Jo Walton - The Philosopher Kings - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472150790
    • Publication date:14 Jan 2016

The Philosopher Kings

By Jo Walton

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From acclaimed, award-winning author Jo Walton: The Philosopher Kings, a tale of gods and humans, and the surprising things they have to learn from one another

Twenty years have passed since the goddess Athene founded the Just City.

The god Apollo is still living there, albeit in human form. Now married and the father of several children, the man/god struggles to cope when tragedy befalls his family. On the surface he handles his feelings in his stride; but it's evident that deep down he is unhinged with raw, human grief.

Fuelled by a bloodthirsty desire for revenge, Pythias sets sail for the mysterious Eastern Mediterranean to find the man he believes may have caused him such great pain.

What his expedition actually discovers, however, will change everything.

Biographical Notes

Jo Walton comes from Wales but lives in Montreal, where the food and books are much better. She writes science fiction and fantasy, reads a lot, talks about books, and eats great food. She plans to live to be ninety-nine and write a book every year.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472150783
  • Publication date: 06 Aug 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Corsair
Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee

TWO CRIME FAMILIES, ONE SOURCE OF POWER: JADE. Jade is the lifeblood of the city of Janloon - a stone that enhances a warrior's natural strength and speed. Jade is mined, traded, stolen and killed for, controlled by the ruthless No Peak and Mountain families. When a modern drug emerges that allows anyone - even foreigners - to wield jade, simmering tension between the two families erupts into open violence. The outcome of this clan war will determine the fate of all in the families, from their grandest patriarch to even the lowliest motorcycle runner on the streets. Jade City is an epic tale of blood, family, honour, and of those who live and die by ancient laws in a changing world.

Hachette Audio

The Tethered Mage

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Orbit

Age of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Hachette Audio

Strange Practice

Vivian Shaw
Authors:
Vivian Shaw

Meet Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead.After inheriting a highly specialised, and highly peculiar, medical practice, Dr Helsing spends her days treating London's undead for a host of ills: vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta's dreamed of since childhood.But when a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human undead and alike, Greta must use all her unusual skills to keep her supernatural clients - and the rest of London - safe.'A darkly delicious adventure featuring a quirky new heroine. Strange Practice breathes new life into the undead' - James Bennett, author of Chasing Embers

Orbit

The Legion of Flame

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan
Orbit

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Orbit

Bound

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

Alex Verus can see the future. But he never thought he'd see this day.Manoeuvred by forces beyond his control, the probability mage has made a terrible choice: he's agreed to work for his old master once more.Richard Drakh, the sadistic dark mage Alex escaped as an apprentice, has him in his clutches again. And this time, he won't let go so easily.

Orbit

The Remnant

Charlie Fletcher
Authors:
Charlie Fletcher

"The Oversight is most dangerous when most reduced. There are many dead and gone who did not remember that."The Oversight of London has been sworn for millennia to prevent the natural and the supernatural worlds from preying on each other. Now, at its lowest ebb, with its headquarters destroyed and its last members scattered far and wide, this secret society will battle for survival and face the harshest foe it has ever met: itself.The final instalment in the Oversight trilogy; this dark and beguiling series comes to a thrilling end in The Remnant. M. R. Carey says 'exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised'. For fans of Neil Gaiman or The Essex Serpent.

Orbit

Kings of the Wyld

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Poisoned Blade

Kate Elliott
Authors:
Kate Elliott

"Jes will remind readers of fearless Katniss.... Let the games continue!" (Booklist starred review for Court of Fives)Jessamy is moving up the ranks of the Fives--the complex athletic contest favored by the lowliest Commoners and the loftiest Patrons in her embattled kingdom. Pitted against far more formidable adversaries, success is Jes's only option, as her prize money is essential to keeping her hidden family alive. She leaps at the chance to tour the countryside and face more competitors, but then a fatal attack on Jes's traveling party puts her at the center of the war that Lord Kalliarkos--the prince she still loves--is fighting against their country's enemies. With a sinister overlord watching her every move and Kal's life on the line, Jes must now become more than a Fives champion.... She must become a warrior.

