 Sep 2012
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405525756
    • Publication date:03 Jan 2013
Books in this series

The Blinding Knife

Book 2 of Lightbringer

By Brent Weeks

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

This second book in the Lightbringer series was a critically acclaimed NEW YORK TIMES hardback bestseller

GAVIN GUILE IS DYING.

He'd thought he had five years left - now he's got less than one. With fifty thousand refugees, a bastard son and an ex-fiancée who may have learned his darkest secret, Gavin's got problems on every side.

As he loses control, the world's magic runs wild, threatening to destroy the Seven Satrapies. The old gods are being reborn and their army of colour wights is unstoppable.

The only salvation may be the brother whose freedom and life Gavin stole sixteen years ago.

Biographical Notes

Brent Weeks studied at Hillsdale College, before brief stints walking the earth like Caine from Kung-Fu, also tending bar, and corrupting the youth. (Not at the same time.) He started writing on napkins and, eventually, someone paid him for it. Brent doesn't own cats or wear a ponytail.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841499086
  • Publication date: 27 Aug 2013
  • Page count: 784
  • Imprint: Orbit
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
Hachette Audio

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

Following The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Phillip Pullman'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Hachette Audio

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan
Orbit

The Defiant Heir

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso

'Charming, intelligent, fast-moving, beautifully atmospheric' Genevieve Cogman on The Tethered MageAcross the border, the Witch Lords of Vaskandar are preparing for war. But before an invasion can begin, they must call a rare gathering of all seventeen lords to decide a course of action. Lady Amalia Cornaro knows that this Conclave might be her only chance to stifle the growing flames of war, and she is ready to make any sacrifice if it means saving Raverra from destruction.Amalia and Zaira must go behind enemy lines, using every ounce of wit and cunning they have, to sway Vaskandar from war. Or else it will all come down to swords and fire.'A beautifully written political fantasy drama full of courtly intrigue, powerful enemies and phenomenal magic potential. I raced through this exquisite debut in three days and adored it' Fantasy Book Review on The Tethered Mage

Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Scourged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Corsair

Space Opera

Catherynne M. Valente
Authors:
Catherynne M. Valente
Orbit

Burn Bright

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Hachette Audio

The Hawk Eternal

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

While the warlike and heartless Aenir ravage the territory outside the mountain fastness of the clans, Sigarni, the Hawk Queen, arrives in this alternate version of her own universe through a gate in space and time. Taliesen, last of the gatekeepers, has no idea why she has arrived but knows that heroes are needed...Only Caswallon, loner, warrior and thief, realises the true extent of danger and horrors that his people are about to face. As Taliesen tries to discover Sigarni's purpose, Caswallon must unite the clans to overcome their greatest peril.In this sequel to THE IRONHAND'S DAUGHTER, David Gemmell returns to the clean air of High Druin and the smell of blood and burning that is soon to taint it.

Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Piatkus

The Gods of Love: to save the world, she'll have to save herself . . .

Nicola Mostyn
Authors:
Nicola Mostyn
Piatkus

Born of Vengeance

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon

'A publishing phenomenon... [Sherrilyn Kenyon] is the reigning queen of the wildly successful paranormal scene.' Publishers Weekly 'Kenyon builds a story that is wall-to-wall action, yet touched with poignancy.' Romantic TimesA fate worse than death . . . Bastien Cabarro survived the brutal slaughter of his entire family only to have his wife pin their murders on him. Made Ravin by The League, he is now a target for their assassins-in-training to hunt and kill. The average life expectancy for such beings is six weeks. But defying the odds is what this Gyron Force officer does best, and Bastien won't rest until he lays his betrayers in their graves.Ten years later, he has one chance to balance the scales of justice, provided he relies on his former wingman - the very sister of the woman who testified against him.Major Ember Wyldestarrin joined the outlaw Tavali the day Kirovar fell into the hands of a tyrant, and she and her team were left on an outpost to die under the barrage of enemy fire. The last thing she wants is to be involved in politics again. But if she doesn't bring Bastien in, her sister will pay the ultimate price. Now she has to find some way to betray her former wingman before he catches on and kills her. Even so, treachery doesn't come easy to a woman who took a loyalty oath to protect her homeworld and comrades-in-arms, especially when Bastien means more to her than just another partner.Yet as she tries to do right for her family, she learns that Bastien doesn't just hold the key to the fate of Kirovar, he is vital to The Sentella-League war, and to The Tavali. If she hands him over, three nations fall. If she doesn't, her entire family dies. Their fates are all in her hands, and time for all of them is quickly running out.

Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall
Orbit

Perfect Shadow

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks

For the first time in print as a special hardcover edition, Brent Weeks's blockbuster novella Perfect Shadow tells the origin story of the Night Angel trilogy's most enigmatic character: Durzo Blint. Also includes the short story, I, Nightangel.Gaelan Starfire is a farmer, happy to be a husband and a father; a careful, quiet, simple man. He's also an immortal, peerless in the arts of war. Over the centuries, he's worn many faces to hide his gift, but he is a man ill-fit for obscurity, and all too often he's become a hero, his very names passing into legend: Acaelus Thorne, Yric the Black, Hrothan Steelbender, Tal Drakkan, Rebus Nimble.But when Gaelan must take a job hunting down the world's finest assassins for the beautiful courtesan-and-crimelord Gwinvere Kirena, what he finds may destroy everything he's ever believed in.

Hachette Audio

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

'TRULY EPIC FANTASY' James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was LostFrom the east came the Bone Giants. From the south, the fire-wielding Hathrim.It was an invasion that sparked war across the six nations of Teldwen. Now the kingdom's only hope is the discovery of a new form of magic - one that will call the wondrous beasts of the world to fight by the side of humankind.In the start of a thrilling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world of warring giants and elemental magic.'This isn't just a breath of fresh air for the genre, it's a damned hurricane' Jason M. Hough, New York Times bestselling author'A rare masterpiece that's both current and timeless . . . merging the fantasy bones of Tolkien and Rothfuss with a wide cast of characters who'll break your heart'Delilah S. Dawson

Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan

International No.1 bestselling author Trudi Canavan returns with the third instalment in the Millennium's Rule series - her most powerful and thrilling adventure yet.Five years have passed since the Rebels confronted the Raen. Five years, in which Qall - the boy Rielle rescued - has grown up among the Travellers, with no memory of the life that was stolen from him.Five years of chaos, barely contained by Baluka and the Restorers. Worlds are at war, some overrun by deadly machines, some drained of magic by power-hungry sorcerers.As Qall comes of age, and Rielle and Tyen's hard-won peace is threatened, their loyalties are tested - and Qall's very existence is at stake.Because Dahli is still determined to restore Valhan to power, and he will stop at nothing to succeed. Escape to a new world. Discover the magic of Trudi Canavan.

Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington

An Echo of Things to Come continues the epic story that began in The Shadow of What Was Lost, the acclaimed fantasy blockbuster from James Islington. AS SHADOWS RISE, A DARKNESS AWAKESAn amnesty has been declared for all Augurs - finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However, as Davian and his new allies hurry north towards the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.Meanwhile, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .Praise for the series: 'Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian'Numerous surprises . . . action aplenty' SciFiNow'You'll be left wanting more' SFX'Action-packed epic fantasy' BookBag

Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine
Orbit

Silence Fallen

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

Coyote shapeshifter Mercy Thompson is attacked and abducted in her home territory. Fighting off a crazed werewolf, she manages to escape, only to find herself alone in the heart of Europe, without money, without clothing and on the run from the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world. Unable to contact her pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, but first she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy needs to be at her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves - and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise . . .