Kate Elliott - Cold Steel - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748125425
    • Publication date:25 Jun 2013
Books in this series

Cold Steel

Spiritwalker: Book Three

By Kate Elliott

  • Paperback
  • £10.99

The final volume in this historical fantasy of dragons and politics in the New World, the Spiritwalker trilogy is fantasy that's perfect for fans of Anne McCaffrey or Naomi Novik's Temeraire series. Now out in paperback.

'Kate Elliott is writing some of the best fantasy around' - Trudi Canavan

WILL WAR SET THEM FREE?

Trouble, treachery and magic seem to follow Cat Barahal wherever she goes. The Master of the Wild Hunt has stolen away her husband. The ruler of the Taino kingdom blames her for his mother's murder. An enraged fire mage wants to kill her. And Cat, her cousin Bee and her half-brother Rory aren't even back in Europa yet, where revolution is burning up the streets.

Rebellions to plot. Enemies to crush. Handsome men to rescue. Cat and Bee have their work cut out for them.

Biographical Notes

KATE ELLIOTT is the author of many novels, including BLACK WOLVES, COURT OF FIVES, the Spiritwalker trilogy, the Novels of the Jaran, and the Crossroads trilogy. KING'S DRAGON, the first novel in the Crown of Stars series, was a Nebula Award finalist, and THE GOLDEN KEY (with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson) was a World Fantasy Award finalist. Kate was born in Iowa, raised in Oregon, and now lives in Hawaii. She invites you to visit her website at kateelliott.com or follow her on Twitter @KateElliottSFF.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841498867
  • Publication date: 03 Dec 2013
  • Page count: 784
  • Imprint: Orbit
It's a definite hands-down great read . . . the characters, the mysteries, the background history, the cultural complexity were all so intriguing I couldn't stop reading — Elizabeth Moon on COLD MAGIC
Elliott pulls out all the stops in a wildly imaginative narrative that will ring happy bells for fans of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
It's been a while since a scene in a book made me exclaim out loud, but that scene where the cold mage first turns up and all the lamps start going out, and what follows . . . I won't spoil it, but simply say I ripped through this book faster than I have any larger sized fantasy for quite some years. Kate is writing some of the best fantasy around right now — Trudi Canavan on COLD MAGIC
I loved this book, and it earns a spot on my top 10 favourites of the year. I cannot wait for Cold Steel! — BOOK SMUGGLERS on COLD FIRE
Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri
Orbit

The Winter Road

Adrian Selby
Authors:
Adrian Selby
Orbit

Treason of Hawks

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Hachette Audio

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson
Hachette Audio

Magefall

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Orbit

Bloody Rose

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames
Piatkus

Supercute Futures

Martin Millar
Authors:
Martin Millar

'Undeniably brilliant' - Guardian'The funniest writer in Britain today' - GQ'Martin Millar writes like Kurt Vonnegut might have written, if he'd been born fifty years later in a different country and hung around with entirely the wrong sort of people' - Neil Gaiman'For the deceptively simple poetry of the everyday, nobody does it better' The List A glorious offbeat mix of manga and cyberpunk, this latest by acclaimed author Martin Millar is an unforgettable and timely work of dystopian fiction. A magnificent juxtaposition of determinedly cute, bright and entertaining creatures against the background of a slowly decaying world, this manages to highlight everything that is both terrifying and inspiring about the human condition: we are fiddling while Rome is burning, but isn't the music fine . . .

Orbit

King of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker

THE KING IS DEAD, LONG LIVE THE KING . . .Many years of peace have passed in Maniyadoc, years of relative calm for the assassin Girton Club-Foot. Even the Forgetting Plague, which ravaged the rest of the kingdoms, seemed to pass them by. But now Rufra ap Vthyr eyes the vacant High-King's throne and will take his court to the capital, a rat's nest of intrigue and murder, where every enemy he has ever made will gather and the endgame of twenty years of politics and murder will be played out in his bid to become the King of all Kings.Friends become enemies, enemies become friends and the god of death, Xus the Unseen, stands closer than ever - casting his shadow over everything most dear to Girton.

Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Orbit

The Empire of Ashes

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan

Armies will clash and ancient secrets will be revealed in The Empire of Ashes, the thrilling conclusion to Anthony Ryan's Draconis Memoria series.The White Drake's army has cut a bloody swathe across the world, leaving nothing but ash in its wake. Thousands of innocents have died beneath its blades and countless more will surely follow.Only small-time criminal Claydon Torcreek and master spy Lizanne Lethridge - along with their ragtag band of allies - stand between the white drake's fury and the world's end.To save the future, they must delve into the past - and unravel a timeless mystery that might just turn the tide once and for all.The Draconis Memoria: The Waking FireThe Legion of FlameThe Empire of AshesRaven's Shadow:Blood SongTower LordQueen of Fire

Orbit

The Labyrinth Index

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross

Britain is under New Management. The disbanding of the Laundry - the British espionage agency that deals with supernatural threats, has culminated in the unthinkable - an elder god in residence in 10 Downing Street.But in true 'the enemy of my enemy' fashion, Mhairi Murphy finds herself working with His Excellency Nylarlathotep on foreign policy - there are worse things, it seems, than an elder god in power, and they lie in deepest, darkest America.A thousand-mile-wide storm system has blanketed the midwest, and the president is nowhere to be found - Mhari must lead a task force of disgraced Laundry personnel into the storm front to discover the truth. But working for an elder god is never easy, and as the stakes rise, Mhari will soon question exactly where her loyalties really lie.

Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Hachette Audio

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

Magic. It can get a guy killed. Return to the world of the Dresden Files with Harry Dresden (the only wizard in the Chicago phone book) and friends as they solve supernatural mysteries, protect the helpless, and fight evil.Brief Cases is a new collection of Dresden Files stories which will include an original novella, from international bestseller Jim Butcher.Stories included in this collection: 'Curses', 'AAAA Wizardry', 'Even Hand', 'B is for Bigfoot', 'I was a Teenage Bigfoot', 'Bigfoot on Campus', 'Bombshells', 'Jury Duty', 'Cold Case', 'Day One', 'A Fistful of Warlocks', 'Zoo Day' (original novella taking place between Skin Game and Peace Talks)

Orbit

The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn

Tyler Whitesides
Authors:
Tyler Whitesides
Orbit

Wrath of Empire

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan

'A fast paced story, set in a brilliantly realised world . . . One of the best fantasy novels of recent years' Bookbag on Sins of Empire The country is in turmoil. With the capital city occupied, half a million refugees are on the march, looking for safety on the frontier, accompanied by Lady Flint's soldiers. But escaping war is never easy, and soon the battle may find them, whether they are prepared or not.Back in the capital, Michel Bravis smuggles even more refugees out of the city. But internal forces are working against him. With enemies on all sides, Michael may be forced to find help with the very occupiers he's trying to undermine.Meanwhile, Ben Styke is building his own army. He and his mad lancers are gathering every able body they can find and searching for an ancient artifact that may have the power to turn the tides of war in their favor. But what they find may not be what they're looking for.Magic and gunpowder collide in Wrath of Empire, the explosive second novel in the Gods of Blood and Powder series.Praise for Brian McClellan:'Gunpowder and magic. An explosive combination' Peter Brett'Brings a welcome breath of gunpowder-tinged air to epic fantasy' Anthony Ryan 'Tense action, memorable characters, rising stakes . . . Brian McClellan is the real thing' Brent Weeks'Innovative magic, quick-paced plot, interesting world. I had a blast' Brandon SandersonBooks by Brian McClellan: Gods of Blood and PowderSins of EmpireWrath of EmpireThe Powder Mage trilogyPromise of Blood (Winner of the Gemmell Morningstar Award)The Crimson CampaignThe Autumn Republic

Orbit US

Torn

Rowenna Miller
Authors:
Rowenna Miller
Piatkus

Death Doesn't Bargain

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child
Piatkus

Heart on Fire

Amanda Bouchet
Authors:
Amanda Bouchet
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker

Honorine's life as as maid at the Vidalia mansion is rather dull, dusting treasures from faraway places and daydreaming in front of maps of the world. But everything changes when she catches two brutish sailors ransacking Lord Vidalia's study, and then follows a mysterious girl with wings out into the night....Suddenly, Honorine is whisked into the middle of a battle between the crew of a spectacular steamship and a band of mythical constellations. The stars in the sky have come to life to defend themselves against those who want to harness their powers. Much to her surprise, Honorine is the crux of it all, the center of an epic clash between magic and science, the old ways and the new. But can this spirited young girl bring both sides of a larger-than-life fight together before they unleash an evil power even older than the stars?