Tasha Alexander - A Terrible Beauty - Little, Brown Book Group

A Terrible Beauty

By Tasha Alexander

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A Lady Emily mystery

In this gripping new novel in the New York Times bestselling series, Lady Emily travels to Greece where a ghost from her past returns to haunt her amid the ruins.

On a quest to distract her lifelong friend Jeremy from his recent heartbreak, Lady Emily organises a holiday in Greece. As a lover of all things Greek, she quickly finds herself occupied with tours of ancient ruins, lively debates with Margaret, a devoted Latinist, and slightly more scandalous endeavors with her dashing husband, Colin Hargreaves. But the pleasantries are brought to an abrupt halt when a man long-believed dead greets the party at their island villa. Lord Philip Ashton, Colin's childhood best friend and Emily's first husband, has returned. But can Philip really be who he claims, even if he has the scars and stories to prove it? Where has he been for all this time? And will his undying love for Emily drive him to claim what's his?

Intrigue mounts as Philip reveals that he has been plagued for the past few years by an illegal antiques trader who believes he is in possession of a piece of Achilles' helmet, a priceless relic that was stolen from him moments after he unearthed it on an archaeological dig. Emily must employ all of her cunning and expertise to thwart thieves who threaten not only her own safety, but that of those precious artifacts she holds so dear. A trail of overheard conversations, murderous assailants and dead bodies leads her on a chase to uncover more than one buried truth.

Biographical Notes

Tasha Alexander is the New York Times bestselling author of the Lady Emily series and the novel ELIZABETH: THE GOLDEN AGE. She attended the University of Notre Dame, where she studied English and Medieval History. Her work has been nominated for numerous awards and has been translated into more than a dozen languages. She and her husband, novelist Andrew Grant, divide their time between Chicago and the UK.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472122148
  • Publication date: 27 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Constable
Constable

The Polish Detective

Hania Allen
Authors:
Hania Allen
Constable

Fire

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler

The fourth John Grey historical mystery1666. London has been destroyed by fire and its citizens are looking for somebody, preferable foreign, to blame. Only the royal Court, with its strong Catholic sympathies, is trying to dampen down the post-conflaguration hysteria. Then, inconveniently, a Frenchman admits to having started it together with an accomplice, whom he says he has subsequently killed.John Grey is tasked by Secretary of State, Lord Arlington, with proving conclusively that the self-confessed fire-raiser is lying. Though Grey agrees with Arlington that the Frenchman must be mad, he is increasingly perplexed at how much he knows. And a body has been discovered that appears in every way to match the description of the dead accomplice.Grey's investigations take him and his companion, Lady Pole, into the dangerous and still smoking ruins of the old City. And somebody out there - somebody at the very centre of power in England - would prefer it if they didn't live long enough to conclude their work...Praise for L.C. Tyler'Tyler juggles his characters, story wit and clever one liners with perfect balance' - The Times'A cracking pace, lively dialogue, wickedly witty one-liners salted with sophistication . . . Why would we not want more of John Grey?' - The Bookbag

Sphere

The Death Box

Lorna Nicholl Morgan
Authors:
Lorna Nicholl Morgan

First published in 1946, THE DEATH BOX is a twisty and fast-moving murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.The lady in black was really responsible for the whole affair, according to Joe Trayne's story...When someone asks for assistance with a dead man, the sensible option is to walk away. But when club owner Joe Trayne meets Wendy Bond on a warm summer's night in London, his curiosity gets the better of him.Joe accompanies Wendy into her flat off Conduit Street, only to find himself alone after she mysteriously disappears. But it's what she leaves him with that's most disturbing: a large box . . . and a body inside it.After he flees the scene, Joe finds he can't stop thinking about Wendy and her unfortunate guest. As he sets about tracking her down, he finds himself at the centre of not just one but several cases of murder. Can Joe solve the crime before he becomes the next victim?

Constable

Angel and the Deadly Secret

Anthea Cohen
Authors:
Anthea Cohen
Constable

Better Dead

Anthea Cohen
Authors:
Anthea Cohen

When Agnes Turner is witness to a rape, she goes for the assailant with a knife - with fatal consequences. The victim repays Agnes by blackmailing her, and when Agnes refuses her demands she kidnaps her beloved Jack Russell terrier. Agnes faces the prospect of committing yet another crime to secure the safe return of her dog. But then another death occurs . . . In this, the 18th in the Agnes Turner mysteries, Anthea Cohen remains the mistress of the icy touch.