Orbit

The Sorcerer's Daughter

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

The inspiration for the epic new Shannara Chronicles TV series, the world of Shannara is brimming with untold stories and unexplored territory. Now bestselling author Terry Brooks breaks new ground with a stand-alone adventure sure to thrill devoted readers and new fans alike.Blood and magic will collide . . . Leofur is the daughter of Arcannen - a power-hungry sorcerer prepared to use the blackest of magic to get what he wants. But she is also devoted to Arcannen's nemesis, Paxon Leah - sworn protector of the Druids who defend the Four Lands against evil. When the Druids are forced to flee, having been framed for a murderous rampage which leaves many dead, Paxon knows that the evil sorcerer Arcannen is behind it. As the Druids seek sanctuary, Leofur sets out on a perilous quest to thwart her father's desires to destroy them all . . .Praise for Terry Brooks:'If you haven't read Terry Brooks, you haven't read fantasy' Christopher Paolini, bestselling author of Eragon and Brisingr 'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Orbit

Burned

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka
Orbit

Snakewood

Adrian Selby
Authors:
Adrian Selby

Once they were a band of mercenaries who shook the pillars of the world through their cunning, their closely-guarded alchemical brews and stone cold steel. Whoever met their price won.Now, their glory days behind them and their genius leader in hiding, the warriors known as 'the Twenty' are being hunted down and eliminated one by one. A lifetime of enemies has its own price.

Orbit

The Last Days of Jack Sparks

Jason Arnopp
Authors:
Jason Arnopp

THE MOST CHILLING AND UNPREDICTABLE THRILLER OF THE YEAR.Jack Sparks died while writing this book. It was no secret that journalist Jack Sparks had been researching the occult for his new book. No stranger to controversy, he'd already triggered a furious Twitter storm by mocking an exorcism he witnessed.Then there was that video: forty seconds of chilling footage that Jack repeatedly claimed was not of his making, yet was posted from his own YouTube account.Nobody knew what happened to Jack in the days that followed - until now. 'Ingenious and funny . . . A magnificent millennial nightmare' - Alan Moore'Wow. Seriously hard to put down . . . Chilling and utterly immersive' - M. R. Carey'This is The Omen for the social media age' - Chris Brookmyre'Wittier than the lovechild of Stephen Fry and Charlie Brooker, scarier than watching The Exorcist in an abandoned asylum' - Sarah LotzDISCOVER THE LAST DAYS OF JACK SPARKS - DESTINED TO BE 2016'S MOST TALKED-ABOUT THRILLER

Hachette Audio

The Wishsong Of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Piatkus

Blood Kiss

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

Paradise, blooded daughter of the king's First Advisor, is ready to break free from the restrictive life of an aristocratic female. Her strategy? Join the Black Dagger Brotherhood's training center program and learn to fight for herself, think for herself...be herself. It's a good plan, until everything goes wrong. The schooling is unfathomably difficult, the other recruits feel more like enemies than allies, and it's very clear that the Brother in charge, Butch O'Neal, a.k.a. the Dhestroyer, is having serious problems in his own life.And that's before she falls in love with a fellow classmate. Craeg, a common civilian, is nothing her father would ever want for her, but everything she could ask for in a male. As an act of violence threatens to tear apart the entire program, and the erotic pull between them grows irresistible, Paradise is tested in ways she never anticipated--and left wondering whether she's strong enough to claim her own power...on the field, and off.

Orbit

The Sword Of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Orbit

The Elfstones Of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

ONE OF THE MOST POPULAR FANTASY TALES OF ALL TIME. NOW AN EPIC NEW SERIES ON 5STAR IN THE UK.Thousands of years after the destruction of the age of man and science, new races and magic now rule the world, but an imminent danger threatens. A horde of evil Demons is beginning to escape and bring death upon the land. Only Wil Ohmsford, the last of the Shannara bloodline, has the power to guard the Elven Princess Amberle on a perilous quest to the save the world, while the leader of the Demon force aims to stop their mission at any cost.