Kate Elliott - Cold Steel - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748125425
    • Publication date:25 Jun 2013
Books in this series

Cold Steel

Spiritwalker: Book Three

By Kate Elliott

  • Paperback
  • £10.99

The final volume in this historical fantasy of dragons and politics in the New World, the Spiritwalker trilogy is fantasy that's perfect for fans of Anne McCaffrey or Naomi Novik's Temeraire series. Now out in paperback.

'Kate Elliott is writing some of the best fantasy around' - Trudi Canavan

WILL WAR SET THEM FREE?

Trouble, treachery and magic seem to follow Cat Barahal wherever she goes. The Master of the Wild Hunt has stolen away her husband. The ruler of the Taino kingdom blames her for his mother's murder. An enraged fire mage wants to kill her. And Cat, her cousin Bee and her half-brother Rory aren't even back in Europa yet, where revolution is burning up the streets.

Rebellions to plot. Enemies to crush. Handsome men to rescue. Cat and Bee have their work cut out for them.

Biographical Notes

KATE ELLIOTT is the author of many novels, including BLACK WOLVES, COURT OF FIVES, the Spiritwalker trilogy, the Novels of the Jaran, and the Crossroads trilogy. KING'S DRAGON, the first novel in the Crown of Stars series, was a Nebula Award finalist, and THE GOLDEN KEY (with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson) was a World Fantasy Award finalist. Kate was born in Iowa, raised in Oregon, and now lives in Hawaii. She invites you to visit her website at kateelliott.com or follow her on Twitter @KateElliottSFF.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841498867
  • Publication date: 03 Dec 2013
  • Page count: 784
  • Imprint: Orbit
It's a definite hands-down great read . . . the characters, the mysteries, the background history, the cultural complexity were all so intriguing I couldn't stop reading — Elizabeth Moon on COLD MAGIC
Elliott pulls out all the stops in a wildly imaginative narrative that will ring happy bells for fans of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
It's been a while since a scene in a book made me exclaim out loud, but that scene where the cold mage first turns up and all the lamps start going out, and what follows . . . I won't spoil it, but simply say I ripped through this book faster than I have any larger sized fantasy for quite some years. Kate is writing some of the best fantasy around right now — Trudi Canavan on COLD MAGIC
I loved this book, and it earns a spot on my top 10 favourites of the year. I cannot wait for Cold Steel! — BOOK SMUGGLERS on COLD FIRE
Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly

Orbit

The Labyrinth Index

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross

Britain is under New Management. The disbanding of the Laundry - the British espionage agency that deals with supernatural threats, has culminated in the unthinkable - an elder god in residence in 10 Downing Street.But in true 'the enemy of my enemy' fashion, Mhairi Murphy finds herself working with His Excellency Nylarlathotep on foreign policy - there are worse things, it seems, than an elder god in power, and they lie in deepest, darkest America.A thousand-mile-wide storm system has blanketed the midwest, and the president is nowhere to be found - Mhari must lead a task force of disgraced Laundry personnel into the storm front to discover the truth. But working for an elder god is never easy, and as the stakes rise, Mhari will soon question exactly where her loyalties really lie.

Fleet

What We Owe

Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde
Authors:
Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde
Hachette Audio

Wrath of Empire

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan
Hachette Audio

Arm of the Sphinx

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft
Robinson

Therapy Quest

Janina Scarlet, Vince Alvendia
Contributors:
Janina Scarlet, Vince Alvendia
Hachette Audio

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft

'One of my favourite books of all time' Mark Lawrence'An extraordinary debut that is well worthy of the hype. A beautifully written, highly engaging page-turning masterpiece' Fantasy Book Review Mild-mannered headmaster, Thomas Senlin prefers his adventures to be safely contained within the pages of a book. So when he loses his new bride shortly after embarking on the honeymoon of their dreams, he is ill-prepared for the trouble that follows. To find her, Senlin must enter the Tower of Babel - a world of geniuses and tyrants, of menace and wonder, of unusual animals and mysterious machines. He must endure betrayal, assassination attempts and the long guns of a flying fortress. And if he hopes to ever see his wife again, he will have to do more than just survive . . . this quiet man of letters must become a man of action.'Thomas Senlin is the most unlikely yet likeable hero since a certain hobbit rushed out of Bag End leaving his second breakfast half-finished and entirely unwashed-up' Fantasy Faction

Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel Africa's first award for speculative fiction John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction NovelRosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Orbit

Age of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Poisoned Blade

Kate Elliott
Authors:
Kate Elliott

"Jes will remind readers of fearless Katniss.... Let the games continue!" (Booklist starred review for Court of Fives)Now a Challenger, Jessamy is moving up the ranks of the Fives--the complex athletic contest favored by the lowliest Commoners and the loftiest Patrons alike. Pitted against far more formidable adversaries, success is Jes's only option, as her prize money is essential to keeping her hidden family alive. She leaps at the chance to tour the countryside and face more competitors, but then a fatal attack on her traveling party puts Jes at the center of the war that Lord Kalliarkos--the prince she still loves--is fighting against their country's enemies. With a sinister overlord watching her every move and Kal's life on the line, Jes must now become more than a Fives champion.... She must become a warrior.

Little, Brown US

Buried Heart

Kate Elliott
Authors:
Kate Elliott

In this third book in the epic Court of Fives series, Jessamy is the crux of a revolution forged by the Commoner class hoping to overthrow their longtime Patron overlords. But enemies from foreign lands have attacked the kingdom, and Jes must find a way to unite the Commoners and Patrons to defend their home and all the people she loves. Will her status as a prominent champion athlete be enough to bring together those who have despised one another since long before her birth? Will she be able to keep her family out of the clutches of the evil Lord Gargaron? And will her relationship with Prince Kalliarkos remain strong when they find themselves on opposite sides of a war? Find all the answers in this beautifully written and exciting conclusion to World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott's debut young adult trilogy!

Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Orbit

The Black Elfstone: Book One of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Orbit

Kings of the Wyld

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames
Piatkus

Eleventh Grave in Moonlight

Darynda Jones
Authors:
Darynda Jones
Orbit

The Obelisk Gate

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

The Dragon Lords 1: Fool's Gold

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Piatkus

Flameout

Keri Arthur
Authors:
Keri Arthur
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Court of Fives

Kate Elliott
Authors:
Kate Elliott

Jessamy's life is a balance between acting like an upper class Patron and dreaming of the freedom of the Commoners. But at night she can be whomever she wants when she sneaks out to train for The Fives, an intricate, multi-level athletic competition that offers a chance for glory to the kingdom's best competitors. Then Jes meets Kalliarkos, and an unlikely friendship between a girl of mixed race and a Patron boy causes heads to turn. When a scheming lord tears Jes's family apart, she'll have to test Kal's loyalty and risk the vengeance of a powerful clan to save her mother and sisters from certain death.