Kate Elliott - Cold Steel - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748125425
    • Publication date:25 Jun 2013
Books in this series

Cold Steel

Spiritwalker: Book Three

By Kate Elliott

  • Paperback
  • £10.99

The final volume in this historical fantasy of dragons and politics in the New World, the Spiritwalker trilogy is fantasy that's perfect for fans of Anne McCaffrey or Naomi Novik's Temeraire series. Now out in paperback.

'Kate Elliott is writing some of the best fantasy around' - Trudi Canavan

WILL WAR SET THEM FREE?

Trouble, treachery and magic seem to follow Cat Barahal wherever she goes. The Master of the Wild Hunt has stolen away her husband. The ruler of the Taino kingdom blames her for his mother's murder. An enraged fire mage wants to kill her. And Cat, her cousin Bee and her half-brother Rory aren't even back in Europa yet, where revolution is burning up the streets.

Rebellions to plot. Enemies to crush. Handsome men to rescue. Cat and Bee have their work cut out for them.

Biographical Notes

KATE ELLIOTT is the author of many novels, including BLACK WOLVES, COURT OF FIVES, the Spiritwalker trilogy, the Novels of the Jaran, and the Crossroads trilogy. KING'S DRAGON, the first novel in the Crown of Stars series, was a Nebula Award finalist, and THE GOLDEN KEY (with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson) was a World Fantasy Award finalist. Kate was born in Iowa, raised in Oregon, and now lives in Hawaii. She invites you to visit her website at kateelliott.com or follow her on Twitter @KateElliottSFF.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841498867
  • Publication date: 03 Dec 2013
  • Page count: 784
  • Imprint: Orbit
It's a definite hands-down great read . . . the characters, the mysteries, the background history, the cultural complexity were all so intriguing I couldn't stop reading — Elizabeth Moon on COLD MAGIC
Elliott pulls out all the stops in a wildly imaginative narrative that will ring happy bells for fans of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
It's been a while since a scene in a book made me exclaim out loud, but that scene where the cold mage first turns up and all the lamps start going out, and what follows . . . I won't spoil it, but simply say I ripped through this book faster than I have any larger sized fantasy for quite some years. Kate is writing some of the best fantasy around right now — Trudi Canavan on COLD MAGIC
I loved this book, and it earns a spot on my top 10 favourites of the year. I cannot wait for Cold Steel! — BOOK SMUGGLERS on COLD FIRE
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker

For fans of Rick Riordan, the constellations come to life in this paperback edition of an imaginative fantasy adventure debut.Honorine's life as as maid at the Vidalia mansion is rather dull, dusting treasures from faraway places and daydreaming in front of maps of the world. But everything changes when she catches two brutish sailors ransacking Lord Vidalia's study, and then follows a mysterious girl with wings out into the night....Suddenly, Honorine is whisked into the middle of a battle between the crew of a spectacular steamship and a band of mythical constellations. The stars in the sky have come to life to defend themselves against those who want to harness their powers. Much to her surprise, Honorine is the crux of it all, the center of an epic clash between magic and science, the old ways and the new. But can this spirited young girl bring both sides of a larger-than-life fight together before they unleash an evil power even older than the stars?

Hachette Audio

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

Following The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Phillip Pullman'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Hachette Audio

Wrath of Empire

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan
Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall
Piatkus

Death Doesn't Bargain

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

Blood of the Gods

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Orbit

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child

Freya has a new virtual assistant. It knows what she likes, knows what she wants and knows whose voice she most needs to hear: her missing sister's. It adopts her sister's personality, recreating her through a life lived online. This data ghost knows everything about Freya's sister: every date she ever went on, every photo she took, every secret she ever shared. In fact it knows things it shouldn't be possible to know. It's almost as if her sister is still out there somewhere, feeding fresh updates into the cloud. But that's impossible. Isn't it?

Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

Deadmen Walking

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky
Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Orbit

Of Gods and Men

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan

The gruff and mysterious warrior known as Vargus has meant many things to many people over the course of his long life. But when he hears of a village suffering strange attacks in the dead of night, he must take up the role of the Gath - the people's protector - once again, before any more children go missing.Exclusive to ebook and audiobook, Of Gods and Men is an original epic fantasy novella by Stephen Aryan focusing on a fan-favourite character from the Age of Dread trilogy. Story takes place before the events of Battlemage.

Robinson

Therapy Quest

Janina Scarlet, Vince Alvendia
Contributors:
Janina Scarlet, Vince Alvendia

Did you ever want to be a hero? Have you ever dreamed of going on an epic quest to destroy monsters, defeat evil forces and fly on the back of a dragon? This interactive new self-help book puts you, the reader, in a fantasy world where every decision you make and every path you take will influence the outcome of your journey. When the seer Anka spirits you away to the world of Here, you find yourself proclaimed the Chosen One - the hero everyone is relying on to defeat the evil sorceress Mallena before she destroys everything. But you don't feel like a hero, do you? If you choose to accept this quest, you will have an opportunity to learn the skills that you need and put together a crew of loyal friends and companions to help you with your journey. The skills are based on acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), which has been shown through research to help people overcome depression, anxiety, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), chronic pain, addiction disorders and many other common problems.Your journey will be full of danger, loss and strange creatures, but it will also be full of excitement, adventure and fun, and will let you form life-long bonds of friendship, which no curses can break. This book is your call to adventure, an invitation to be the hero in your own story.

Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Two

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson
Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee
Running Press Adult

Practical Magic

Nikki Van De Car
Authors:
Nikki Van De Car

Practical Magic: A Beginner's Guide to Crystals, Horoscopes, Psychics, and Spells is for the casual clairvoyant, the weekend witch. This charming entre into the mystical introduces readers to the wonders of modern magic, from crystals and astrology to chakras, dream interpretation, and, of course, a few spells!Focusing on three primary areas -- healing, magic, and fortunetelling - Practical Magic provides the perfect primer, with a warm, welcoming tone and spell-binding illustrations. Clear introductions on trending topics, like herbal tonics and astrological charts, are paired with home remedies, hands-on instructions, and suggested rituals in a chic, stylish format that will capture the imaginations of good witches of all ages.

Orbit

The Black Elfstone: Book One of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks