B. E. Jones - Fear the Dark - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Fear the Dark

By B. E. Jones

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An intriguing thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Ruth Ware.

An intriguing thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Ruth Ware.

'There's been an accident . . .'

When Ellis Andrews wakes to a knock on the door in the middle of the night, he's devasted to learn that his wife Rae has been killed in a car accident in the New England town of Chareham.

Was Rae's death simply a case of 'wrong place, wrong time' as the local police would have him believe? Or is there something more sinister at work?

When Ellis uncovers Rae's diary and reads the disturbing accounts of the 'night terrors' she's been suffering since childhood, he's unwilling to accept that there could be a link between them and her fatal car accident, until he begins to dream of Rae each night - and starts to doubt his own sanity . . .

Fear The Dark is a multi-stranded mystery about a man searching for answers; the power of grief and guilt; and the ability of love to shape lives or break them apart.

~ Previously published as Dreamcatcher ~

Praise for B. E. Jones

'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce

'I got completely sucked in by this . . . irresistible!' Catriona McPherson

'Bev Jones is a first class writer . . . I can thoroughly recommend this book' ***** Amazon Reviewer

'A gripping summer must-read! Addictive!' ***** Amazon Reviewer

'A compelling psychological thriller that will have you constantly thinking, 'just one more page' and leave you feeling haunted . . . A stomach-knotting depiction of grief and loss intertwined with an addictive, sophisticated crime thriller - Don't miss it!' ***** Amazon Reviewer

Biographical Notes

B.E. Jones is a former journalist and police press officer, now a novelist and book obsessive. She was born in a small village in the South Wales valleys, north of Cardiff and started her journalism career with Trinity Mirror newspapers before becoming a broadcast journalist with BBC Wales Today.

She has worked on all aspects of crime reporting (as well as community news and features) producing stories and content for newspapers and live TV. Most recently she worked as a press officer for South Wales Police, dealing with the media and participating in criminal investigations, security operations and emergency planning. Perhaps unsurprisingly she channels these experiences of 'true crime,' and her insight into the murkier side of human nature, into her dark, psychological thrillers set in and around South Wales.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472129505
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Trust Her

Jessica Vallance
Authors:
Jessica Vallance
Hachette Audio

Fear of Falling

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Constable

Halfway

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones
Constable

Fire

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler
Constable

Make Him Pay

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones
Constable

The Lies You Tell

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones
Sphere

Lethal White

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith

'I seen a kid killed . . . He strangled it, up by the horse.' When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help investigating a crime he thinks he witnessed as a child, Strike is left deeply unsettled. While Billy is obviously mentally distressed, and cannot remember many concrete details, there is something sincere about him and his story. But before Strike can question him further, Billy bolts from his office in a panic. Trying to get to the bottom of Billy's story, Strike and Robin Ellacott - once his assistant, now a partner in the agency - set off on a twisting trail that leads them through the backstreets of London, into a secretive inner sanctum within Parliament, and to a beautiful but sinister manor house deep in the countryside. And during this labyrinthine investigation, Strike's own life is far from straightforward: his newfound fame as a private eye means he can no longer operate behind the scenes as he once did. Plus, his relationship with his former assistant is more fraught than it ever has been - Robin is now invaluable to Strike in the business, but their personal relationship is much, much more tricky than that . . . The most epic Robert Galbraith novel yet, LETHAL WHITE is both a gripping mystery and a page-turning next instalment in the ongoing story of Cormoran Strike and Robin Ellacott.

Piatkus

The Wedding From Hell: Part 2: The Reception

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

The Wedding From Hell: Part 1: The Rehearsal Dinner

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Sphere

Home

Karen Dionne
Authors:
Karen Dionne
Fleet

Everything You Do Is Wrong

Amanda Coe
Authors:
Amanda Coe

'Do You Know This Girl?'Harmony's teenage craving for drama is answered when a body is discovered by her aunt Mel on Evensand beach. But the naked, lifeless young woman turns out - problematically - to be alive. Unable to speak or remember where she came from, the woman is named Storm by her nurses. Surrounded by doctors, psychiatrists and policemen, Storm remains provocatively silent. Harmony is desperate to fill in the gaps in Storm's story, while the responsibility Mel feels for the woman she rescued begins to skew the course of her own settled life. Their efforts to solve the mystery clash with the efforts of rookie constable Mason, assigned to the case and determined to help this damsel he feels to be very much in distress.Will any of them be able to find out who Storm really is? And what if the distress belongs to everyone but her?Everything You Do Is Wrong is a compelling exploration of how this enigma sets a family's good and bad intentions crashing into each other, with unforgettable consequences.

Orbit

Provenance

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie
Constable

The Girl in the Green Dress

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Constable

Russian Roulette

Sara Sheridan
Authors:
Sara Sheridan
Sphere

The Secrets She Keeps

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham
Constable

The City of Lies

Michael Russell
Authors:
Michael Russell

Dublin 1940. An IRA attack leaves two guards dead on the streets of Dublin. Two days later, a battle between warring gangs erupts at a race meeting, and on Ireland's east coast the cremated bodies of a wealthy family of five are found in their shuttered, burned-out villa. Dispatched from Special Branch to investigate, Detective Inspector Stefan Gillespie soon finds himself caught in a web of Irish, British and German Intelligence - all playing against each other, all watching each other, and all plagued by rogue operators they can't quite control, as the certainty grows that Hitler is about to invade England. And then, Stephen is sent to Berlin on a sensitive mission. His journey home becomes a dangerous pursuit in which no one can be trusted and the information he carries puts his life on the line.

Sphere

Orchestrated Death

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles