Ricki Schultz - Switch and Bait - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Switch and Bait

By Ricki Schultz

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

A charming, hilarious romantic comedy--a modern retelling of Cyrano featuring an online dating profile ghostwriter--told with sharp insight and sarcastic wit, for readers of Helen Fielding, Sophie Kinsella, or Jennifer Weiner.

We switch. I bait.
Let me help you snag a date.

All through college, Blanche Carter was known as the matchmaker. Her friends came to her for the perfect pick-up line for that cute guy in chemistry class--or the best zinger for that annoying frat boy. Now out of college and living in Washington DC, she's parlayed her talent into a unique consulting business: she runs the online dating profiles of the Capitol's most eligible women.

Armed with a battalion of dating rules, Blanche is an expert at helping her clients meet the right man--and put their best foot forward on that first date. But although she'll happily spend her days messaging handsome strangers (and fending off dick pics) on behalf of her clients, Blanche's most important rule is the one she has for herself: no relationships. Blanche has seen too much heartbreak to believe in love anymore.

When one of the most annoying men she knows--Henry, a friend of a friend with whom she always ends up getting into heated political arguments--shows up as one of her favorite clients' possible matches, Blanche gamely messages him. But sparks fly in more ways than one, and Blanche quickly finds herself faced with an ethical dilemma--and possibly breaking her own rule about love...

Biographical Notes

Although she is originally from Cleveland, Ohio, and has spent the most time there, Ricki has also lived in Georgia and Virginia. (She promises she's not a drifter, though.) In addition to writing, she has molded the minds of tweens & teens as a middle school and high school teacher in both the CLE and the ATL-and she also spent a year teaching writing and communications at the college level. She's back in Atlanta now, and she owns the cutest beagle ever (Molly).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781538745007
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Grand Central Publishing
Forever

The Last True Cowboy

Laura Drake
Authors:
Laura Drake
Forever

The Cajun Cowboy (Reissue)

Sandra Hill
Authors:
Sandra Hill
Forever

The Cottage on Rose Lane

Hope Ramsay
Authors:
Hope Ramsay

Piatkus

Untouchable

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Sphere

Lessons: Part 2

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan
Robinson

Talk

Elizabeth Stokoe
Authors:
Elizabeth Stokoe

We spend much of our days talking. Yet we know little about the conversational engine that drives our everyday lives. We are pushed and pulled around by language far more than we realize, yet are seduced by stereotypes and myths about communication.This book will change the way you think about talk. It will explain the big pay-offs to understanding conversation scientifically. Elizabeth Stokoe, a social psychologist, has spent over twenty years collecting and analysing real conversations across settings as varied as first dates, crisis negotiation, sales encounters and medical communication. This book describes some of the findings of her own research, and that of other conversation analysts around the world. Through numerous examples from real interactions between friends, partners, colleagues, police officers, mediators, doctors and many others, you will learn that some of what you think you know about talk is wrong. But you will also uncover fresh insights about how to have better conversations - using the evidence from fifty years of research about the science of talk.

Grand Central Publishing

Mr. Right-Swipe

Ricki Schultz
Authors:
Ricki Schultz

Rae Wallace would rather drown in a vat of pinot greezh and be eaten by her own beagle than make another trip down the aisle--even if it is her best friend's wedding. She's too busy molding the minds of first graders and polishing that ol' novel in the drawer to waste time on any man, unless it's Jason Segel.But when her be-fris stage an intervention, Rae is forced to give in. After all, they've hatched a plan to help her find love the 21st century way: online. She's skeptical of this electronic chlamydia catcher, but she's out to prove she hasn't been too picky with men.However, when a familiar fella's profile pops up--the dangerously hot substitute teacher from work (Nick)--Rae swipes herself right into a new problem...

Piatkus

The Cecilian Swan

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Piatkus

The Palace of Lost Dreams

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

A sumptuously evocative story set in 18th century India from bestselling author Charlotte Betts, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft.'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's DaughterIndia, 1798. Beatrice Sinclair, a grieving young widow facing financial destitution, has travelled from Hampshire to Hyderabad to visit her brother, an employee of the British East India Company. There, she is astonished to discover that he has married a beautiful Indian girl and lives with his wife's extended family in a dilapidated palace, the Jahanara Mahal - famed for the theft of a fabled diamond many years ago.As an outsider in an unfamiliar world, Bee faces many challenges - not least of all building a new and meaningful life after the heartbreak she has endured. Meanwhile the French and British forces become locked in a battle over India's riches, and matters are complicated further by the presence of the dashing Harry Wyndam: a maverick ex-soldier and suspected spy.With rebellion in the air, Bee must decide where her loyalties lie . . .Reader reviews for Charlotte Betts:'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer

Piatkus

Consumed

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

Fight or Flight

Samantha Young
Authors:
Samantha Young
Piatkus

Strangers' Hall

Elizabeth Jeffrey
Authors:
Elizabeth Jeffrey
Piatkus

Cassie Jordan

Elizabeth Jeffrey
Authors:
Elizabeth Jeffrey
Sphere

Lessons: Part 1

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan

***PART ONE OF A THREE-PART SERIAL***The unmissable first instalment of Jenny Colgan's return to the Little School by the Sea - perfect for anyone who ever dreamed of going to boarding school!As the summer holidays start, scandal hits Downey House. The attraction between Maggie Adair, the fiery, committed English teacher at Downey House and David McDonald, a teacher at the local boys' school, has escalated - and now both are facing an uncertain future. The girls of Downey House - mercurial Fliss, glamorous Alice and shy, dependable Simone - are facing long summers at home. But the new term is not far away - and it will bring new pupils and lots of fresh new challenges..."Funny, page-turning and addictive... just like Malory Towers for grown-ups" - Sophie Kinsella "A brilliant boarding school book, stuffed full of unforgettable characters, thrilling adventures and angst..." - Lisa JewellIn Lessons: Part 2, Christmas comes to the Little School by the Sea - available December 2018!

Forever

Memoirs of a Dragon Hunter

Katie MacAlister
Authors:
Katie MacAlister
Forever

Tough Luck Cowboy

A.J. Pine
Authors:
A.J. Pine

Luke Everett has never played it safe. When herding cattle wasn't enough of an adrenaline rush, the rodeo circuit came next. His heart is the one thing he won't ever put on the line, and he knows how to protect himself from the kind of pain that can't be healed with a little rest and relaxation--or an occasional hospital visit. But after a rodeo accident, Luke's brother puts him on the special events staff with Lily, the one woman he's always wanted--but couldn't have.Working with Luke gives Lily Green the opportunity to see the man behind the fearless cowboy façade, and she likes what she sees. So much so that it's hard to deny the attraction simmering between them. But when she learns how much Luke knew about her ex-husband's infidelity, she'll have to decide if Luke is truly the man she can trust or if their luck just ran out.

Forever

From Here to You

Jamie McGuire
Authors:
Jamie McGuire

Virago

Good Wives

Louisa May Alcott
Authors:
Louisa May Alcott

'Life and love are very precious when both are in full bloom'With four lively, attractive women in one house and a dashing young bachelor in the neighbouring one, romance can only be a matter of time. As Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy become young women, they take separate paths in life, following their dreams, finding love, becoming wives, and travelling the world. But the tie that binds the sisters brings them together when tragedy strikes, for only with each other can they find the comfort they need.Also in Virago Classic Children's Books: Little Women, Little Men, Jo's Boys

Piatkus

Josh and Hazel's Guide to Not Dating

Christina Lauren
Authors:
Christina Lauren
Piatkus

Love and Other Words

Christina Lauren
Authors:
Christina Lauren