Emily Brightwell - Mrs Jeffries Appeals the Verdict - Little, Brown Book Group

Mrs Jeffries Appeals the Verdict

By Emily Brightwell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A charming series of Victorian murder mysteries featuring mild-mannered Inspector Witherspoon of Scotland Yard and, more importantly, Mrs Jeffries, his housekeeper.

After a perfectly decent local woman is killed during a robbery, the Witherspoon household receives a surprising visit from a stranger named Blimpey Groggins. He claims his best buddy was convicted of the crime. He also claims the peaceable chap didn't even know how to fire a gun. And considering he's to be hanged in three weeks, Blimpey's desperate to find the real killer. With the trail cold, the crime allegedly solved, and the evidence mucked up, Mrs. Jeffries and her belowstairs cohorts have their work cut out for them if they want to save an innocent man from the gallows.

Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:

'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times

'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472125750
  • Publication date: 07 Jun 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
Sphere

The Woman in the Dark

Vanessa Savage
Authors:
Vanessa Savage

A chilling psychological thriller about dark family dysfunction and the secrets that haunt us - perfect for fans of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.For Sarah and Patrick, family life has always been easy. But when Sarah's mother dies, it sends Sarah into a downwards spiral. Knowing they need a fresh start, Patrick moves the family to the beachside house he grew up in.But there is a catch: while their new home carries only happy memories for Patrick, to everyone else it's known as the Murder House - named for the family that was killed there.Patrick is adamant they can make it perfect again, though with their children plagued by nightmares and a constant sense they're being watched, Sarah's not so sure. Because the longer they live in their 'dream home', the more different her loving husband becomes . . .

Hachette Audio

Fear of Falling

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe

What if the child you have longed for ends up hurting those you love?Lydia and Bel have been best friends for years, from wild teenage days all the way through to motherhood. Bel becomes pregnant by accident and has a fraught relationship with daughter Freya, while Lydia and love-of-her-life Mac, after failed fertility treatment, choose to adopt. Gorgeous toddler Chloe challenges them more than either of them had ever expected and as a teenager her behaviour escalates increasingly out of control, pushing their marriage, and Lydia and Bel's relationship, to breaking point.A modern tragedy. A harrowing and heart-breaking story of the splinters that can tear mothers and daughters, husbands and wives - and friends - apart.-----Praise for Cath Staincliffe:'Harrowing and humane. A real knockout' Ian Rankin'It's always exciting to see a writer get better and better and Cath Staincliffe is doing just that' Val McDermid'Remarkable depth ... The most grown-up writer in British crime fiction' Telegraph'Complex and satisfying' Sunday Times'Powerful, humane and moving' Ann Cleeves'Emotionally unsparing, powerful, humane and moving . . . This is a timely, brave and brilliant book' Crime Review

Piatkus

A Snapshot of Murder

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody
Hachette Audio

The Bone Readers

Jacob Ross
Authors:
Jacob Ross
Grand Central Publishing

The Breakers

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller

Private investigator Sharon McCone returns in New York Times bestselling author Marcia Muller's latest page-turning mystery!"[Marcia Muller's] stories crackle like few others on the mystery landscape." -San Francisco Examiner & Chronicle"Muller undoubtedly remains one of today's best mystery writers." -Associated Press

Corsair

The Sinners

Ace Atkins
Authors:
Ace Atkins

The Pritchards had never been worth a damn--an evil, greedy family who made their living dealing drugs and committing mayhem. Years ago, Colson's late uncle had put the clan's patriarch in prison, but now he's getting out, with revenge, power, and family business on his mind. To make matters worse, a shady trucking firm with possible ties to the Gulf Coast syndicate has moved into Tibbehah, and they have their own methods of intimidation.With his longtime deputy Lillie Virgil now working up in Memphis, Quinn Colson finds himself having to fall back on some brand-new deputies to help him out, but with Old West-style violence breaking out, and his own wedding on the horizon, this is without doubt Colson's most trying times as sheriff. Cracks are opening up all over the county, and shadowy figures are crawling out through them - and they're all heading directly for him.

Dialogue Books

One More Chance

Lucy Ayrton
Authors:
Lucy Ayrton

'Hard to believe it's a debut! It's really accomplished and the main character was totally sympathetic with a refreshing and authentic voice that just carried me through the story. I couldn't put it down - that voice, honest, flawed and yet utterly compelling.' - JENNY BLACKHURST Dani hasn't had an easy life. She's made some bad choices and now she's paying the ultimate price; prison.With her young daughter Bethany, growing up in foster care, Dani is determined to be free and reunited with her. There's only one problem; Dani can't stay out of trouble.Dani's new cellmate Martha is quiet and unassuming. There's something about her that doesn't add up. When Martha offers Dani one last chance at freedom, she doesn't hesitate.Everything she wants is on the outside, but Dani is stuck on the inside. Is it possible to break out when everyone is trying to keep you in . . .

Constable

Mrs Jeffries Rocks The Boat

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Weeds the Plot

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell

Eccentric Annabeth Gentry pretty much keeps to herself. Besides her recent inheritance - and the attention her bloodhound gets for digging up the body of a murdered thief - her life is in fact, rather dull. So why does she think that someone is trying to kill her? That's what Mrs. Jeffries and her staff have to find out. What they discover is a dead body next door, and three attempts on Annabeth's life. It sounds like there's a jealous dog in their midst. Mrs. Jeffries will have to sniff out some clues before the plot thickens . . .Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times 'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

Constable

Mrs Jeffries Pinches the Post

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Pleads her Case

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Sweeps the Chimney

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Stalks the Hunter

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Silent Knight

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Best Laid Plans

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell

Home and hearth is never safe when you have this many enemies.A friendless old miser, banker Lawrence Boyd, is found dead at home. Called to the scene, Inspector Witherspoon is lucky to have Mrs. Jeffries's help - since the list of suspects includes just about everyone Boyd's ever met.Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Feast of St Stephen

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill
Little, Brown

The Good Son

You-jeong Jeong
Authors:
You-jeong Jeong

'The queen of crime . . . You-jeong Jeong is shaking up the world of suspense' Glamour'For fans of Jo Nesbo and Patricia Highsmith' A. J. Finn, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window'South Korea's answer to Stephen King' Cosmopolitan YOU WAKE UP COVERED IN BLOODTHERE'S A BODY DOWNSTAIRSYOUR MOTHER'S BODYYOU DIDN'T DO IT. DID YOU?HOW COULD YOU, YOU'VE ALWAYS BEEN THE GOOD SONTHE INTERNATIONAL SENSATION FROM KOREA'S MILLION-COPY BESTSELLING AUTHOR YOU-JEONG JEONG.When Yu-jin wakes up covered in blood, and finds the body of his mother downstairs, he decides to hide the evidence and pursue the killer himself. Then young women start disappearing in his South Korean town. Who is he hunting? And why does the answer take him back to his brother and father who lost their lives many years ago.The Good Son is inspired by a true story.

Sphere

A Fatal Grace

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny

Previously published as Dead ColdThe award-winning second novel from worldwide phenomenon and number one New York Times bestseller Louise Penny. Winter in Three Pines, and the sleepy village is carpeted in snow. It's a time of peace and goodwill - until a scream pierces the biting air. A spectator at the annual Boxing Day curling match has been fatally electrocuted. Despite the large crowd, there are no witnesses and - apparently - no clues. Chief Inspector Armand Gamache discovers a history of secrets and enemies in the dead woman's past. But he has enemies of his own, and as he is frozen out of decision-making in the Surete du Quebec, he has to decide who he can trust...'Chief Superintendent Armand Gamache of the Quebec police is one of the most interesting detectives in crime fiction' The Times'A cracking storyteller, who can create fascinating characters, a twisty plot and wonderful surprise endings' Ann Cleeves

Sphere

His First Lie

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill

'A fantastic debut: dark, addictive and original. I couldn't put it down'Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the IceDo you want a thriller that grips from the first line?Do you want a thriller to leave you gasping for air?Connor Laird frightens people: he's intense, he's fearless, and he seems to be willing to do anything to protect himself and those he loves. He arrives in the Longacre Children's Home seemingly from nowhere, and instantly becomes hero and villain to every other child there. Thirty years later, someone is killing all of those who grew up in the Longacre, one at a time. Each of them has secrets, not least investigating cop DI Ray Drake.One by one the mysteries of the past are revealed as Drake finds himself in a race against time before the killer gets to him.Who is killing to hide their secret?And can YOU guess the ending?'Grips from the start and never lets up'The Times'Wreaks havoc with your assumptions. Hill has a hell of a career ahead of him'Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Darkest Secret'A cracking debut. I can't wait to see more of Ray Drake.'Mark Billingham, #1 bestselling author of Love Like Blood and In The Dark'Utterly gripping, packed with unforgettable characters - and SO well-written. The twists had me reeling!'Louise Voss**THE GRIPPING THRILLER PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED AS TWO O'CLOCK BOY**