Constable

Angel and the French Widow

Anthea Cohen
Authors:
Anthea Cohen
Sphere

Cold Blood

Theresa Monsour
Authors:
Theresa Monsour

When Bunny Pederson disappears after being a bridesmaid at her best friend's wedding, the police call for volunteers to help search for her. One of them, a travelling shirt salesman, discovers the woman's amputated finger and the missing person inquiry becomes a murder investigation. In the absence of a body, the salesman, Justice Trip, is courted by the media - a position he'd learned to enjoy from a similar experience some years previously. Paris Murphy, a detective with the Minneapolis-St Paul's Police Department, remembers Trip from her schooldays and isn't convinced by his act as a caring citizen, especially when Bunny's body is found in an area Trip had visited. The case isn't strictly in her jurisdiction, but it is a welcome distraction from her failing marriage and her guilt over an affair she knows isn't really over. Justice Trip was ugly, still lived with his invalid father in a trailer park and his c.v. was a repetitive litany of firings from dead-end jobs. But he was very successful at killing people - and getting away with murder - until Paris Murphy crosses his path.

Sphere

Clean Cut

Theresa Monsour
Authors:
Theresa Monsour
Sphere

Hades

Russell Andrews
Authors:
Russell Andrews

Police Chief Justin Westwood was content to escape his big-city past in sleepy East End Harbour. But the brutal murder of a Wall Street shark is about to change everything...While Justin is in bed with his married lover, her husband is murdered. He can provide a solid alibi for her, but his own position isn't so clear cut - after all, it's he who has the contacts to arrange for his rival's removal. At least that is what his bosses think, so Justin is on his own - it's up to him to solve the crime. A trail of dead bodies draws him back home to Providence, RI, where he must deal with the demons of his past. Here, Justin will discover a complex corporate scam with unimaginable murky depths and, at the heart of it all, a deadly individual whose greatest joy lies in human suffering and death.

Sphere

Out of Bounds

Val McDermid
Authors:
Val McDermid
Piatkus

A High Mortality of Doves

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Constable

The Bone Ritual

Julian Lees
Authors:
Julian Lees
Sphere

Razor Girl

Carl Hiaasen
Authors:
Carl Hiaasen
Constable

The Adventuress

Tasha Alexander
Authors:
Tasha Alexander

In this newest entry in the New York Times bestselling series by Tasha Alexander, Lady Emily Hargreaves travels to the south of France where an apparent suicide may be something far more sinister. Emily and husband Colin have come to the French Riviera for what should be a joyous occasion - the engagement party of her lifelong friend Jeremy, Duke of Bainbridge, and Amity Wells, an American heiress. But the merrymaking is cut short with the shocking death of one of the party in an apparent suicide. Not convinced by the coroner's verdict, Emily must employ all of her investigative skills to discover the truth and avert another tragedy.

Little, Brown

Black Widow

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Constable

That Silent Night

Tasha Alexander
Authors:
Tasha Alexander
Constable

Murder-on-Sea

Julie Wassmer
Authors:
Julie Wassmer
Sphere

Icarus

Russell Andrews
Authors:
Russell Andrews

Icarus. The boy who flew too close to the sun. The boy who fell to his death. It is a story that captured the imagination of ten year-old Jack Keller, but one that is also eerily prescient. For a vicious assault resulted in the murder of Jack's mother, sending her plummeting seventeen storeys to her death - right in front of her son's eyes.Thirty years later, and history is repeating itself in the same horrific manner. Kid Demeter, a physiotherapist Jack helped raise as a teenager, has fallen to his death. The police think it was an accident, but Jack doesn't believe them. For Kid had confided in Jack about his ongoing relationships with a string of women, women he gave a series of intriguing nicknames. The Mortician. The Mistake. The Destination. The Murderess. As Jack delves into Kid's world, and he realises just how high the stakes really are, he knows only one thing for certain: he must find the killer before the killer finds him, and makes him the final victim . . .

C & R Crime

Agatha Raisin and the Witch of Wyckhadden

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Sphere

Aphrodite

Russell Andrews
Authors:
Russell Andrews

Justin Westwood has retreated from reality by taking a menial post with the police department in Long Island. Mindless traffic duty and a lot of booze stop him reliving the past, but his dormant professionalism is reluctantly awakened when he realises that the death of a young journalist is deliberate not accidental. As he retraces the woman's movements in the hours before her death he learns she's been in trouble for quoting some erroneous facts in an obituary of a man who had been living in the local old people's home. Not the sort of mistake which normally brings a duo of professional hitmen to the door of a fallible reporter, and certainly not one which brings the FBI into town. As he attempts to unravel the puzzle he finds someone is a step ahead of him, disposing of witnesses and setting him up for the rap. Realising he has to face real life at its starkest if he is to survive, he goes solo - though if he'd known what was in store he'd have stuck to handing out parking tickets.A thriller of such tension and action that it should come with its own oxygen supply.